This is Not a Guest Post. This Actually Came From My Mind.

They say failure is a bitter pill to swallow.

So don’t.

Take the pill of failure upon your tongue, roll it around until the flavor fills your mouth and penetrates your senses and mind, but never, ever swallow it whole. Let the taste flow through your consciousness, store the memory for days to come and spit it out when you’ve taken what you need.

Never let failure enter your system fully or it will be with you forever. Let the sensation return when you need it most, when the days grow dark and cold, and when you feel the icy, numbing touch of personal crisis around your throat. Use your failure to fuel your hunger for success. Let it be your companion all of your days, but refuse to let it take root in your center, lest it consume you.

And yes, I carry luggage for a living – and I have for seventeen years now. My past is a wellspring of knowledge which I have only begun to drink from.

See you in the lobby, my companions in this odyssey we call life.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to This is Not a Guest Post. This Actually Came From My Mind.

  1. Love this post πŸ™‚ very insightful!

  2. Justjen says:

    Timely advice . . . My ‘pill of failure’ came today in the form of feline fangs sunk into my hand for my failure to timely remove it from the strike zone. I shall endeavor to remember this throbbing, aching sensation every time an owner tells me, “I don’t think he’s very happy about coming to the vet today.”

  3. I’ve always held that the true measure of a man is his willingness and ability to love and take care of his wife and children. Anything else is gravy.

    If the NY Times nonfiction bestseller fairy ever condescends to hit me on the forehead with her magic wand, I think we should go for a beverage. Hook & Nav: Unleashed Upon Wine Country.

    }:-))>

  4. This my friend, is amazing! Love it πŸ™‚

  5. Jayne says:

    Wise words here. I like how you think.

    • The Hook says:

      I’m sure yours is a brilliant mind as well, Jayne.
      Thank you.

      • Jayne says:

        ooooh, now I have to wonder about you : ) I do think you have a perfect job for gathering so many observations on people and life in general. You get to see so much that you can probably discern personalities expertly.

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    Thoughtful post. Hopefully that ‘pill of failure’ requires very infrequent dosing.

  7. Wise words. This actually reminds me of that saying (from memory here so I don’t think word perfect!) – “Keep your worries in a jar on a shelf so that you know they are there, but they’re not part of you.” It’s a similar philosophy to yours, recognising that negative feelings can serve a purpose as long as you don’t let them consume you.

  8. likeitiz says:

    Now this is a different perspective on treating failures. Food for thought! Thanks for the insight.

  9. Ashley says:

    Beautiful words.

  10. Damn Hook,
    With all that “Wisdom” rolling around in that head of yours, it’s a wonder you get any sleep at night!…LOL. Got to say I must have “Trash Breath” in my mouth, because I had way to many “Failure Pills” swirling in my mouth to count! THANK GOD for Recovery!! Because I refuse to let my past failures dictate my “future”, nor let it “de-fine” the person I am TODAY!

    Another Great Post HOOK…
    Hugs& Blessings to you & the Girls!
    *Cat* πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  11. Good advice. I have seen failure junkies mainline and it is not a pretty picture

  12. This was thrown across my path on a day I really needed to read it. Thanks. It meant something to me.

  13. What a great post (as per usual). This one will stick with me – thanks for sharing this. We could all use this reminder.

  14. hemmingplay says:

    I totally agree. And am reblogging this to http://hemmingplay.wordpress.com

  15. hemmingplay says:

    Reblogged this on Hemmingplay and commented:
    This is so well said, but the imagery of the failure pill was what grabbed me.

  16. That wellspring is abundant and it’s a precious heritage… Beautifully written, Robert. πŸ™‚

  17. Jennifer says:

    Brilliant, wise words more of us should pay attention to.

  18. Britt says:

    Failure as a reminder, an instrument, inspiration, a propeller. Just excellent. Why would we expect such wise musings from a guest, rather than The Hook?

  19. Love this post Hook! Thank you so very much!

  20. I loooovvvved this too! Another post to share with my boy. I love it when cool guys put stuff out there that helps me fill in some man insight for my boy.
    So good!

  21. Veronica says:

    Maybe it’s a case of taking failure not so much a sign we can’t do something but that there are better things out there for us.
    Or any of these:
    – take it, deal then spit it out and grow and learn,
    – take it, continually, flogging a dead horse, not learning,
    – accept our limits and move onto something which will showcase our strengths and lead us to where we belong.
    – laugh in the face of failure, and raise the rent. There is no room for it.

  22. You are wise in the ways of the world, my friend.

  23. Nadia says:

    Ah, I needed this today. Thank you. x

  24. Jo Bryant says:

    Good advice Hook.

  25. REDdog says:

    I think it was Churchill who said “Success is the ability to go from one failure to the next with no loss of enthusiasm”

  26. We learn more from failure than success. My sister calls it “failing up!”

  27. 'Tis says:

    Brilliant Advice Mr. Hook!

    xo

  28. Just as I finished reading an email from the reunion committee asking me to refrain from engaging in asking for funds to support our efforts (as my unilateral quest for magnanimous donors was in some way offensive and would have a negative impact), I read your wisdom about failure. I have embraced my obvious failing and will live to be reprimanded another day.

    Thanks, Hook!

  29. Trent Lewin says:

    Hook-man, let’s give it hell. Let’s rock this thing. Let’s get it going and never stop. That’s the only answer. I mean come on, fuck failure. It’s nothing. It’s dirt. It just makes us want to be better, don’t it? More pure? More mighty. More confident. More sure that we’re going to get where we want to go.

  30. 1jaded1 says:

    This came from your brilliant mind. Love it.

  31. Brother Jon says:

    This is great. I once wrote “I have failed, but I am not a failure.”

  32. girlseule says:

    Nothing is really a failure if you learn something from it. Great post, I liked it a lot.

  33. charlypriest says:

    Well written and great subject. I would add that if somebody has never failed is quite impossible since youΒ΄ve already failed by not failing. Just decide, roll with the punches in life, stand up and decide either go forward or not do anything. Better start walking forward, and you got a lesson learned from the so called failure which I call learning.

  34. Very good advice! We need failure at times to learn and grow, but it must stop there.

  35. maurnas says:

    I usually am amused by your wit, but your depth is refreshing. This was lovely.

  36. MissFourEyes says:

    The things that come from your mind are really brilliant, partner.

  37. susielindau says:

    This is beautiful writing Hook! More, more!

    • The Hook says:

      easy there, Susie!
      I’m not cut out for the brilliant, introspective writing thing.
      I’m more a “this guest is a douchebag” kinda guy!
      But I’ll do what I can.

  38. You have out done yourself with this, Sir Hook. This should be a daily mantra for people struggling with negative stuff.

  39. Robert my friend……Our failures are a true measure of our success. If it weren’t for the bad times, we would not appreciate the good ones! eh? πŸ™‚
    (May your failures in life be few and your success aplenty!)

  40. Well said – was chatting to my niece the other day over a new venture she is starting and told her “the very fact that you are giving it a go makes it a success.” Have a great week me old chum

  41. Amy Reese says:

    Let your failure fuel your hunger for success. Yes. This is great advice. Well said piece, Robert.

  42. Nikitaland says:

    Great advice Hook! ❀

  43. curvyroads says:

    So wise! Keep sharing from that wellspring, Hook!

  44. Great post. I see I’m not the first person to say that, but it really is true. It’s only failure if you give up. So long as you keep on trucking, it’s just a setback that you will overcome and get stronger from enduring.

  45. Gotta learn/experience what you don’t want sometimes to know what you really want. Consider it a nudge in some direction? Insightful. (Sometime in the future people will be willing to carry their own baggage instead of shoving it off on others…or we’ll have Jetson non-stain no cleaning required clothing….but shoes? That’s another bag all together. Dream on, Hook. And chase those.)

  46. Beautiful and so true, Hook!

Leave a Reply

