A Harbinger of Things To Come?

Yesterday his life made sense – to a point, at least.

Today, my neighbor moved into his new home, a decision that was made for him, for good or ill, I cannot say.

We watched his daughter load a small suitcase into her car and set out for a new horizon, a new frontier.

Sometime between 5 – 5:15 p.m., he wandered away from the home.

We were returning home at 6:30 p.m. when we spotted the police car.

We burned the next hour driving around one of our city’s busiest tourist areas, frantically searching for a lost friend and neighbor. All around us, people mingled in the evening sun; laughter could be heard amongst the din of traffic and music erupted from cafes and restaurants.

But somewhere a man wandered. For him, the world no longer made sense.

After sixty minutes engaged in what appeared to be a futile effort, we returned home. As we pulled in the driveway, another neighbor approached.

“He’s been found. He’s having coffee at the home right now.”

A simple, yet welcome pronouncement, and one that didn’t signal the end of this tale.

Circumstances have revealed a deeper truth; our friend and neighbor appears to be truly lost.

That’s all I have for now, friends. Words still escape me. I’ll leave you with one last thought.

In the years to come, when our minds succumb to the ravages of age and begin to give up the ghost, I pray each of us has a guardian angel to ensure our future is, above all else, a safe one.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to A Harbinger of Things To Come?

  1. Lady Lovely says:

    No words, just glad to hear he made it back safely. Hope you are well my friend. xx

  2. renxkyoko says:

    My LIKE button doesn’t work at the momemnt…. I’ll write it here… LIKED.

    The neighbor has Alzheimers?

  3. Even though he was lost, he was not alone. You stopped your own busy lives to search for him. That says a lot. I hope he stays safe.

  4. Thank God he has been found and is safe. I will say a prayer for him and all of you that care so much about him. This is very sad and very scary.

  5. May we all have guardian angels now and later in life.

  6. dogear6 says:

    What good friends and neighbors that you all pitched in to try and find him. If my mind goes, I hope to be surrounded by people who care.

    Nancy

  7. I’m glad he was found, and what a true gift he has in all of you. 🙂

  8. Littlesundog says:

    It is a wonderful thing when we realize we have friends who care for us. What a wonderful wish for all of us to have a special guardian angel watching over us, keeping us safe. You bowled me over with this post my friend – very touching.

  9. Daile says:

    Touching post Hook, you and your wife are good neighbours (and people) my grandfather has dementia and it’s difficult to experience the deterioration of what was a wonderful and bright mind. Age is a cruel thing sometimes

  10. Lovely post, glad he made it out ok.

  11. Great post. Glad he was found safe and well.

  12. Katie says:

    I’m glad he has friends, neighbors, and family looking out for him. I can’t imagine how scary that must be to endure, from every perspective.

  13. Great post sir!
    A bit too close to home, the father of a good friend of mine disappeared for a week 2 months ago, he was found, but sadly he’s lost too.

  14. unfetteredbs says:

    And I pray as well.
    Be well

  15. SocietyRed says:

    Hook,
    Wow. I know some folks that check in only briefly each day. It’s then that I see real fear in their eyes realizing what they do not know about.
    It’s when people care that the fear subsides a bit.
    Powerful post Hook.
    Red

  16. Damn powerful, Robert.
    I pray for your neighbor and his family.

  17. mairedubhtx says:

    So sad. I’m glad your neighbor was found safe and sound. I hope the move is a good one for him and the right one for him. I’ll keep him in my prayers.

  18. The Cutter says:

    I just hope that when I reach that age I’ll have people who would want to look for me.

  19. Honie Briggs says:

    A terrifying and heartbreaking experience to express. I see it quite often in the eyes of a friend whose mother is fragile and confused from time to time. Fortunately they can afford professional care. There are many in this world who can’t. Good neighbors are a treasure. Touching post.

  20. mabukach says:

    Powerful post, Hook. Glad your neighbor’s okay.

  21. Kayjai says:

    Heartbreaking…

  22. djmatticus says:

    Relieved he was found safe… hopefully it’s not too late for him to find his way again. Hope you and your family are well too.

  23. MissFourEyes says:

    Glad he was found and safe. You’re good people to go out looking for him.

  24. The world must be a scary place when you can no longer grasp your own existence.

  25. wisejourney says:

    Feeling safe and secure is important now….as we age and slow if we remain so, then I like to think we are blessed.

  26. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Wow, sad and scary 😦 Glad he made it back and good on you for doing your bit. What a horrible feeling knowing someone is out, lost and confused.

    Rohan.

  27. Oh, Hook. You really see it: “truly lost.”
    The descending darkness. The slow drifting away.
    Hope he slips quietly like my mom(it was her greatest fear – but she never realized it was happening – and we made sure of that) and aunt(who was so cheerful and contented). My father-in-law – a wonderful man and doc saw it coming(at much too young an age) and fought it angrily.
    I don’t now which is better – the results being the same.
    A glimpse is enough to shake you.
    Hope your last paragraph is true for everyone.
    Very strong post. Nailed that feeling, mood, fear, and perspective.

    • The Hook says:

      Thank you.
      I’m slowly returning to normal… whatever that is.
      And thank you for joining the conversation. Aging is filled with many dangers, it seems.

      • Normal is highly overrated….
        “Normal” – that’s sort of like talking about how wonderful High School was – when actually everyone was miserable but thought everyone else was popular and happy like in the movies?
        Joy in small things right in front of you – now that’s vision. Highly recommend getting lots of cheap bottles of bubbles and waving those wands around frequently.
        (Never too old for smiles – even if you feel that way..just need a reminder once and awhile? Happy Father’s Day early…beating the rush)

      • The Hook says:

        You rock, my friend! Thank you – for everything.

  28. munchow says:

    I am not sure if it’s sad of good when people lose touch with base like you neighbour. But, yes, it’s definitely good that he made it back, safe and sound. And kudos to you for putting in the effort to search for him. That are best neighbours one could ask for!

  29. You’re a good man to care, Hook. Glad he was found safe and sound. Getting old can be so hard. It certainly does keep the Guardian Angels busy.

  30. legendsofgreenisle says:

    I had two grandparents who were “lost.” My grandfather, after being moved in with my father, decided he wanted to go home to Medford, Oregon from LA. He missed my grandmother who had died several years back, but he didn’t remember that. Needless to say it took my family about three days to locate him. He ended up somewhere in Fresno and had the cops call my dad. because he got lost. It’s wonderful your friend has you as his “guardian angel.” 🙂

  31. Marian Green says:

    This breaks my heart. 😥

  32. audrina1759 says:

    Amen. It sad to think a time will come when you can’t trust or control your mind. Thank GOD you found him and he is safe. Its a good thing he had people who care.

  33. TBM says:

    Oh Robert age is not kind to us. So glad he was found safe and sound.

  34. tzilla68 says:

    You sound like good people. Glad to have found you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

