What My Eyes Have Seen: Sunday Morning Edition.

A weary midnight bellman, his mind and body aching from the burn of the midnight oil.

Unbalanced, drunken females, giddy with exhaustion, their words slurred and their minds a cyclone of foggy memories best left unexplored.

An overzealous traveler pacing the lobby, eager for the swimming pool to open.

Eager bus drivers and tour guides pacing in the early morning sun, desperate for the bellman to deliver their charges’ belongings to the front of the building.

Ripped flyers and newspapers, cigarette butts and crushed cans of Red Bull and blue Solo cups (Yes, blue!), strewn about the road and flower beds.

A blood-stained sidewalk.

All before seven a.m.

Such is the lot of yours truly, the first bellman on shift Sunday morning.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to What My Eyes Have Seen: Sunday Morning Edition.

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    A blood-stained sidewalk? Good grief!

  2. loiswstern says:

    “observer and chronicler of the human condition” – great elevator pitch for who you are and what you do!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Good Moooorning Robert! Welcome back to hell.

  4. At my house we call that “Tuesday”. 🙂

  5. Michael says:

    I hope that cyclone of foggy memories isn’t related to the blood-stained sidewalk…

  6. Creepy Sunday morning huh!

    🙂 xoxo

  7. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Seems so surreal, Robert. I do so enjoy your observations…

  8. Somehow waking up to my mess just seems a whole lot better. No blood here and no pool.
    I’m not talking about anything else 😉

  9. Scary morning, Hook! I hope your day is better than Saturday night’s aftermath. Loverman and I used to work 3rd shift Saturday nights so we got to actually SEE what caused the bloody sidewalk… 😦

    One Sunday morning, we went to Burger King down the block after our shift was over and a bloody hooker wandered in asking them for free food. She was really bloody — and really scary! When they wouldn’t give her anything she went out to the parking lot and waited for a cab to stop. When one did, she tried to get in the back and when the cabbie/s (we watched her try to get into more than one) wouldn’t let her in, she would kick their door and scream expletives at them… All we could think was “How can we get out of here so we don’t have to deal with this chick?” She left after about 20 minutes of harassing cabbies and people on the street walking to church… All right downtown for everyone to see at 8AM Sunday morning… Crazy people!!!

  10. susielindau says:

    Hey Hook! I am headed out for the afternoon, but wondered if you could email me. I can’t find your email address on your blog… 🙂

  11. unfetteredbs says:

    rough one!

  12. Hope tomorrow is better…even if it is a Monday can it top this one?

  13. No!! BLUE Solo cups? What is this world coming to!!

  14. The swimming pool comment made me smile. When I worked at the YMCA way back, it awed me how timely were the 5 a.m. swimmers. They meant business then, and it appears they still mean it now!

  15. Wonderful if frightening images in my mind as I drink my morning tea!

  16. Katie says:

    Forget the bloodstains, I take issue with the blue solo cups. What’s wrong with people these days?

  17. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Ouch, sounds like Dublin on a Sunday morning, except there is copious amounts of the night before’s barely digested curry flooding the streets. Why oh why do binge drinkers think it’s a good idea to have 10 pints and then a full meal? Sigh.

    I feel for ya buddy!

    Rohan.

  18. Honie Briggs says:

    Ode to The Hook
    For whom the Bellman loads are as loaded as they could be. Blurry eyed, stupefied, filled with anxiety. Scattered and trashed, battered and smashed as far as the eye could see. Ask not for whom the Bellman loads. He loads for thee. So, give the man a nice tip, why don’t ya!
    ~~HA!!~~

  19. djmatticus says:

    What a “lovely” way to start the day. Ugh.

  20. Dig your style. A story and atmosphere with few words, yet you set the tone, look and feel in a paragraph.
    Liken this to what Bukowski called ‘The clean line.’
    Bravo!

Leave a Reply

