Fifteen Years Ago…

Fifteen years ago, at precisely 5:18 pm, a single sound changed my life forever.

The moments preceding this transition were silent; the world was suspended in time as I awaited… you know what? I want to be cool and sophisticated here, but the truth is, my mind is racing.

Today marks the fifteenth anniversary of the day I grew up. Fifteen years ago today my life ceased to revolve around my petty needs and desires. My wife showed me the greatest, most fulfilling joy another human being can experience lies in self-sacrifice. After spending a day expending the last of her inner strength, she gave birth to a perfect little angel in mortal form.

My daughter released her first cry and everything changed.

Thank God.

I was so busy having a near-perfect childhood – I never did get the TARDIS I asked for every year, but otherwise things were cool – that I failed to realize how much time and effort went into protecting, guiding and enlightening a child.

Then again, does anyone?

My daughter is the embodiment of my greatest hopes and fears.

I hope I will accomplish something worthwhile during my time on this plane of reality. One look at SarahΒ  and I know The Hook did all right. (Yes, technically VampireLover actually deserves most of the credit, but this is my post on my blog, so throw me a bone, all right?)

As any parent worth their salt will tell you, our most powerful, crippling fears revolve around our progeny. I want my daughter to live a life free of clear and present danger. I want her to live a life spent in the warm sunshine rather the frigid twilight. Simply put, I want her to be happy. And my greatest fear is that she won’t be.

However, my fear is unfounded. Hope is the most potent force in all of creation and Sarah is a reservoir of promise. To be clear, my daughter is everything I am not.

She is a gifted scribe of fiction; creating an entire series of books while perched on a bed with a slumbering dog by her side while a Disney sitcom flickers away on a television screen is second-nature to her. I’ll consider myself fortunate if I finish my second non-fiction tome while secluded in a quiet corner of our home.

She has an uncanny ability to establish an instant rapport with any member of the animal kingdom. I can’t even get the dog to listen to me while holding a pork chop.

She has a smile capable of lighting the Falls and she utilizes it seven days a week. I wake up every day, take stock of my surroundings, and let the expletives fly.

She has hair. I have a few dying strands – “soldiers” as she calls them – that I can literally hear as they fall from my scalp.

Sarah is a gift to this world from whomever is calling the shots. I am a punchline to an endless series of jokes.

To sum up, my daughter is one of those rare souls who defy description. (Yes, I realize that’s a cop-out lazy writers use to get around their limitations, but again my blog, my rules. Besides, its actually true, so there.) In short, I’ll never feel worthy of being her dad but I’m sure glad I am.

This day belongs to you, my child. Make of it what you will.

Love, Dad.

PS: Here are a few of your favorite things, but don’t worry, your mom has once again taken charge of the gift acquisition portion of our birthday tribute so you can rest easy….

 

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to Fifteen Years Ago…

  1. crankygiraffe says:

    Hook, once again you have made all other fathers pale in comparison to you. Happy birthday to Sarah!

  2. Good stuff, Hook. I often say that I’m glad I wasn’t able to wish for what I wanted in my daughter because I’d have sold myself way short of what I got as well.

  3. Beautiful post, Hook.

    • The Hook says:

      Thanks, J.D., I had originally envisioned producing something more polished, but when it comes to my daughter I become a drooling, sappy idiot.

  4. Fantastic. I never had children, to my endless regret, but you got this right as i think I would have felt.

  5. Just beautiful! Happy birthday Sarah!

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    β€œsoldiers”—Haha, I like this girl! Sounds like she’d fit right in with my sons, though I bet she passes on the scatological humor unlike them. And I know all about being the butt of jokes. It’s one of the perks of being a parent, I guess. But I know that’s their way of showing love. It would be worse if they ignored us.

  7. neonspndx says:

    ummm Amazing. Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!

  8. Honie Briggs says:

    Awesome, Awesome,Awesome! Pass along birthday wishes from…well, from a stranger in a far away land. Okay, not really that far away, maybe just a strange land Nice post, sir. Children make our lives complete, don’t they? I know I will NEVER forget the 18.5 hours of labor and I will ALWAYS remember how much joy has filled my life since I became a parent.

  9. Happy Birthday, Sarah!

  10. Happy birthday! Sounds like you guys have a great relationship.

  11. denmother says:

    Sounds like that wonderful daughter deserves a SHOPPING SPREE for her 15th birthday. You’ve got that covered, right Hook? Happy birthday (and you’re welcome) to the birthday girl!!!

  12. Great post. I’m sure you have done well as a dad

  13. unfetteredbs says:

    This is tremendous. What a wonderfully written testament of a Dad’s love.
    ( little factoid– my beautiful daughter shares the same wonderful day sweet 16)

  14. They have a way of completely changing everything. Hooray for all of you

  15. I am so glad it has all worked out for you.. me not the same but I relish hearing about the good stuff.
    HUGGG

  16. A beautiful tribute….Happy Birthday Sarah!!

  17. Spoken like a true dad… or how a true dad should be imho! A very Happy Birthday to Sarah and a very Happy Day to mom and dad! πŸ™‚ !!!

  18. Happy Birthday to your beautiful girl! Don’t sell yourself short, I only wish I could write as well as you. πŸ™‚

  19. renxkyoko says:

    Great dad ! She’s lucky to have a father like you, Mr. Hook .I can feel such great love for your daughter emanating from your words. I’m almost teary-eyed.

  20. What a beautiful tribute to a wonderful young lady. Happy Birthday Sarah…make it great and the year ahead even better!

  21. Lindsay says:

    Happy birthday to your incredibly talented, amazing Scorpio girl! She is wonderful in part due to you and your dear wife, Mr. Hook!

  22. 1jaded1 says:

    Happy Birthday to Sarah and many, many more!

  23. The Waiting says:

    This was wonderful, Robert. Happy birthday to your gal and may we all be as lucky to have fathers who adores us so.

    • The Hook says:

      I’ve stumbled but my heart ins in the right place. The key is having a capable partner whose cooking skills range beyond boiling water.

  24. The Cutter says:

    Aw…fifteen years old, huh? That must be a challenge some (every?) days.

  25. Brother Jon says:

    Happy Birthday Sarah!!

  26. I love this post and love it when men speak from their hearts. Happy birth day to both of you Hook; Sarah is lucky to have you guys as parents!

  27. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful. Happy birthday Sarah! Well done Hook and Vampire Lover.
    Life stops, and life starts the moment your child/ren is/are born.

  28. Very Beautiful *Birthday Tribute* to your daughter Hook! Now I want you to “REFER” back to this wonderful blog post NEXT YEAR on her *SWEET 16* as I hope your saving up for that *BIG PARTY* like the one’s on MTV!! Then I want to read HOW DIFFERENT your Birthday blog post will be….HHHHMMM…..as the dollar bills FLY FROM YOUR WALLET!! But seriously, it sounds like Sarah is the *Apple of your Eye*…..HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARAH! xxoo Great Post again Hook πŸ™‚
    Author, Catherine Lyon πŸ™‚

  29. michd74 says:

    I hope your daughter enjoyed a wonderful birthday! Mine just turned 14…not sure what happened to the time!

  30. The Guat says:

    It is so true they hold our greatest hopes and also scare the crap out of us. You so want them be happy and fear that it won’t happen. Dude you totally nailed it. Great post.

  31. bardictale says:

    I wish her the best of luck^^ Happy belated birthday!

  32. paul says:

    Happy Birthday to Sarah !!!

  33. You forgot to mention that she has exceptional taste. After all she did pick you and VampireLover as her parents. It seems you all made out well in the deal.
    Happy Birthday, Sarah. See how much your Daddy loves you?

  34. mairedubhtx says:

    Happy Birthday to your beautiful daughter!

  35. I love my babies, too! They validate my existence. Every day they show me how I CAN actually do something right!!!! Without them I would not be me.

    I hope your family had a lovely celebration day!

  36. What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. Happy Birthday Sarah!

  37. Beautiful stuff – belated congratulations!

  38. mabukach says:

    Big time like.

  39. What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. Has she had any luck with Ellen?

    • The Hook says:

      Zero.
      I haven’t watched an episode of her show since, but Sarah still loves her. Thank God for youthful optimism and compassion…

  40. Wonderful! You are an awesome dad! Happy b-day to your sweet daughter!!!

  41. It sounds like you owe her for making you who you are today. I suppose she already told you that a few times. πŸ˜‰

  42. Aussa Lorens says:

    Such a sweet, sweet post πŸ™‚ Lucky, both of you.

  43. Daile says:

    Happy Birthday Sarah! What a talented young lady – and a lucky one to have such an amazing and wonderful father like yourself Hook. Beautiful post – made me feel all mushy inside

  44. Pingback: The Winner Takes It All | kissmeoutofdesire

Leave a Reply

