5×5 With The Hook: Ericka Clay.

There are literally hundreds of writers/bloggers whose work I admire enough to secretly worship and envy in equal amounts, but today we’re going to spend some time with someone truly special and gifted.

This is Ericka Clay at her happiest (to be honest, I’m sure there are moments when Ericka is happier but this isn’t that kind of blog), with her brand-spanking new book contract!

d01a3298b13611e39bcc129a32d39b77_8

 (Cue the “very special episode” music.)

But Ericka needs your help. As you’ll soon see, Ericka Clay is one helluva writer and glitterer of cats. But the world needs to know that as well. Enter the EC Readers, Ericka’s very own Mouseketeers. In her own words:

What is EC Readers you may ask?  Just the hottest thing to happen to the Internet since I posted that photo of my husband half naked in a sombrero. The EC Readers is a group of reading and reviewing superheros who make up my street team whose main job is to put out the word about my books. 

 So there you have it. There are plenty of perks for Ericka’s cheerleaders, of course, but I’m afraid I can’t discuss such “rewards” on a family-friendly blog, so you can click HERE and read all about them for yourself.

And by the way, our guest today is also the Chick-in-Chief of Tipsy Lit, one of the most… You know what? I’m going to let Ericka explain it… Picture of a girl reading a book in cowboy boots.

Tipsy Lit is pretty much what happens when you’re me, and you’re sitting around and you’re all like: “I’d really love to get out more but I really don’t want to change out of these yoga pants.”

So the easiest solution is to create a book club on the Internet where you promote reading REAL literature (no shopping, vampires or shopping vampires allowed) and promote the consumption of alcohol while discussing said literature online.  New reading friends?  Check.  Glass of wine?  Check.  Still in my yoga pants?  Check.  We’re good to go.

Now that I’ve buttered up Ericka like a Christmas goose, I think we should get down to business, don’t you?

1) As is the case with most creative types, you’ve undergone a transformation in your life. What is the most positive difference between The Ericka of Then and The Ericka of Now?

   I’m very proud to say the Ericka of Now has better toned calves. I’m not saying The Ericka of Then didn’t have nice calves, because let’s face it, The Ericka of Every Moment In Time is quite the catch. She can glitter a cat in 3.2 seconds and she tricked Dave Coulier into following her on Twitter. Hubba hubba.

   Seriously (what’s that?) though, The Ericka of Now just doesn’t give a shit. She did for a long while and would worry until she got this cute little worry trench between her eyes, but now she’s all like “what the crap” and really, Roberto (Can I call you, Roberto? No? Can I at least glitter your cat? Wait, don’t answer! Let me just live in the “maybe” for a moment…), you have to have a “what the crap” attitude if you’re ever going to publish a million books, meet Oprah, and glitter every animal within a fifty mile radius, otherwise known as The American Dream.

(Did I mention I love this woman’s attitude? But I won’t answer to Roberto. Sorry, Ericka.)

2) What would your viking warrior name be? (Can you tell which television “drama” I just started watching?)

   No I actually can’t. Like seriously, if it’s not on Netflix and doesn’t have Kevin Spacey in it, I probably don’t watch it. But let me see…uh, probably Astrid because of that Office episode where Michael kept pronouncing the name “Ass Turd.”

   Okay, I also watch The Office.

3) Your favorite guilty musical pleasure is…

   Hanson although I don’t have to be guilty about that because there is nothing wrong with a nearly-thirty woman who likes to relax with a little MMMBop on her headphones while taking a run…to her neighbor’s house. To borrow her cat.

   This reminds me, I need to buy more glitter.

(Hook’s Note: Don’t blame me if you succumb to temptation and click on the box below. You’ve been warned.)

4) People are beginning to have mixed feelings about the power of the web (we have cyber-bullies and animal shamers to thank for this). You’ve begun to utilize YouTube to get the word out about recent developments in your professional life. Tell us something positive about YouTube.

(And if you say “I’m on it!”, I’ll cover you from head-to-toe in glitter on behalf of your many feline victims.)

   Hmm…did we cover the part about me being on it? Kidding. No but really, there is that. But there’s also the opportunity to appeal to a particular segment in our population that doesn’t like having to look at letters and figure out what they mean. And I’ve found people in this segment like to share silly videos of women singing at the camera and yelling at their dogs. “SERIOUSLY ROCCO CAN’T I GET A MOMENT OF PEACE????”

   Wait, what was I saying?

   But not really, I like that there’s an outlet available where I can appeal to the dramatic side of myself that tried out for that Oscar Mayer Wiener commercial when she was five and forgot all the words mid-audition. Plus, it’s like really super awesome for SEO. That’s what a computer nerd told me. Her name was Ericka.

5) Do you like to wear scarves?

   Only when I’m writing a book or tricking people into thinking they should follow me on Twitter.

The clues have been subtle (Kardashian subtle, in fact), but just to clarify: Ericka has written a book that will be unleashed upon an unsuspecting populace soon. But don’t be very afraid, kids, be excited… Like you were when your parents went away and you found your dad’s “movie/magazine collection”.

Or was that just me?

At any rate, I’m actually overjoyed for my pal, Ericka. Her success is my success. In fact, I’m going to head out right now and get her a gift to commemorate her hard-fought victory.

Perhaps something with coattails…

See you in the lobby, folks…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Ericka Clay.

  1. rachelocal says:

    I think Ericka has nice eyebrows and amazing arms. ( And there was also some letters I was supposed to
    decipher but I looked at the pictures instead.)

  2. A book contract is no small feat, in this day and age. Well done, Ericka!

    • Ericka Clay says:

      Thank you! It’s actually been my dream since I was twelve to publish a book….and it only took seventeen years of painful rejection. I’ll take it! 🙂

  3. Ericka Clay says:

    Thank you! Thank thank you, Roberto – I mean Robert! This was amazing and only took five solid cat glitterings for me to be inspired and answer these marvelous questions.

    Yours with an overabundant supply of glitter,
    Assturd

  4. Steph says:

    Glitter, cats, books…Ericka has so much good to offer the world.

  5. Ericka Clay says:

    Reblogged this on Ericka Clay and commented:
    Today, I’m over at You’ve Been Hooked! talking about poop and glitter like any self-respecting author would.

  6. Cristina says:

    Maybe it would be awesome for glittered arms? Too much? Is that a different Jillian Michaels DVD?

    Ericka Clay is a superb writer. I am just catching up with her other book D is for Dysfunctional.

    Funny though, glitter doesn’t come out of this on when you shake it. Not even a cat? She’s slackin’ on her piimpin’.

  7. List of X says:

    This was an excellent intervie…. wait, why is my cat covered in glitter????

  8. Nicole Marie says:

    Reblogged this on .

  9. Katie says:

    Always exciting to see someone you see around getting published. Gives me hope!

  10. Cameron says:

    Lady, you are everywhere. As the balding guy from Kansas behind the curtain, er… Wizard in charge of sending authors on magical quests–no…. wrong story, but anyway–at Bannerwing, I am psyched to be working with you and somewhat baffled by your bottomless reserves of energy and glitter.

    • Ericka Clay says:

      Thank you, Cameron!! I love making the rounds on the interwebs so there will be a few more/several thousand of these type of interviews to come! Bring on the caffeine! 🙂

  11. El Guapo says:

    Usually, I’m content to learn what I can about a person by deciphering the glitter patterns on their cat.Now I find that I can learn so much more by reading their responses to The Hook’s insightful questions.
    So much better this way. So much…

  12. Congratulations to Ericka! You are an sparkling inspiration.

  13. Eva says:

    Ericka, I love that you love Hanson. Where’s the love/It’s not enough/it makes the world go roundarounda-andround. Whee!

  14. Enjoyed the interview. I remember my day when I signed. Truly a happy time.

  15. Brother Jon says:

    I really love watching her videos. Oh, by the way, my cat needs to be glittered.

  16. Deanna Herrmann says:

    So glad to see Ericka on here Hook, especially since she’s our fearless leader at Tipsy Lit! 🙂

    Ericka, you’re brilliant and can’t wait to see where this new journey takes you!

Leave a Reply

