It’s March Break! The Hook MUST Be Busy, Right?

Wrong.

So, so wrong.

 I have found myself afflicted with a case of the “more-of-the-sames”, a terminal one at that. Between hordes of young adults – in the loosest sense of the word – and modern-day nuclear families, the crowd has been stingy and ungrateful.

This sometimes feels like an Age of Darkness for the hotel biz, folks.

To say the least. Some of the more noteworthy examples of “March Break Madness!” I’ve already witnessed include…

  •  A petite, elderly woman melting down when presented with an extra-large wheelchair. “What the fire truck is this? You think I’m 400 pounds? Never mind the fact that extra-large was very comfortable, not to mention the only one available; she was livid! Her husband even joined in! On the plus side, it’s rare to see spousal solidarity these days…
  • A middle-aged couple – hosebags, both – disagreeing on the most effective way to reduce their seven-year-old to tears while trudging through the lobby dragging their luggage behind them. Dad wanted to scream at the poor little bugger, causing him to wet himself out of fear, while Mom felt brow beating him would leave psychological scars that would last well into adulthood. It’s tough to say which approach was responsible, but the results were identical; the little guy released fluid from his eyelids – and below his waist – without missing a single step.
  • A young “couple” – his name was “John”, hers was whatever he wanted it to be – who went out of their way to display an air of respectability. He wandered around the lobby searching for change – for a five-dollar bill – while she sat on a bench, her back poised straight as an arrow. You’d naturally assume poor posture would be a given for someone who punishes her spine (Among other things!) on a nightly basis, but this young lady could have taught a beauty pageant contestant a thing or two! Unfortunately, the illusion faded once she stood up and her thigh-high boots and shorter-than-short skirt came into view…

 There you have it folks, a cross-generational example of the real-life Gong Show that my life has become. Of course, none of these folks actually bothered me so I can’t really complain.

 I’ll save the criticism for the folks that did inflict some damage upon my all-too fragile psyche…

  •  My first call of the day was so simple it was scary; three guests, three bags… Three dollars. I said it was simple, not monetarily rewarding.
  • I lost the coin toss and “won” my second call; an entire family of George McFlys! Seriously, these folks meant well – I think – but they smiled as they handed me fifteen bags, grinned as I struggled to load said bags into the ‘mini-van from Hell”, and finally, they waved as I staggered away empty-handed.

I could go on, but I’m pretty sure that would simply induce the aneurysm that has been slowly forming in my addled brain for years now…

Let’s wrap this up with an oldie – by now, at least – but a goodie, shall we?

ON A PERSONAL NOTE…

Niagara Falls Comic-Con 2012

June 9. 2012 10 A.M – 7 P.M.
Scotiabank Convention Centre
Niagara Falls. Ontario. Canada

For full details, click here, fan boys and girls!


About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Comic Books, Holidays, Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2012, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to It’s March Break! The Hook MUST Be Busy, Right?

  1. How come crabby old ladies are so cute?!?

  2. wherethedaytakesme says:

    Ahh spring, it sure brings out the bugs.

  3. mairedubhtx says:

    I didn’t think you guys had March break. I thought you had a mid -winter break and Easter break. I feel sorry for the staff at the hotels on South Padre Island in Texas, a popular spot for college crowds. The islands’s population has increased to 150,000 this week. “Spring Break, Baby!” No tips, Baby.

  4. zannyro says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!! You gotta love it!

  5. jlheuer says:

    Have a happy St. Patrick’s Day. Hope you are lucky enough not to work it.

  6. ConnieMaria says:

    Though I can feel your pain through this post I just love the way you describe people!!! You truly have a gift Hook. 😉

  7. rumpydog says:

    Oh joy…. and I thought MY days were bad…..

  8. Sounds like you are getting the worse and worse end of the stick here, Hook! You need a lifestyle change desperately!

    I think the public in ALL countries should celebrate a day called something like “Pay the people you dump on for the rest of the year” That way, all retail, hotel, and food service places will have very happy employees for at least a few hours. OR we should all just not show up for work on the same day and let the management (or the customers) do our jobs. Then, MAYBE they will have an ounce of realization about precisely what we do for them! 🙂

  9. Doesn’t it make you want to turn the tables and march those parents around until they lose their fluids!! Nothing could make me madder. Some just shouldn’t be parents..

  10. susielindau says:

    Happy St. Patty’s Day Hook from an Irish girl in Colorado. May your tip jar be as full as a pot of gold on this fine day!

  11. littlesundog says:

    Love the term “hosebags”… thanks for enlightening me with new vocabulary!

  12. Ink Pastries says:

    You crack me up – great descriptions, but having studied the Law of Attraction, I worry that you will attract more non-tipping “hosebags” (I have to practice focusing on the generous ones myself to attract more into my life) by the fact that you focus on them. So as hard as it is not to use the sharp wit I was blessed with to skewer the stingy, I try to focus on the ones who are NOT stingy. I want more of THEM in my life!!!!

  13. If you’re not getting a big fat ‘tip’ from all the Comic Con advertising you’re doing; well, what can a girl say…! 😉

  14. People. Such strange yet amazing creatures. Always keeps us guessing. And I am completely dumb-founded that people do not tip you. Dumb-founded. Just like eating out… if you don’t want to tip, don’t go to a sit down restaurant. If you don’t want to tip a bell-boy (especially “The Hook”) then go stay at a hotel that does not provide this service. Simple.

  15. dinkerson says:

    I just got back from a conference at the Ft. Worth, TX Omni. It never ceases to amaze me how clueless and backwoods people are, even in such high end hotels. Has nobody learned etiquette? Can people these days not accept a kind gesture for exactly what it is? Does no one know that pajama bottoms at a four-star restaurant are not cool… not cool at all!?

    How do you deal, Hook? Wait, I know! You vent to us! And we’re sure glad that you do. 🙂

  16. Jo Bryant says:

    maybe you should get a bell-boy (what a strange name that is actually) for their brains alone. Boy I bet he’d be kept busy trying to find where these jokers left them.
    😉

  17. Val says:

    Sorry you had to work on Paddy’s Day, Hook! Tomorrow will be better, begorrah!

  18. Gosh that poor kid! Funny you have to have a license to have a dog, but anyone can have a child!
    Hope tomorrow is a better day for you, especially monetarily ; )

  19. renxkyoko says:

    Mr. Hook !

    You’ve been tagged by me ! Please check out my latest entry.

    Cheers !

  20. Woman says:

    The George McFly family!!! Tee hee hee!!!

  21. I was thinking of you when I had to travel to Bergen County, NJ…….not a fan of this place under normal conditions……on Saint Paddy’s Day…..oh forget about it…..the last straw of my day was when a skin head biker yelled at me that I couldn’t drive on the road because he just laid it down…..I would have suggested he put a sign up, but then I realized he wouldn’t be able to write one…….good thing he is able to scream, then…..life is so hard for the ignorant

  22. Did you see the humor in your comment after the lady had the fit about the large wheel chair? “On the plus side” Good one, quite subtle.

  23. I also am quite disturbed by the banning of “Back to the Future” That would be enough to make me move.

  24. You see a lot of hookers in your line of work. Have you ever thought of setting up a sartorial advice line?

  25. munchow says:

    I have been pondering about how to improve your situation. What about a big sticker somewhere on your front saying: “Pay me – or leave me alone. Pay me well – and I’ll do anything for you”. Could that possible help with all those hosebags and what not? Your situation only seems to deteriorate as it is.

  26. TBM says:

    Sorry to hear about your week so far…

  27. Rotten luck these days? Just think– It will get better soon. Affirmations work or so I am told!

  28. Blink says:

    better luck next time hook 😀

  29. Blink says:

    Hey Hook, can you help me with something?
    I would be thankful to you.
    How do I put my award on my WordPress page in the corner… like other people have done with their award.
    I will be waiting for your reply.
    🙂

    • The Hook says:

      Select “Appearance” on the left-hand side of your dashboard and then select “Widgets”.
      There should be a text box you can drag over and you should be able to insert the code of the award in that. I hope!
      I’m still a beginner in some ways when it comes to tech matters!

  30. Smaktakula says:

    Great stuff as always! Regarding the middle-aged couple with differing views as how to best terrorize their child–you must give them this, at least they’re taking an active part in raising their child.

  31. Just found your blog, Hook — LOVE it;-)
    My blog is aimed at clients, so I refrain from trashing the ones who deserve it — makes reading yours all the more enjoyable!!!

    You can call me whatever YOU want , but I am
    Naughty

  32. becca3416 says:

    Mcfly’s!! Priceless.

Leave a Reply

