5×5 With The Hook: Mich-in-French

Michelle Moller, like all true bloggers, is a spirit in transition, searching for life’s true meaning – in multiple languages – while entertaining and enlightening the masses.

Michelle is currently at an interesting point in her life and as any blogger worth their salt will tell you, that makes for great posts overflowing with heartfelt human emotion. (We’re tight, so I call her Mich. Don’t be jealous, it’s unseemly.)

I could continue to sing Much’s praises but my mind has been a tempest of late, and so I think I’ll let the lady of the hour take the wheel…

1)  In your opinion, what’s the best thing about being human?

Well that’s a question I have never been asked before. The best thing about being human is that I have the ability to be more than just human – so if I look at the next door cat – he is just a cat – licks his paws after a bowl of milk, chases the mouse under the fridge because his instinct tells him to and then spends the rest of the day on the top of the wall baking in the sun – I can be more than human but he can’t be more than cat.

   Does that make sense? I often don’t make sense to others but to me it works out perfectly in my head…

   So I can move beyond what makes me – I don’t just have to eat, sleep and procreate – yeah done some of that – 2 kids down and that’s me – I am not going to move beyond that multiplication – I just can’t imagine having to understand anymore teenagers than I currently have challenging me on everything from why breakfast should be at 2pm and that chocolate milk is a necessity when studying (I digress once again, it happens a lot).

   I can be more than just an earth dweller, I can love and feel and make a difference and that is what spurs me on to dream, red bike and all. I love that we can move beyond ourselves,  if we so choose, to inspire, encourage, entertain, advise, comfort, protect, and dance…I love dancing especially when no-one is looking. And then sometimes I love to go into my daughter’s room and I look at her serious, lovely face and say “Let’s dance like nerds” and she goes “Mooooommmm – Noooooo!” But I do it anyway – it makes her smile eventually and I get to release some trapped up endorphins.

   And that is just some of the best thing about being human… and the food – wow – the food is great, hey!

2)  Do you prefer your milk from white or chocolate cows?

   Milk has to be from a chocolate cow! Indeedio! I don’t know if you have it where you are but we even have cows that float here in South Africa – Cadbury’s chocolate makes Bubbly chocolate and these cows have such bubbly chocolate milk that they actually float – sheer blissful decadence. So yup – chocolate cows that float are my absolute  favorite!

3)  Your favorite vegetable is…

   Ha ha! my favorite vegetable is NOT Brussels sprouts. This vegetable should be banned form all the family tables of the world – and this is most certainly what is not the best thing about being human! I love potatoes – who doesn’t and that is probably why I have a few extra layers of fluff around my middle – who can resist creamy mash potatoes with a dash of milk? (This time from a white cow…never tried chocolate mash potato before but there’s an idea) and I love courgettes too – they are a friendly vegetable that make you smile when chewing.

4)  If your life was to be adapted into an animated feature what would it be called?

   My life in an animated feature…that’s a new thought for me. Well, this is hard….it would definitely require my red bike and maybe some of those floating cows could have a guest appearance… aha she says as the name emerges…”The Fabulous, But Rocky Journey of the Red Bike Rider, Madam Michelle.”  (No cows were injured in the making of this feature.) Bloopers to follow.

5)  You spend a great deal of time focusing your energies to achieve specific goals, but what do you do to blow off steam?

   Well, not enough that’s for sure!

   I help my dog verbalize his thoughts – his name is Waffles and he has a very unique accent – well you have to be there to understand, it’s called Waffleese. Seriously, I also walk as often as I can along the beach – how blessed am I… my hubby and I walk briskly along – no the Champs Elysee just yet – but the awesome west coast and we chat while hoping the fluff around our middles will miraculously disappear.

   Of course I write, not nearly often enough and I read other fabulous blogs of course, like The Hook’s. And you want to know a secret? I love watching The Great British Bake Off – I just love watching those bakers flapping about in the kitchen and presenting their baked goods for severe critique or aplomb! Only problem is it makes me hungry and it makes me feel like I could possibly bake a perfect macaroon which we all know it near impossible!

*****************************************************************************************

I don’t know about you, but I’m in the mood for cake…

Anyhow, I want to thank Mich for being so cool… and human. Having a virtual Rolodex of friends to rely on when you get overwhelmed makes all the difference in the blogging game, kids. Never forget that.

See you in the lobby, folks…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Mich-in-French

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Another addition to my follow list, plus y’all get bonus points for alerting me to a British Bake-Off show! 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    Excellent interview! Especially liked the floating cows. I figure anyone who has this life view and is self-deprecating as well, would be interesting to follow – so I signed up. By the way, not so sure, Michelle, that animals cannot move outside themselves. I once boarded with a family that had a dalamation – Daisy. She and I had a somewhat contentious relationship held together mostly by mutual respect. I once got very ill while living there and was flaked out on the coach.when Daisy appeared beside the coach and whined until I gave her room to get up with me. She cuddled and stayed there for hours until the famjly came home and helped me to the hospital. I am quite sure that animals can also move outside themselves. Anyway, looking forward to a good read. Keep up the good work!

    • Mich-in-French says:

      Hey Paul – thank you and you know you and I sound like dog people – dogs are pretty amazing creatures and I agree they can be way more than dogs…I like cats but they can be so aloof and cat-like. And you know I am pretty sure they have a number of surprise beyond cat moments too, maybe the analogy should have been of a beetle…but then again I like floating cows so I think the analogy died along with the chocolate milk lol

  3. Have you ever tried a little Nestles Strawberry Quick in you glass of milk? It falls somewhere between crack cocaine and heroin.

    There’s NOTHING BETTER than some Brussels sprouts turned in a little butter with bacon. Heavenly.

    • Mich-in-French says:

      Will give that a bash with some of the strawaberry milk to wash it down and let you know how it goes 🙂

  4. WE LOVE MICH! }:-)>

  5. Who could not enjoy such a human? Great answer to that first question
    (Thanks, Hook – Never too many cow videos, either)

  6. That was wonderful.

    • Mich-in-French says:

      I loved Hook’s questions – he is such a creative guy – who would have thought to have asked them…

  7. Caroline says:

    I’m right there with ya on potatoes. I’m a sucker for them–mashed, baked, fried, etc. and hey, Brussels sprouts aren’t so bad…but they have to be cooked with bacon!!

    • Mich-in-French says:

      You are the second person to suggest the bacon bit so I will be trying that out…will keep you posted

  8. Easy, breezy and warm interview. I love brussel sprouts. Slices them thinly and cook with crisped and broken (real) bacon bit with a little chicken stock, S&P and put a lid on them. Check for when soft and dig in. :-

  9. jlheuer says:

    I agree with the previous comment, I love Brussels sprouts. Add some hazelnuts and a little butter and salt. Hey Mich, we can get you to like them, I’m sure.

    • Mich-in-French says:

      I am leaning in towards the suggestions….I just need to build up the courage …maybe that’s my next post “How to eat brussel sprouts and not lose your lunch…” any other title suggestions? lol

  10. Michelle has given me a new word to describe myself. Hence forth all that stuff around my middle I usually call all sorts of nasty name shall be known as “fluff”. I like that. Yep, that’s me, I’m a wee bit (OK, more than a wee bit) fluffy.

    • Mich-in-French says:

      Love it Mich (love your name!) fluff makes it feel a little more okay…love your fluff Mich, love your fluff!

  11. curvyroads says:

    And the Hook provides yet another fabulous blogger to follow! I love the cows, especially! 🙂

    • Mich-in-French says:

      Thank you curvyroads (love that name too!) I am honoured that Hook put me up on this wonderful blog and amongst these awesome bloggers who I aspire to.
      I love the cows too 😉

  12. Mich-in-French says:

    Thank you for this opportunity Hook – I am so honoured to be up here on your blog – your support is such a blessing and it has been so much fun too! :0

  13. Mich-in-French says:

    Reblogged this on Lessons in French and commented:
    The Hook – one of the brilliant bloggers I follow avidly, recently interviewed me and the questions he asked made me smile and admittedly think… thank you so much Hook. Pop over to his blog for an interesting read of amazing characters and clever writing.

  14. idiotwriter says:

    I have a new name for you (well it is an old one that always pops into my head – and now I know why!!)
    Michie-Mashy-Moo 😀
    Adored this my dear – SO so excellent – (such a giggle)

  15. Mich, loved this interview! BTW, agree with all the blogger suggestions about the Brussels sprouts. They’re my absolute fave – blanch them, then bake or quickly fry them with butter and crumbled bacon. Yum, yum. You’ll be a convert. 😉

  16. Pingback: Brussel sprouts…say what? | Idiot Writing

  17. Mich-in-French says:

    I thought you may enjoy my response to the brussel sprout saga – Hook, I hope you don’t mind me putting a link to my guest post on Idiot Writer’s blog about our Brussel Sprout saga – as it got me thinking a little…

    http://idiotwriting.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/brussel-sproutssay-what/

    It’s so funny that this was the biggest “hook” on the interview…:)

  18. Sherri says:

    Great interview Mich – and just to say, you got me because I love dancing, the Great British Bake Off and, wait for it, Brussels sprouts! So interesting just reading Susan’s comment above, I make mine just this same way at Christmas in an ongoing effort to convert my family and it does seem to be working 🙂 Just wanted to add my two cents worth even though I am oblivious to the ‘Brussels Sprouts’ saga… 😉

  19. Pretty close to perfect!! She likes Chocolate milk, doggies, kitty kats and has a red bike AND hates Brussels Sprouts! I don’ think they come any better! 😉
    Another great 5×5! You Rock Hookey! 🙂

  20. Pingback: A good day it is | Lessons in French

Leave a Reply

