5×5 With The Hook: TJ Lubrano

You know the best thing about being a blogger, folks? Of course, you don’t; that’s why I’m here to enlighten you.

You’re welcome, by the way. Moving onto my point…

WordPress hosts bloggers of every shape and size. You’ll find humorists, activists, mommys on a mission, axe grinders, writers of every genre, the field is endless. TJ Lubrano profile pic 2013

But there’s only one TJ Lubrano.

Otherworldly. Visionary. Gifted. Fun. Fearless. Generous.

Pick any positive word from the dictionary and it’ll stick to this eternally-optimistic young lady.

Although I wouldn’t recommend you use effervescent; it makes her sound gassy. Or erinaceous. But most of the others apply.

St. Catherine of Bologna is the Patron Saint of Artists, but personally, when I cast my eyes on TJ’s work I can’t help but imagine her as a artistic demi-god sent to dwell among us mere mortals as an example of how much we can achieve if we only open our hearts to the artist buried deep in our souls.  They say writers should write the book within them. Well, folks, after being touched by the depth of TJ’s talents I can honestly say that portals to whimsical, magical realms exist within her. Hook  Inky Lady TJ Lubrano

She doesn’t create illustrations; she breathes life into entire universes of endless wonder.

And now, if you haven’t had the pleasure yet, it is time to meet the lady herself. Let’s begin with her work, shall we?

1)  Your artistic energy springs from an adventurous heart. Is there a dream job you explore in your unconscious mind while dancing with Morpheus?

   I’m already living a part of my dream job and that is creating my art and sharing it with all you guys and being paid for it! It’s mind-blowing at times. Because of this it’s also quite difficult to bring it down to just one dreamjob as I can venture into many directions with my artwork.

   But I’d absolutely want a merchandise line so everyone could get whatever they want with my designs on it, because I know that original art pieces can be too pricey for some. You could think of designs on clothing, kids rooms stuff or even make-up packaging designs. Combine this with traveling, meeting artists to learn from and doing meet-ups around the world with fans and friends around the world and I’m one super happy lady.

   Have you seen Morpheus’s dance though? I mean, it’s an interesting sight how he twirls around and shakes his booty with all his might. Oh. He’s gesturing to us, Hook. Do you…do you think he wants us to join? Oh my gosh. He’s shaking his hips while walking towards us…

Hook FB Peek Quick Halloween TJL 2013

2)  Favorite guilty pleasure?  (Ladies choice for the category. Choose from songs/books/TV/movies.)

   I love, love cooking shows and I can easily fill my hours just watching Rachel Khoo, Nigella Lawson or one of the many baking and cooking shows you have now, like The Great British Bake-Off, Masterchef Australia, Top Chef. Just to name a few. I don’t really watch TV lately, but the sizzling of a pan lures me to the TV in seconds.

3)  You spend a fair amount of time exploring fantasy realms. Would you rather be a princess or a sorceress, or perhaps even a warrior princess who dabbles in sorcery?
   

   I’d like to be a sorceress. Complete with awesome fighting skills and dark powers. The twist would be that she has a good side and even though her powers are dark, she only uses them to do good.

Hook Dragons Everywhere TJ Lubrano 2013

4)  What does your goofy side consist of?  (Vegging in front of the TV with a big block of cheese, for example?)

   My goofy side. Ehm…it seems I have the tendency to have random bubbly outbursts. This one time I picked up my shoes from the shoefixer dude* and did a “woohoo” followed with a hand clap.

   Seriously though. I was happy to get my shoes back in one piece.

   I am very easily amused and it doesn’t matter if it’s e.g. a chat online or a chat in real life, I always picture scenes in my head. Sometimes the scenes get a life of their own and whilst the person is still talking, I just have to laugh. This isn’t always a good thing…

   *I had no idea what a shoe fixer is called and upon research aka Google, he’s named a “cobbler”? When I think of a cobbler I picture a mythical being, living in the forest. Maybe his skin is made of bark or something. Or, I just think of an apple cobbler.

Hook The Indie Chicks - Learn and Never Quit header - TJ Lubrano 2013


5)  When life gets you down is there a favorite memory you invoke to chase the doldrums away?

   To be honest, there’s not one memory in specific. It’s more the feeling I get when I remember all happy memories together. This could be memories from my youth or remembering all the happy words I read when people receive packages from me. The support I’ve gotten so far is beyond amazing. Remembering this and just being by myself for a bit, pulls me out of whatever dark cloud that’s surrounding me. Oh. And I watch some movies or anime, preferably something from Studio Ghibli!

   It seems Morpheus started busting out some disco moves now…

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

While TJ trips the light fantastic I think the rest of us should take some quiet time to reflect on her creations and allow them to stir our souls.

Hook Inky Lady TJ Lubrano

Hook Monster Madness TJ Lubrano

Be well, kids. See you in the lobby…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: TJ Lubrano

  1. REDdog says:

    Once again Hook, you prove your legendary status by elevating the awesome…you & TJ rock!

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I just discovered TJ and her blog recently (yeah, where have I been?). She’s a remarkable person with breathtaking talent!

    Another good one, Hook!

    • TJLubrano says:

      Hii there! Ah I was on blogger until I made the switch to WP a year ago! I wasn’t very active in the community (only on the blogs of the people I knew on WP) until a few months ago. I think that’s why my name isn’t floating around that much yet haha.

      Big big thank you!

  3. Wow, she is very talented indeed! I love her artwork…

  4. tracy fulks says:

    I’m loving this 5 x 5!

  5. Twindaddy says:

    Great pick, Hook. TJ is truly a radiant star in a dark sky. She is a great artist and even better person. She’s a great friend, too.

  6. Paul says:

    Impressive interview and artwork Hook. I’ve not seen TJ’s stuff before, so I’m off to explore! Thanks!

    • TJLubrano says:

      Hey Paul! So kind of you to say. Thanks so much!

      So tell me, did you get lost in the Swirly Woods where the branches are made of frosting? If you did, let me know as I’m searching for it.

  7. TJ’s work is incredible. And she’s not gassy you say? Remarkable!

  8. Carrie Rubin says:

    Love the response to #3. Great answer. And great artwork!

  9. TJLubrano says:

    Sir Hook! Thank you so, so much again. For your fun questions and for including me amongst all those other fabulous 5×5 bloggers. Your introduction is just super sweet and once again, you’ve humbled me with your kind words. I can only hope that more and more people will wander around their own magical worlds. Everyone has one. 🙂

    Big Hugs to you!

    • The Hook says:

      I love hugs – especially in the winter months! They’re like a living blanket of goodness.
      Thanks for stopping by and enriching all our lives, Tahira.

  10. Britt says:

    Delightful. A fantasy of hair and images. Thanks for the introduction.

  11. Love her illustrations! She got talent! 🙂
    Thanks Hookey~

  12. The drawings are whimsical and sultry. I like them. *grins*
    An interesting interview as always. Hiya TJ.

  13. JackieP says:

    TJ!! So good to see you here with the Hookster! I’ve been loving TJ’s work for a while now. She’s a wonderful artist and a great person. Everyone should check out her blog, she’s more than just a pretty face. She’s got such a bubbly personality a person feels so much better after chatting with her for a bit. Yay TJ!

  14. Marie says:

    I love Tahira – and she deserves all the spotlight in the world, not only on her great art but on HER BEAUTIFUL SELF… thank you for sharing her gifts with the world!

  15. Awesome! Glad you blogged this… Beautiful work!!

  16. Your drawings are so happy! It was so nice of Hook to share you with us!

    • TJLubrano says:

      Hooray for happy! That’s one of my main goals. 🙂 I’m definitely glad that Hook asked me for this. A good way to get to know new bloggers as well!

  17. Delightful art, TJL. Keen fashion sense too, obviously.

  18. Beauitful artwork! 🙂

  19. Pingback: Once Upon A Time, I got Hooked. | The Whimsy Art of TJ Lubrano

  20. I love her work and am headed her way to find out more. Thanks Hook.

  21. Another great interview, Hook! TJ’s artwork is just amazing. I absolutely love it. I didn’t realize that she was in Europe (I think). So I might be able to buy something someday after all!

    • TJLubrano says:

      Hi Deanna! Thank you, thank you! *bows* You’re so kind.

      Yes! I’m from Europe. I live in the Netherlands to be exact 🙂 Little plug, I do have a 50% sale in my Etsy store now as I’m moving to a new place. But if the timing isn’t convenient and you want to get something in the future, I always ship internationally as well!

  22. Aussa Lorens says:

    Ah, yet another awesome blogger highlighted! Tahira, I can most definitely see you as a dark sorceress who only uses her powers for good. I think the key to your power is definitely in those asterisks. *disappears in a puff of smoke*

    • TJLubrano says:

      Yaaaay! Grazie mille! I do love to go for a little twist with characters. Keeps the story interesting and if it’s an illustration, it makes you wonder about the background story. 🙂 Ohhh your puff of smoke has an interesting purple gold tone! Anything can happen in the world of asterisks. *waves and flies away*

  23. Cayman Thorn says:

    Artistry on both side of the ropes- that’s the mark of a great interview. And these aren’t simply invitations you post here, they are interviews with a more personal sensibility to them. I’m familiar with the traditional interview- where I gather notes and cull the yeas and nays of a session before pruning a finished product.
    I have to say I prefer these posts, for their provocative quality and accessible render. I love how you throw down with the talent you procure. You always pitch a smooth education, my friend. That’s how you work it. Good stuff.

    • TJLubrano says:

      Yes! *high fives* I do love interviews where I can take notes and stuff like that, but I love interviews that are more informal in nature and in my case…rambly while floating around a magical world. 🙂

      Thanks so much for reading!

  24. Thanks for the introduction Hook. TJ is an amazing talent!

Leave a Reply

