THE BELLMAN CHRONICLES – FREE FOR 2 DAYS!

The cyber-flood gates have opened and now (“now” meaning 12:01 a.m. Sept. 10 – 12:00 a.m September 11) my “love letter” to the Niagara Falls hospitality industry is free to anyone with the means to download it.

Even the douchebags.

In fact, they should download multiple copies; after all, they owe me for the last fifteen years! But right now, my gentle readers, you’re probably thinking about something else.

  • The guys are thinking, “Does reading Fifty Shades of Grey automatically make me gay?”
  • The girls are thinking, “Will Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson patch things up in time for the  premiere of the next Twilight film?”

But after those thoughts have run their course, you’ll all be thinking, “Why is The Hook giving his book away? Has he finally snapped after slugging one laundry basket too many for some ungrateful douche-monkey?” While I will no doubt eventually snap, that day hasn’t arrived yet. The truth is this:

You can actually make money by giving stuff away.

  • Every single download – whether the reader has paid for it or not – counts as a sale on Amazon and raises the author’s ranking, thus propelling him or her higher up the Amazonian food chain.
  • If an author is truly blessed, those readers who have taken advantage of his giveaway will submit a review; you need review to draw the attention of certain book reviewing websites.
  • When all is said and done, an author can only pray his giveaway will draw attention that will last long after the promotion ends and which will result in actual sales down the road.

And believe me folks, this is a long road that I’m traveling. I’ll keep slugging away long after my giveaway ends and hopefully in the end, I’ll actually sell more than twenty copies of The Bellman Chronicles.

CLICK HERE TO “PURCHASE”!

AND FINALLY….

A shout-out to my newest blog buddy, Kristen Lamb and her best-selling tome, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media. Give it a try, folks. You won’t be disappointed…

MY THIRD MEDIA PLUG!

My new best friends at NIAGARAHUB – Niagara’s Information Source were generous enough to run a feature on The Bellman Chronicles on September 5. Check it out here..

BACK TO BUSINESS…

Here is a brief list of some of the stranger things I’ve hauled around the hotel on my bell cart. What can I say? I was feeling nostalgic…

  • A sleeping six-year-old. It was 5 a.m. and his parents didn’t want to wake the little rugrat as they were checking out. its all about the service, people…
  • A pair of antlers. Hunters, right?
  • Two drunken bridesmaids who wanted to make a “bitchin’ entrance” when they were introduced at the reception. Chicks, right?
  • A goldfish and a canary. But not on the same cart; that would be nuts, right?
  • Various forms of “erotic baked goods”, blow-up dolls and sex toys. I’ve transported so many penis cakes that it has become second nature. I need help, don’t I?

And now… My first Blog Hop!

It's a Blog Hop, baby! Get hoppin'!

Starting 9/1 through 9/15, Romance at Random, & the participating sites below, are hosting a blog hop with FREE books! Enter your name into the Rafflecopter & you could be chosen to win:

  • A Free Romance book! (10 winners in all)
  • Be one of 5 winners to win a prize pack from author Elisabeth Barrett (check out her new release, BLAZE OF WINTER, below)
  • Grand Prize is a $25 eGC

Happy Hopping!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1. Romance At Random 2. Ruthie Knox
3. Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews 4. Reading Reality
5. Storm Goddess Book Reviews 6. Manga Maniac Cafe
7. Full Moon Bites 8. Reading with Holly
9. Bookie’s Book Reviews 10. All Things Books
11. Good Choice Reading 12. The Write to Make a Living
13. The Book Diva 14. Bea’s Book Nook
15. Shawntelle Madison 16. Elisabeth Barrett
17. Socrates’ Book Review Blog 18. Shelley Munro
19. Insane Hussein Reviews 20. Books R Us
21. Jessica Scott 22. Book Flame
23. Manic Readers Guest Blog 24. My Book Addiction and More
25. SOS Aloha 26. Pump Up Your Book
27. Sharon Cullen 28. Under the Covers Book Blog
29. The Book Tart 30. Reviews by Molly
31. Laurie’s Thoughts & Reviews 32. Seductive Musings
33. Romance Junkies 34. Love To Read For Fun
35. Cassandra Carr 36. BookHounds
37. Otterwise 38. From the TBR Pile
39. Love Saves the World (INT) 40. Sharon Cullen
41. So You Think You Can Write 42. Babbles From Scott Eagan
43. Bronwyn’s Writing 44. TE Garden of Book Bloggers
45. Bookshelf Confessions 46. Review From Here
47. Celticlady’s Reviews 48. Labor Day Hop
49. Romantic Reads and Such 50. In Love with Romance
51. The Bookpushers 52. Reviewing Romance
53. Queen of The Night Reviews 54. Queen of All she Reads
55. Romantic Crush Junkie Reviews 56. Saucy & Sinful Reviews
57. Romancing the Book 58. Book Faery
59. Harlies Books 60. Love, Laughter, Friendship
61. Ramblings From This Chick 62. My Secret Romance
63. Rambling Reads 64. Delighted Readers
65. suzy henderson 66. Romancing Rakes For The Love of Romance
67. Blackraven’s Erotic Cafe 68. HEA Romances With a Little Kick
69. AJ’s Reading Nook 70. Blackraven’s Reviews
71. The Readers Roundtable 72. Dark Divas Reviews
73. T B R 74. Romance Book Club
75. Seaside Book Nook 76. Cheeky Reads
77. Mimmi’s Musings 78. Kindle Fever
79. Not Now…Mommy’s Reading 80. herding cats & burning soup
81. Kindles and Wine 82. Harlequin Junkie
83. Caribbean Accent Book Reviews 84. Sara Jane’s Eclectic Reading Blog
85. Sharon Hamilton Author 86. Coffey Brown Books
87. From the Bootheel Cotton Patch 88. Teena in Toronto
89. Me and Reading 90. The Romance Dish
91. All Things Books 92. Amber Kallyn
93. Book Review Diva 94. Leigh Ellwood
95. Me Want Food 96. Captain marketing
97. One Word At A Time, Joan Swan, Author 98. You’ve Been Hooked
99. The Things You Can Read 100. The Autumn Review
101. Day Drmzzz 102. Confessions From Romaholics
103. The Book of Terrible

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to THE BELLMAN CHRONICLES – FREE FOR 2 DAYS!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Reminds me, I have to review your book then. Then I’m heading straight over to kindle fever.. 🙂

  2. Marian Green says:

    Awesome! I’ll be downloading an reviewIng for sure! Many happy congratulations!!!!!!!

  3. raisingdaisy says:

    I’ll be happy to help, and I’ll pass the word along to my friends as well. I know you’re going to do GREAT!! 😀

  4. I bought the Bellman Chronicles shortly after it came out on Amazon. It’s great!!!!! Everyone who comes here has no reason not to get it. The Hook may be offering it for free, but come on now… It doesn’t cost that much. Less than a movie, a little more than a mocha frappe (or something like that) at Starbucks.

  5. YAY! Can’t wait to get it and SHARE on FB and my blog about it! 🙂

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    Well Hook the day has arrived. Good luck with this promotion !!! I did just check and it still is not listed as free. You might want to find out when it is going free before people head over, and then forget to go back. I really hope this starts the ball rolling for you and converts in to lots and lots of reviews and then LOTS and LOTS of sales.
    😉
    🙂

  7. misswhiplash says:

    It is free if you become a Prime member temporarily, then follow directions to cancel membership after October…..so Hook I have done my duty I have downloaded Bellman Chronicles and when I have read it I shall give my usual frank and honest account

  8. TBM says:

    Howdy Hook! I downloaded the free version in the UK. I wish you all the success in the world buddy!

  9. Jo Bryant says:

    Reblogged this on Chronicles of Illusions and commented:
    Don’t miss out on this terrific offer of a great read before the FREE period finishes. Get your ‘arse’ over to Amazon and download it. You won’t be sorry !!!!!!!!!!

  10. Downloaded a copy and look forward to reading on my Mac. Good luck!!

  11. Reblogged this on My Sardinian Life | La Mia Vita Sarda and commented:
    Pimping a fellow Canadians free book! Only two days to download, get it while you can. I’ve just downloaded mine and am looking forward to digging into it! Thank you Mr. Hook!

  12. Fiona says:

    Thank you!!!!!!! I just downloaded it. I found you don’t actually need a kindle – you can download an app free to read the kindle versions on your computer or phone! I have a lot of trouble affording to buy books so I’m really thankful to get to read yours. I’ve shared it and given you a good recommendation on my facebook – good luck 🙂

  13. colonialist says:

    Thanks to Jennifer I went to Amazon to read the preview, got ‘Hooked’, and it is now sitting next to ‘Pride and Prejudice’ in my library.

  14. Jefferson says:

    Downloaded, reviewed, and blasted out to my FB peeps. Good luck Hook!

  15. Pingback: 2 Days to get this hilarious book! | The HeSo Project

  16. Kim Krodel says:

    Reblogged this on Kim Krodel and commented:
    My buddy, The Hook, is giving away his book on Amazon for free today. If his blog is any indication, this book should be a laugh-riot. I intend to pick up my e-copy right now. Check it out.

  17. Smaktakula says:

    Awesome, Hook! Thanks! Downloaded to my iPad. Will begin reading before the day is through!

  18. The Waiting says:

    Have downloaded it! Thanks for giving it away! I will be writing a review as soon as I finish it. Since I have a baby, who knows when that will be, but I promise I WILL leave a review sometime before she goes to kindergarten ;D

  19. Reblogged this on The Amber Light's Blog and commented:
    If you have Kindle DOWNOLOAD this BOOK!!!! You are guaranteed to laugh and identify with the world of numbskulls and jerks that are everyday fixtures in the hospitality industry. Enjoy!! I have read The Hook for a while now and he ALWAYS makes me laugh and remember to embrace my human side!

  20. MishaBurnett says:

    Okay, hello, I totally snaked your book.

    • The Hook says:

      Glad to hear it!

      • MishaBurnett says:

        Have you considered writing fiction? You have a great storytelling style, and really good comedic pacing. The way you talk about people reminds me of Dave Barry’s “Big Trouble”, or some of Donald Westlake’s comic mysteries. I think you could do a really good comedy of errors set in a big posh hotel, as seen through the eyes of the staff. Just a thought.

      • The Hook says:

        And a great thought, at that!

  21. Ok. I will read it. I hope this works out well for you in sales and a movie deal.

  22. HoaiPhai says:

    Thanks for the tip-off you put on my blog about the release of “Bellman Chronicles”! I downloaded it yesterday and will be reading it cover-to-cover. I pledge to write a review but the book might take a bit of time for me to get through… it seems I’m cursed with an interruption every seven minutes or so!

  23. Kat says:

    Got the book! And just in time too, today being the last day. Settling in to read, cup of ho chocolate in hand. I’m hooked 🙂

  24. I got it, also shared it on facebook, hope that helps ya!

  25. munchow says:

    I hope your give-away will reward you as you hope it will. Your really deserve that. I haven’t had time to read The Bellman Chronicles yet, but it’s jumping up the priority list. May you indeed sell more than 20 copies, my friend! Thanks for the tips about Kristen Lamb’s book.

  26. KiNgDeeM says:

    Hey bud, hope this went over well. I shared the crap outta this, hopefully I’ll get ya some reviews. http://www.facebook.com/groups/geekgirlsbookclub/permalink/355927381153776/

  27. Pingback: Trying something new « McQty – In a Nutshell

  28. I’m going to buy myself a hard-copy for my birthday!

  29. workspousestory says:

    Shame I found it too late 😉 where can I find the book?

  30. You’ve reminded me – I bought (and loved) the book, now I need to leave the review!

  31. mizqui says:

    LOVE THE BOOK! I got my copy last week. You are a riot and just what the doctor ordered for our 10-hr (round trip) road trip to California (Newport Beach shoot). Well done. I am still HOOK’ed and still reading in between film shoots. Thanks for the insight and the laughs – there’s a fun review coming your way soon. (-;

  32. mizqui says:

    Hard working man: I loved every page of The Bellman Chronicles, so did my traveling film crew. THANKS for providing our road trip entertainment. Your book made our 5.5 hour trip to California seem like a short trip filled with more laughs than miles or hours. You’re awesome transit company. We’re HOOK’ed!!!!

Leave a Reply

