Giveaways, Foul-Mouthed “Girlfriends”, And Other Business..

The giveaway window has closed, and the final tally is….

6,053!

That’s right, kids, The Bellman Chronicles is now in the hands of thousands of people and I can only hope the momentum carries through to sales and reviews. But that’s the future; for now, there are some people I need to thank…

  • Jo Bryant: Your blog is called Chronicles of Illusions, but you’re a true friend, young lady! I can never thank you enough.
  • Claire Ridgway: Your article on Interviews with Indie Authors is responsible for most of my success. Of course, Jo Bryant led me to you, so she gets some more credit, as well! Seriously, follow Claire’s formula if you can and you’ll see the results.
  • SnicksList.com: Worth a look, folks… Trust me!
  • Pixel of Ink
  • http://addictedtoebooks.com/free
  • Twitter was essential as well. If you had tole me a year ago, that I’d send out over a hundred “tweets” in one day, I’d have asked you if you were drunk…
  • FreeBookDude.com
  • Holly Adair at http://fmbblogtours.blogspot.ca/
  • There are dozens of others and I’ll get to everyone soon – I promise! For now, I just want to say thanks to everyone. I have the best friends in the cyberverse.

MOVING ON….

At work, guests seem to ignore my presence, and so I get to overhear some real gems…

SORE GIRL: I can’t believe I let you fuck me in the ass last night!

LUCKY GUY: I can’t believe you didn’t charge me!

Would you like some context? I was standing on the second floor of our parking garage waiting for a guest to pull around when this couple exited the elevator and spiced up my morning – to say the least!

She was:

  • Short and curvy.
  • Busty. I’m going old school with this one!
  • Waving her long, raven hair around as she arched her back and moaned. You can certainly understand just why her back was hurting…

He was:

  • Lanky and dressed like a white rapper wannabe.
  • One of those guys that losers look at and say “Boy that guy’s a loser!”
  • Walking around with a few more dollars in his pockets, apparently…

It should be noted that the young lady certainly didn’t look like a hooker – my radar is usually infallible – but I could have been mistaken, or perhaps the boyfriend was just shooting his mouth off. Nothing would surprise me with those two characters…

Speaking of characters; my next room brought me in contact with two chatty “high-maintenance chicks” (their words, not mine) who decided to verbally slice and dice a cougar mom who looked like she mugged an Avon lady. The character assassination took place after she hustled her rugrats out of the elevator, of course.

CATTY GIRL #1: Did you see the heels on that cougar mom?

CATTY GIRL#2: I know! And what about her make-up? With the whole package, she gives Gene Simmons a run for his money!

It was at that point that they turned their attention to me; why, I do not know. Perhaps they picked up on my “vibe”, or perhaps they simply realized I could hear every word, especially since I was standing right beside them! At any rate, I decided to join right in…

THE HOOK: She looked nothing like Gene.

The girls froze, their faces expressed the tension they were feeling as they awaited my next sentence.

THE HOOK: Gene doesn’t wear nearly as much make-up!

The elevator exploded with laughter and I walked away from two more satisfied guests who had been… You guessed it, “hooked”!

TIME FOR OTHER BUSINESS..

A shout-out to my newest blog buddy, Kristen Lamb and her best-selling tome, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media. Give it a try, folks. You won’t be disappointed…

And now… My first Blog Hop!

It's a Blog Hop, baby! Get hoppin'!

Starting 9/1 through 9/15, Romance at Random, & the participating sites below, are hosting a blog hop with FREE books! Enter your name into the Rafflecopter & you could be chosen to win:

  • A Free Romance book! (10 winners in all)
  • Be one of 5 winners to win a prize pack from author Elisabeth Barrett (check out her new release, BLAZE OF WINTER, below)
  • Grand Prize is a $25 eGC

Happy Hopping!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1. Romance At Random 2. Ruthie Knox
3. Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews 4. Reading Reality
5. Storm Goddess Book Reviews 6. Manga Maniac Cafe
7. Full Moon Bites 8. Reading with Holly
9. Bookie’s Book Reviews 10. All Things Books
11. Good Choice Reading 12. The Write to Make a Living
13. The Book Diva 14. Bea’s Book Nook
15. Shawntelle Madison 16. Elisabeth Barrett
17. Socrates’ Book Review Blog 18. Shelley Munro
19. Insane Hussein Reviews 20. Books R Us
21. Jessica Scott 22. Book Flame
23. Manic Readers Guest Blog 24. My Book Addiction and More
25. SOS Aloha 26. Pump Up Your Book
27. Sharon Cullen 28. Under the Covers Book Blog
29. The Book Tart 30. Reviews by Molly
31. Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews 32. Seductive Musings
33. Romance Junkies 34. Love To Read For Fun
35. Cassandra Carr 36. BookHounds
37. Otterwise 38. From the TBR Pile
39. Love Saves the World (INT) 40. Sharon Cullen
41. So You Think You Can Write 42. Babbles From Scott Eagan
43. Bronwyn’s Writing 44. TE Garden of Book Bloggers
45. Bookshelf Confessions 46. Review From Here
47. Celticlady’s Reviews 48. Labor Day Hop
49. Romantic Reads and Such 50. In Love with Romance
51. The Bookpushers 52. Reviewing Romance
53. Queen of The Night Reviews 54. Queen of All she Reads
55. Romantic Crush Junkie Reviews 56. Saucy & Sinful Reviews
57. Romancing the Book 58. Book Faery
59. Harlies Books 60. Love, Laughter, Friendship
61. Ramblings From This Chick 62. My Secret Romance
63. Rambling Reads 64. Delighted Readers
65. suzy henderson 66. Romancing Rakes For The Love of Romance
67. Blackraven’s Erotic Cafe 68. HEA Romances With a Little Kick
69. AJ’s Reading Nook 70. Blackraven’s Reviews
71. The Readers Roundtable 72. Dark Divas Reviews
73. T B R 74. Romance Book Club
75. Seaside Book Nook 76. Cheeky Reads
77. Mimmi’s Musings 78. Kindle Fever
79. Not Now…Mommy’s Reading 80. herding cats & burning soup
81. Kindles and Wine 82. Harlequin Junkie
83. Caribbean Accent Book Reviews 84. Sara Jane’s Eclectic Reading Blog
85. Sharon Hamilton Author 86. Coffey Brown Books
87. From the Bootheel Cotton Patch 88. Teena in Toronto
89. Me and Reading 90. The Romance Dish
91. All Things Books 92. Amber Kallyn
93. Book Review Diva 94. Leigh Ellwood
95. Me Want Food 96. Captain marketing
97. One Word At A Time, Joan Swan, Author 98. You’ve Been Hooked
99. The Things You Can Read 100. The Autumn Review
101. Day Drmzzz 102. Confessions From Romaholics
103. The Book of Terrible

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Giveaways, Foul-Mouthed “Girlfriends”, And Other Business..

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    There’s nothing like good cyberfriends – it’s incredible how important we can be to each other even though we’ve never met! Congratulations on the huge number of books that were downloaded – that shows there’s lots of interest in your book! Get ready for stardom! 😀

  2. Congratulations Hook, hope the sales go through the roof! I started reading the book today; will post a review ASAP!

  3. leah says:

    As indicated in the other blog, when I have cash it is in your hand. Lol when I worked in service I loved being invisible just for that reason. You get to hear the best stuff! And great addition to the convo. Too funny.

  4. Cameron says:

    Congrats! Started the book last night!

  5. Well done, my dear Hook… Look who’s laughing now… 🙂

  6. TBM says:

    Wow…a roaring success!!!! I hope it continues.

  7. So glad you’re digging Kristen Lamb’s blog! Isn’t she fabulous? She has great posts on giveaways, by the way. You can search for the term “free” on her blog to find them.

    Wishing you lots of success. 🙂

  8. I’m glad your work is never boring for you!

  9. Hurray! Glad the event went so well….and you are still able to roll under the radar among guests. More hilarious stories traveling your way.

  10. Jefferson says:

    Over 6k! Congrats man, and best of luck as you move into book sales.

  11. Madhu says:

    Wonderful! good luck with the sales 🙂

  12. 6,053!!! TRUCKING brilliant!!!

  13. Congratulations on your successful giveaway, I’m sure that it will lead to a boost in sales.

  14. Lily says:

    I can’t believe you witness all of these weird and gross comments! People are so…dumb.

  15. Simona says:

    (¯`v´¯) GOOD MORNING MY FRIEND♥
    ✿.¸.♥´♥♥ HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY ♥
    ¸.♥´¸.✿´¨) ¸.•*¨) ♥ BY SIMONA ❥
    (¸.♥´(¸.✿ .♥´¸¸♥´¯`•->❥✿ •->❥

Leave a Reply

