The Hook Pulls A Fonzie…

THE TIME AND PLACE:

 A typical Monday morning in the same old place, which ironically, manages to remain exciting and different every day!

 THE SETTING:

 A nondescript service elevator; run by a control panel with a bad attitude. Seriously, this particular elevator had been buzzing since my arrival at 7:30 A.M. It was now noon and the electronic serenade continued. As I embarked, I took note of my fellow occupants…

  • Two breakfast buffet waitresses, (I don’t care it that’s no longer the correct term, I like it!)  their arms full of leftovers.
  • A “worker bee” from shipping. They buzz about the hotel like drones on a mission, so…
  • Two maintenance workers!

 I just stared at the guys in the tool belts. They got the point… Eventually.

 “We’ve already called the elevator company, Hook.” Yes, they actually call me “Hook”. Some of my fellow workers will even refer me to as “The Hook”, as in, “Hey, what’s up The Hook?”

 But I digress.

 Despite my lack of knowledge of elevator repair, I decided to apply my years spent watching sitcoms to the problem at hand.

  •  I made a fist.
  • Raised my arm.
  • I made contact with the control panel using a moderate amount of force.
  • “BAP!” Yes, that is a word; just check out any episode of the Adam West Batman series.
  • The buzzing ceased.

The maintenance men, their mouths agape, simply stood motionless. I decided to snap them back to reality.

 “You can cancel that call, boys.”

33 DAYS TO GO, FOLKS…

Niagara Falls Comic-Con 2012

June 9. 2012 10 A.M – 7 P.M.
Scotiabank Convention Centre
Niagara Falls. Ontario. Canada

For full details, click here, fan boys and girls!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2012, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to The Hook Pulls A Fonzie…

  1. carmenrdzn says:

    Finally something interesting happened in the elevator …?

    kiss

  2. becca3416 says:

    Only way this could be better is if you had a cigarette hanging from your lip and a pair of dark sunglasses to pull down nonchalantly as you walked away like it was nothin’.

  3. “The name is Hook… James Hook.”

  4. The Hobbler says:

    Impressive skills Hook.

  5. Woman says:

    Oh can I borrow you? Do you stop car horns and break squeal too? What about those sounds that people make out of their mouths? Can you stop that too??? If you can, how much would you charge per hour?

  6. Fabulous!! So, are you getting a DA or do you have one already?

  7. iamnotshe says:

    How you doin’ The Hook 😉 HAHA.

    Nice knuckle punch dude! Keep the hotel running. I can imagine that screaming sound (well not really) BUT i can imagine being irritated by that sound. THAT’s a fact.

  8. La La says:

    Wish you would have put your thumbs up and said “aaaaaayyyyy” afterward. 🙂

  9. Lily says:

    Ha awesome! Hitting/punching things is always an easy fix! Smart thinkin!

  10. Jeannie says:

    You’re the man with a right “hook”!

  11. You are fabulous.. see how easily you solved the problem, no wonder people around call you THE HOOK 🙂

  12. Have you ever employed this particular problem – solving technique with an annoying patron? ..they, after all, are every bit as irritating as a buzzing metal box, no? 😉

  13. mizqui says:

    You’re mechanically inclined too? Whoo hooo go Fonz! lol! You’re the best Hook!

  14. Jo Bryant says:


    And that is all I have to say about that !!!

  15. Kim says:

    Good job foiling that peaky elevator!

  16. Been reading your Book of Terrible.. !
    You are way tooooo busy…!!
    Seems some sort of beastie has you by the …
    way, did you hear the one ’bout the bloke who was moving so fast; he caught himself going forward on his return trip…
    Sounds a bit like you, at the moment, my dear Hook…! 😉

  17. raisingdaisy says:

    Hahaha!!! You’re one in a million, my man! I bow to your technical expertise! 😀

  18. twindaddy says:

    Nice. Do you think if you smack around my paycheck it will get bigger?

  19. susielindau says:

    That was how we fixed TVs back in the day! 🙂

  20. Wow– you are Batman!

  21. omg…I am so exicted. I am so going to be wearing a tight leather skin-tight suit

  22. valleygirl96 says:

    Awesome! That’s how I fix everything in my classroom, too. Forget calling the janitorial staff. A few weeks ago my projector wouldn’t work so I hit the ceiling. When I figured out it was some bad wiring and holding it just right solved the problem, I jammed a plastic sword up into the ceiling tiles. Classy but effective. If you every decide the writing and bell hopping doesn’t work out you can always become a maintenence man!

  23. Woah, I’m impressed!

  24. giselzitrone says:

    Lieber Hook wünsche dir ein schönes Sonniges Wochenende die Zeit rast wie im Flug Grüsse lieb Gislinde

  25. munchow says:

    You must have something like a magic fist. Oh, I forgot that’s usually the way I repair stuff too… In my country elevator repairmen are among the best paid skilled workers, because repairing elevators is very regulated for obvious reasons. So I certainly would have loved to have “helped” those guys the same way you did. I bet you destroyed their day.

  26. You’re awesome, Hook; and so are your readers. Had me laughing out loud several times.

  27. The Guat says:

    That’s how I fixed my sad cell phone the other day, but it wasn’t as cool as you. Heyyyyyyyyyyyyy. The Fonz….love it!

  28. Cool. (you do realize you are now on speed dial if it starts buzzing again…you probably show up faster than maintenance?)

Leave a Reply

