Friday Fun With Guests and The Last Word (probably not) on Rob Ford.

One-and-a-half hours into what was shaping up to be a sedate, run-of-the-mill shift, I was reminded of how lucky I am to be living and working in this city, in this hotel, in this day and age.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Friday Fun With Guests and The Last Word (probably not) on Rob Ford.

  1. jmlindy422 says:

    I can’t wait ’til the guy is old news.

  2. Katalina4 says:

    Yes, astute body language observation on Mrs. Ford. I’d been fantasizing about writing a post posing as the City of Toronto in an abusive relationship with a narcissistic mayor – “you don’t ask the right questions” and other delightful twists of projection and blame, but then I too felt like IT’S ENOUGH already…

  3. JackieP says:

    I thought the same thing when I saw Mrs. Ford on TV the other day. She looks tired, beaten down, and just used up. Poor woman. As for him, all I have is one word for him then I am moving on.
    Garbage.

  4. OMG. He actually said that? How horrible. I’ve been living in a hole lately and haven’t watched much news… Unbelievable. This guy needs to let go of whatever he thinks he still has as mayor. And, you’re absolutely right: his poor wife and kids. I can’t believe she is still standing there beside him!

  5. Very sad all around. You have a good weekend too. 🙂

  6. The debacle is becoming almost painfully tragic, isn’t it? When I saw the milk-mustache picture yesterday, I felt so sorry for Toronto . . .and for Mrs. Ford. . . and even for him. He seems to be quite troubled.

    But, hey! Have a great weekend!

  7. And I thought our politicians were bad…and they are…but this guy is special.

  8. Mrs. Ford has the body language and look of an abused spouse

    I thought that too

  9. I wonder what that woman is thinking, or is she praying? “Make him disappear, make him disappear”!
    Have a great weekend, Robert! 🙂

  10. List of X says:

    This Rob Ford ordeal is so depressing that I don’t even feel like mocking this guy. And I almost always mock various depressing subjects, as you know.

  11. Michael says:

    I hadn’t heard the Shark in the Water song. I will say, though, as to the woman who offered advice on what to do in that situation…well, she wasn’t wrong. 😛

    • The Hook says:

      She was great, wasn’t she? Thanks for commenting on her antics, Michael. Everyone else has focused on Ford, although I certainly can’t blame them!

  12. I confess I did not realize that was his wife. I thought it was an underling that was being forced and paid to be there. I thought he was being an abusive boss. Much worse now that I know it was his wife. Poor thing. Makes you want to give her a hug and slip her a number for a “fixer”. Not that I would know anything about that.

    • The Hook says:

      Of course not, Michelle.
      Mrs. Ford has called the police to the Ford home in the past, but refused to press domestic abuse charges. That was an error in judgement to say the least.

  13. mairedubhtx says:

    I feel very sorry for Mrs. Ford.

    • The Hook says:

      Everyone does, dear.
      Unfortunately, shehas no excuse for not leaving, especially when the whole world is watching and willing to help her. She’ll never find a better time to leave her jackass of a husband.

  14. jlheuer says:

    This is so much worse now that I know who she is. Even with kids at home I’d divorce his ass but she looks like she is at that hopeless stage and doesn’t know what to do.

  15. stephrogers says:

    I’ve never heard of that guy, at least you can rest assured that he is not, as yet, damaging your international reputation.

  16. shimoniac says:

    I feel sorry for Mrs. Ford; she looks beaten down. She’s got that, “How much longer is this shit gonna go on?” in her stance.
    And you can’t mock Hizzoner Mayor Ford, he’s done that to himself already.
    It’s like back when Michael Jackson was alive, he was the punch line to every joke.
    Q. “Why did the chicken cross the road?”
    A. Used to be, “Michael Jackson.”, now it’s “Rob Ford.”

  17. Shelburbia says:

    She’s so small. Has he already eaten part of her?

  18. Aussa Lorens says:

    Oh my gosh. I don’t have a TV so I haven’t watched any of the Rob Ford news coverage but I’ve seen a lot of people blogging about it– and I was thinking the exact thing about her photo there. At first I hoped she was just some lowly staffer or something who was having a bad day, but no. I can’t believe she has to stand next to his sorry ass while he says such stupid things. Maybe she’ll kick him to the curb and get a book deal in 2014.

  19. Daile says:

    That poor woman and those poor kids. Yikes. This is news even in Australia so well done to him…

  20. likeitiz says:

    Ya. Why can’t he just go away quietly?

  21. That poor woman looks deeply embarrassed! Though what would bring you to marry such a porker in any case! The idea of him going down on anyone is extremely offputting!

  22. I flinch now when they say this guy’s name on the news. Toronto deserves better.
    His poor family.
    Run woman. Run far. Show your kids what’s important: dignity and respect for your partner’s/family’s feelings and well being.

  23. Kylie says:

    I heard a snippet of an opera on CBC about Rob Ford. I’m so sad for Canada.

  24. TJLubrano says:

    I have no clue who this man is 😐 My days are so filled with arranging projects, almost no TV. When I do watch TV, I watch e.g. studio ghibli to calm my mind. Maybe I should pay more attention to the news, but after reading all the comments it seems like a good thing that I don’t know who is is.

  25. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    If we rely on the people who get paid to write when will we get a laugh! Even you saying that was funny!

Leave a Reply

