5×5 With The Hook: Daile Kelleher

In an age where many of us attempt to create our personal mythology, she is as transparent as glass, willing to disclose her beauty and scars in the same breath.

She is Daile Kelleher and she will take your breath away with her talent for human virtual connectivity. photo

Her Devil’s Haircut post is a textbook case – if they made textbooks devoted to that a sort of thing – in how effectively a writer can interact with an audience though a computer screen.

I don’t play favorites, but if I did… she’d be in the top 100… most likely.

In my humble opinion no one does self-reflection better, but don’t take my word for it, click here and judge for yourself.

1)  You’re a big fan of mixing things up in the fashion and hair color department; is there any cosmetic mountain you haven’t conquered yet?

I am actually the world’s worst female sometimes. I have no clue how to put on face make-up so I’m hoping that turning 30 does not bring with it wrinkle-face because I won’t be able to hide it. This will severely affect my chances of ever finding a man friend.

Sans glasses + purple hair = winning

2) Your favorite soda pop is….

What is this ‘soda pop’ you speak of? My favourite carbonated beverage is champagne. That’s what you meant right?

3)  Finish this sentence, please; “If I could say one thing to the whole of humanity at once, I’d say….”

Sort your shit out. Be kinder to each other. Respect our planet. Don’t be a douchebag. Wait, that one is for the last guy I was seeing. Carry on.

4)  Your favorite Muppet is…

Miss Piggy would be the blindingly obvious answer and because I like to surprise people – The Great Gonzo is my favourite. He is a weird little thing with blue fur, purple feathers and befriends chickens. We are basically the same person.

5)  If you could visit any fictional universe where would you go?

The Magic Faraway Tree. I loved the books as a child and they ignited my passion for reading, magic and imagination. I would have loved to hang out with Dick and Fanny *teehee* and eat pop biscuits with Silky the fairy and Moonface.

Oh and I wouldn’t mind visiting the fictional universe that my boyfriend currently resides in.

This next pic has nothing to do with our line of questioning but Daile’s furry friend, Bixby, is too cool to be excluded…

“MARK MY WORDS, SOMEONE IS GOING TO PAY…”

That about wraps it up, boys and girls. Until next time,  I’m going to let the lady herself see us off in her own unique manner…

******************************************************************************************

I don’t know about you, but I can’t shake that image of an enraged Bixby.

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Daile Kelleher

  1. The Hook says:

    I want to thank Daile for being generous with her time and hanging out with us today. She’s great, isn’t she?

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I love Daile, she is amazing and always has beautiful words to share with everyone.

    And Bixby! Yay!

    • Daile says:

      BIXBY!!! Who doesn’t love that guy?

      Thank you for your beautiful words about me! You are pretty amazing yourself 🙂

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Great interview and Bixby is so cute!

  4. Nadia says:

    Champagne is definitely the best carbonated beverage out there. I love your writing, Daile – it’s real, funny and so entertaining. I mean, just look at that photo of Bixby… I’m still laughing.

    • Daile says:

      I knew you would be a fan of the champers Nadia! Bixby is amazing, poor little thing, I am constantly torturing him with baths and costumes and he just puts up with it!!

  5. Trent Lewin says:

    Hook, I love the questions that you ask.

    • Daile says:

      Isn’t he a fun interviewer!! His questions are funny and always suitable for the interviewee – Hook ROCKS!

      • Trent Lewin says:

        I think your answers were quite good too. I popped over to your blog and saw what you were about… very interesting stuff. I like fun people.

  6. Twindaddy says:

    Daile is amazing.

  7. Chatty Owl says:

    You find the best people here on WordPress!

  8. The Cutter says:

    I’m all for women not wearing makeup. Let that inner beauty shine!

  9. Ned's Blog says:

    Great to see Daile here. I’m a big fan of her writing, her glasses and whatever color her hair happens be at the moment. Oh, and Bixby looks like HE could use a little champagne. Just an observation. Anyway, thanks for having Daile in the spotlight today. Terrific writer and truly genuine.

    • Daile says:

      Thanks Ned! Bixby just normally watches me drink the champagne… He does participate in my dance parties though. The ones I hold at home alone in my loungeroom. Ha!

  10. Chowderhead says:

    Um…………………………………….
    …………………I don’t think you’re gonna have any problem finding a man friend, Daile.

  11. Love the picture of the cat! Another great one….thanks Hookey!

  12. susielindau says:

    Love this!!!
    By the way, you can’t hide wrinkles with makeup, so no worries!!!

    • Daile says:

      Eh – I think I will just embrace the wrinkles (in fact I’m pretty sure I already have wrinkles now but I’m so oblivious!)

  13. As a newly removed dolt who lived under a rock, I now have yet another wonderful superstah to follow amongst the other new and not-so-new mahvellous lovies that dot my Reader. I won’t be able to explain to my wife why I no longer have time to separate the whites and darks when doing laundry nor the chance to play the lute to soothe the dog when the doorbell rings. All these fab people have taken me to a new part of the cosmicshpere out here in WP land.

    Thank you, Hook for introducing me to Daile (who I have to admit I have seen many times in passing – sort of like that creepy guy from the mall who always puts iodine on his arms. That’s me, by the way)

    Groovy – look forward to checking it out 🙂

    Paul

    • Daile says:

      Hello Paul!! Isn’t it funny how you see people around WordPress (in a non-stalky way of course) and then you realise that you just have to finally check them out! There are lots of Fab people on WP and a big thank you to people like Hook for showcasing some of them!

  14. Lily says:

    I definitely have some love for Daile. I didn’t even notice her cool hair door at first! Rad. I think I want to be Daile when I grow up.

  15. Michelle says:

    Awesome! I do so look forward to your interviews! It’s a dream for a voyeur like me.

  16. Every time I turn around online I step on a Daile related thing and I just love it! Her talent and beauty and Australian accent more than make up for the fact that her best friend is a cat. Thanks for featuring her, Hook. You really do now how to find the good ones.

    • Daile says:

      I am slowly infiltrating every corner of the internet I can… Next stop – WORLD DOMINATION! Bixby is clearly the mastermind of this evil plan and I am merely his pawn.

  17. djmatticus says:

    Enraged?
    Aww, Bixby. I wouldn’t call him enraged in that photo. From the video he wasn’t pleased with the bathing process, but he wasn’t totally pissed off either. It was more a of a detached “I’m not happy about this, but you feed me and I like you, so I’ll let you get away with it.”

    • Daile says:

      That is Bixby’s happy face. Or maybe his “MUM! Why are you doing this to me? I thought you loved meeeeee!!” And then he just wants cuddles which is incredibly unusual for him usually he doesn’t like being touched. Of course, I love it 🙂

  18. Daile says:

    Reblogged this on kissmeoutofdesire and commented:
    I’m hanging out with the one and only Hook today!! Come and visit us!

  19. stephrogers says:

    Daile! Much love sister. Hay as an aside did you know that the characters in the Magic Faraway Tree have been renamed? I bought my daughter a copy and in all the new copies those names have been edited out. I am most distressed, and I put them high up on the bookshelf and am trawling garage sales for an original second hand copy. How dare they?!

  20. JackieP says:

    Nice to meet you Daile. Hook you do one fine interview. Now I’m off to see what Daile is about.

  21. I just discovered Daile’s blog recently and I think she is lovely. Here’s to you, Daile. Holding up my glass of bubbly.

  22. samara says:

    Daile-
    I love your blog, and your honesty.
    And can I say, you are so gorgeous it kind of takes my breath away?
    So, there’s that.

  23. Brother Jon says:

    Good stuff. I’m going to go now, and be kinder to people.

    • Daile says:

      If we all concentrated on being kinder to others, the world would get a little bit better each day. I think so anyway! 🙂

      • Brother Jon says:

        Absolutely. I think the Beatles said it best…”all you need is love.” It’s a domino effect. We just need to get more falling from our side.

  24. Daile, I loved all of your answers! but I especially LOVE what you would say to the world. I think it could even stop at “Sort your shit out”. Enough said.

    Great interview as always, Hook!

    • Daile says:

      Thanks Deanna 🙂 I was going to stop at “sort your shit out” but I have been singing “be kinder to each other (and yourself)” from the rooftops lately so I decided to include that as well.

  25. aFrankAngle says:

    My time knowing here has been short, so I couldn’t pass up this opportunity to learn more about this Aussie’s free spirit. Hi Daile!

  26. Amusing interview but then they’re always entertaining here. Nice to meet you, Daile.
    Bixby deserves his own dressing-room. What a trooper.

  27. I agree about make-up. I hear about women who spend an hour doing their make-up, and I just can’t imagine what they do for an hour – that’s not a judgment, it’s a genuine question, what do they do for all that time? If I spend 10 minutes on my make-up then I feel like that’s a day where I’ve really made an effort. Also champagne, yes.

    • Daile says:

      I can’t understand women who wear loads of make up. But they always look like they do so I don’t get why? I know I am lucky to have good skin and only wear mascara and pencil my eyebrows because they basically don’t exist! I have a weakness for red lipstick though… And Champagne!

  28. I love your honesty!

  29. rebecca2000 says:

    She seems pretty awesome. I checked out her blog today 🙂

  30. rarasaur says:

    “Sort your shit out” is brilliant. If you ever want to run for President of the World, I’d vote for you. 🙂

    • Daile says:

      If I ever run for President of the World, you know you would be part of my campaign team Rara. You could help me get the Dinosaur vote!

  31. Your answers were perfect! Yes, people do need to sort their shit out, for sure. 🙂

    Bixby is adorable! And you are beautiful. I too stick with simple make up…. Too much complication with liners and sticks and what not stresses me out.

    Have a great night and congrats on being hooked!
    Lindsey

    • Daile says:

      Thanks Lindsey! If everyone sorted their own shit out and stopped worrying about other people’s we would be so much better and happier.

      Bixby is a complete champion and the star of my blog. I love his little squish face especially when it’s wet!

      Have a good one 🙂
      xx

  32. You definitely don’t need the makeup! And I so wish I could pull off that hair colour!

    I like your “don’t be a douchebag” life advice. If you can get through life without intentionally trying to be a douchebag I think you’re decent people and should do okay.

    Great interview!

    • Daile says:

      I’m actually pretty lucky to have such nice skin and I don’t take it for granted. I LOVED my purple hair but alas, I am rocking a new grown up hairdo now. Good thing the face didn’t change or I would be in trouble!

      I should make up ‘don’t be a douchebag’ bumper stickers and hand them out at music festivals and bars.

  33. I had all sorts of clever things to say about Daile, but Bixby changed all that….his eyes have reached my soul and now I’m paralyzed with fear. Daile must be pretty badass if Bixby lets her stay…

  34. Pingback: Dear Internet, Please Help Me Find A Boyfriend | kissmeoutofdesire

  35. bethteliho says:

    Love me some Daile. And I need a photo of Bixby in my inbox every. single. day.

  36. Pingback: Daile Gets Hooked | kissmeoutofdesire

  37. Pingback: Hooked! | What Would Nadia Do?

Leave a Reply

