The Hook Gets Ironic!

It’s been a crazy morning folks. Then again, around here, aren’t they all?

Of course, given the choice, I wouldn’t have it any other way. But down to business:  I am an honored guest in another writer’s sandbox today. The scribe in question is a world-class humorist, an educator of young minds and a mom/wife to be reckoned with.

She is Leanne Shirtliffe, author of Don’t Lick the Minivan: And Other Things I Never Thought I’d Say to My Kids.  She’s real and she’s spectacular. She’s also a generous host and so in that spirit, I ask you to click over and check her out. Her site, I mean.

Her series, “Whiteboard Wednesday Guest Posts”, was the inspiration for my own 5×5 series, and so in a twist of fitting irony, I am now closing out that series – on a Friday.

Don’t shake your head, kids, just go with it.

Click on the title below or the pic of Kaley Cuoco to be transported to the land of Ironic.   (No one wants to look at a pic of yours truly. I’m hideous!)

Trying to Explain “The Big Bang Theory” to Your Kids

It’s a classic tale of male parenting gone awry. In other words, it once again proves why children need mothers.

That’s all for now, kids.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Hook Gets Ironic!

  1. Aussa Lorens says:

    That story is so amusing, I could dry hump it.

  2. susielindau says:

    You’re not doing any more 5 X 5’s?

    • The Hook says:

      Absolutely, Susie!
      I’ve been doing them once a week on Wednesday but the next installment falls on the 25th, so I’ll be publishing on the 27th and of course New Year’s Day is the next installment so I’ll be publishing on the 2nd.

      After that, I may post two 5x5s a week, it depends. You’ve got time, but I’ll expect your contribution in the new year, Susie!

  3. Who hasn’t choked on something the TV blurted out at the wrong time. Hilarious real life commentaries – that’s you!

  4. Lily says:

    Kaley Cuoco looks good in that outfit! I need to get me one of those!

  5. The Cutter says:

    I was trying to find a clever way of saying that I dry humped the like button, but cleverness is avoiding me right now.

  6. Lindsey (Currie) Dubois says:

    I love the “don’t lick the minivan” line. I get it. As a preschool teacher, I often joke that we should start recording the things we find ourselves saying and create a “Sh*t preschool teachers say” you tube video.

    I’ll hop over there and check out the post.

  7. jlheuer says:

    I will tell you that this isn’t new. I remember watching the movie Dragonseed ( based on a Pearl Buck novel) with my Dad. This had to be in the 50’s. A character in the movie is raped, of course off screen, probably just referred to. I distinctly asking my father, what’s rape? I do not remember if I got an answer or some mumbled response or he just continued to stare at the TV. My Dad wasn’t much of a talker anyway and this probably struck him dumb for days.

  8. bardictale says:

    I think that was a rather good answer, sir. How’s the head?

  9. He-Who can’t stop looking at that picture. Apparently he really, really likes it.

Leave a Reply

