5×5 With The Hook: John Law.

Here it is, kids, the first 5×5 of 2014!

This series exists to shine a positive light across the sprawling darkness that often threatens to overwhelm us, especially in the virtual domain. Who better then to help dispel the shadows of negativity than one who deals in entertainment for a living?

Sure, one could argue that the world of entertainment has been overrun with haters and maniacal celebrities, but these souls are but a handful of rotten apples compared to the whole orchard.

Okay, that metaphor was a little weak; time to move on.

Our guest this week is a fellow resident of my hometown – and so I couldn’t be happier to have him here for that reason alone – who has made a name for himself as an entertainment reporter in the hamlet of Niagara. People turn to his work when they need their spirits lifted. His word is law. (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

He is John Law. As a devoted worshiper of all things pop culture, I envy John’s position at The Niagara Falls Review and all that it allows him access to. Tom Green. Adam West. Lou Ferrigno. William Shatner. John gets to close enough to feel their awesome nerdrific power up close – and he gets paid a few bucks (though not nearly enough, in my opinion), to do it.

How cool is that?

To the hard-working citizens of Niagara, he is the entire cast of ET Canada, TMZ, Jon Stewart and Conan O”Brien rolled into one.

He is down-to-earth.You’ll notice the pic below is a little small. There are two reasons for that:

  1. Even after years of blogging, I still suck at WordPress page manipulation.
  2. John Law isn’t ion the professional media biz for the glory. He’s in it for the bread and the birds.

(Incidentally, only the hardcore movie buffs among you will get that reference, but that’s okay. That’s why God invented Google.)

He is a fellow comic book fan. He is generous with his time and above all, forgiving – though the less said about that, the better – and it’s his turn at bat, so here we go…

John Law

1)  You spend your days covering the wild and wooly world of pop culture, but if you could have any dream job in the world, what would it be?

 

 

As a kid, I’d have answered ‘Writing about movies,’ which I did to an extent. As an adult, I realize I should have actually tried MAKING movies. The years of sacrifice and commitment can scare a lot of people off, and it could all be for nothing, but it’s one shot I regret never taking. It’s why I love interviewing Niagara filmmakers like James Cameron and April Mullen, because they went out and did it.

DON’T MESS WITH THE CHICKS IN NIAGARA FALLS!

 

2)  The ugly sweater holiday craze: quirky, kooky fun or an epidemic of Biblical proportions?

 

It’s gone commercial! Now they make ugly sweaters on purpose, whereas before you knew someone put a lot of heart and soul into their sweater-making, oblivious to how gaudy and shame-inducing it was. The best ugly sweaters were those gems from the ’70s and ’80s before it became a craze – those things were a hideous work of art. The best bad sweaters are ones that were meant to be good but went tragically wrong.


3)  I know you share my love for comics, superhero movies and all things geek. In your opinion, what’s the best thing about being a nerd?

 

The thing I’ve never understood is how things ‘nerds’ like are supposedly ‘uncool.’ You mean, like The Dark Knight? Like Aliens? Like Terminator 2? Ya, those movies were so dorky, only geeks could enjoy them. 

 

Before everyone watched The Walking Dead, it was a comic for ‘nerds.’ People make fun of nerds like they’re out of touch, yet they’re lining up to see The Hobbit or Man of Steel on opening weekend with the rest of them. So, I guess the best thing about being a nerd is that we were right all along. 

(Best answer ever! Kevin Smith couldn’t have said it better himself.)

 

4)  Please finish this sentence:  The greatest moment of my career so far has been…

 

  Yikes … too many to pick an obvious one. Talking to so many artists and singers and filmmakers I grew up loving is one collective highlight. These are people who molded my love of pop culture, and I have them to myself for 20 minutes or so, asking things I’ve always wanted to ask them.

 

The thing about being an entertainment writer is that you usually have a lifelong love of all things entertainment. To me, talking to people Aretha Franklin, James Cameron, Ringo Starr, Jeff Bridges, Joey Ramone and literally hundreds of others is cool beyond belief.

 

One really satisfying thing, though, has been watching Niagara Falls’ own Joel Zimmerman – Deadmau5 – become an international superstar.  My first interview with him was nearly ten years ago in a bar on Main St. when few people knew who he was. About five years later, he was playing to 20,000 people at the Rogers Centre.

 

5)  Our hometown takes an unnecessary beating at times; what do you love most about Niagara Falls?

 

  I love the fact I can drive five minutes from my home and see what people fly thousands of miles across the world to see. I love driving the Niagara Parkway in the fall.

  I love the energy during the summer. I love the Falls themselves, even as everything around them tries distracting you. We have something so many other cities covet – a world-renowned attraction – and we lose sight of that sometimes.

Yes, I realize this pic is surely sending a chill down your spine, but it was too cool – pun intended – to resist. Here’s a shot of the Niagara Parkway, boys and girls.

Well, our time together has come to an end once more, folks. My thanks to the incomparable John Law for being both entertaining – yes, I went there – and generous with his valuable time.

See you in the lobby, kids…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: John Law.

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sorry, have no idea who John Law is, but nerds are seriously cool, and yes they were right all along. That photo. All that snow!! Brilliant. I want to be there.

  2. Katie says:

    I’ll admit it, I’m one of the sell-outs with one of the intentionally ugly sweaters. I couldn’t resist a kitten in a wreath with bows at the bottom.

  3. The Picture is absolutely beautiful!! (to look at) *grin* I just don’t want to be IN the cold weather….. But snow and ice make some of the most amazing natural sculptures. Thanks for sharing Mr Law with us. You are both “nerds” in the greatest of ways! 🙂

  4. John Law has the coolest job ever and he’s Canadian even cooler!
    Now a day’s I’m the one considered being the “nerd” because I really don’t like comics,batman,and those hobbity movies. And I just don’t get what people think of this Zombie walking dead craze? Now give me a Coronation St or Downton Abbey marathon weekend and I’m in!

    I remember when I used to live in Buffalo and driving thru your lovely city every weekend 4 times going back and forth to the Barrie area to pick up my kids and bring them to my place how absolutely wonderful, beautiful and lucky I was to see one of the worlds most beautiful places.
    My favourite times of the year there is the Spring, with all the tulips and all the trees blooming is spectacular!

    Sure, your picture is pretty but damn it’s cold out there today, do NOT lick that tempting ice!

  5. The first time I saw the Falls was in February many years ago, and it looked exactly like the picture.

  6. Great interview you two! I’ve never seen a picture of the falls all frosty like that! Pretty. Maybe it’s not too late for John to make films right? And if he’s looking for a British, cheap (well, very reasonably priced) actress to star in them, I know one, cough cough 🙂

  7. bardictale says:

    That’s gorgeous!
    Question (Hook, I know what your answer is):Marvel or DC?

    • The Hook says:

      DC all the way!
      I read plenty of Marvel titles though.
      But I wish I could afford to buy more though – the market is saturated with high-quality product these days!

    • bfg666 says:

      Why do people feel the need for it to be this OR that? Can’t you just enjoy both? This pseudo-feud is getting tiresome.

      • bardictale says:

        You can enjoy both, I’m just doing a type of…let’s call it a survey, shall we?…of people’s answers. Rather fascinating really, what people answer. I apologize for being tiresome.

      • bfg666 says:

        I’m not talking about you specifically. It’s just that in the comics’ letter columns, we were slowly starting to finally get rid of that constant fanboy feud and now, thanks to the internet forums, it caught ablaze once again on an unprecedented scale. I guess all I’m saying is: don’t feed the beast, it’s fat enough already.

  8. Ned's Blog says:

    I enjoyed “meeting” John through this interview. I think “nerds” are definitely coming into their own, even if it is by way of kicking and screaming.

    I have loved comic books since I was a kid and, in spite of my dad’s protests, saved up and bought a $50 X-Men comic book back in 1980. It was the issue where the new X-Men are introduced. It’s now worth about $2,000.

    Before my dad passed away several years ago, whenever we had a difference of opinion I would just say “X-Men” and he’d laugh and nod his head. That was the power of “Nerd” in action. And even though I’m way, waaay cool now (just take my word for it), I’m still a nerd at heart.

  9. Lily says:

    Very cool. I didn’t realize so many people of importance came from Niagara Falls! I thought it was just you, Hook!

  10. I have no clue who John Law is, but great post, and a fabulous image!! 🙂

  11. That was a great interview Robert! Thank you for the introduction. Happy to ‘meet’ John!
    🙂

  12. Nice interview – adds something to get perspective on the place we normally see only through your eyes. John sounds like he fit right in with the crowd here. Great guy.
    And yes, the real ugly sweaters are the ones that people worked hard to make and present to people actually liked….there something of soul- a richness- there not in sweaters made just for the ugly sweater fad.
    They had pix of the falls on the news tonight – icy beauty.

  13. Great post. Love nerds, love Deadmau5. John seems like a cool guy with his feet firmly planted on the ground. And you know I don’t have a lot of good experiences with Johnny Law.

  14. That picture is chilling but so beautiful! I really hope to see it in person someday.

  15. I am already a fan of John Law’s work. It is nice to see you do a 5 X 5 on him.

  16. Another cool interview. I’m off to learn more about Mr. Law.

  17. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir lieber Freund ein gutes wee-kend im Jahr 2014 alles liebe und gute von mir.Gislinde

  18. michd74 says:

    Hi Hook, That icy picture of the falls is incredible. It was -38 here this morning brrrr but I didn’t see anything that looked so lovely, even when my truck was sliding sideways across the icy highway. I hope you enjoyed your Holidays, thanks for keeping me entertained!

Leave a Reply

