There’s A Reason Why It’s Called “Family Day”, Not “Fun Day”!

Family Day is the third Monday of February and observed as a public (or statutory) holiday in the three Canadian provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Ontario. (Manitoba celebrates Louis Riel Day and it’s Islander Day in Prince Edward Island.)

In 2012, Family Day falls on Monday, February 20.

Do you know what else falls on Family Day?

The Hook’s hopes of making any money, that’s what. My sanity is also threatened, but what else is new?

Family Day is a “manufactured holiday”, which means some burnt-out civil servant decided to screw with the natural order and create a day for families to “bond”. Sounds great –  in theory.  In reality, Family Day unfolds like this…

  • The fires were still smoldering from Sunday morning check-outs when the horde started to arrive, ready for action!
  • The deck was an absolute NIGHTMARE, with cars parked any which way – order quickly gives way to chaos on Family Day – and guests screaming for the attention of overwhelmed doormen and valet drivers.
  • Some guests just give up and walk away; their vehicles then become a nuisance for hours.
  • The Front Desk line quickly ballooned from four to forty! Our plan to assuage people’s growing frustrations? Cases of warm bottled water. Monogrammed, of course, so people know just who to blame. I rarely criticize my place of business, but we were smokin’ something harmful to cognizant thought when we devised that plan….

And my role in this little drama?

I was the poor bastard who had to weave his cart in and out the bloodthirsty crowd gathered in the lobby with all the skill of Mario Andretti – but none of the glory! Of course, I’m not in this business for the glory… I’m in it for the cold hard cash. And while my pockets were heavy when I clocked out for the day, I had to work twice as hard as should have!

Based solely on the sheer volume of calls and the size of each cart, I should have walked away from Family Day with $200 in my wallet. The ultimate irony of this day is as follows..

  • 25% of our check-ins were groups of young, horny, soon-to-be-blitzed college kids of both genders.
  • Virtually ever family I observed was coming apart at the seams. So much for “family bonding”, right?
  • I didn’t see my own family until 7 P.M. that night, and they certainly didn’t get  my “A Game”!

I’d say “God bless Family Day, but His mighty hand was not evident in this “holiday”.

BREAKING NEWS!

No sooner had I clicked “Save Draft” on this “literary masterpiece”, than I was called a way by duty. I was making my way back inside when I noticed a young Asian woman, mid-30s, running her fingers across the hood of her boyfriend’s car; her face a series of puzzled looks as she rubbed her fingers together.

THE HOOK: It’s frost, miss!

CLUELESS ASIAN: Frost?

Her face became a mixture of anger and confusion. Seriously, she was mad!

CA: Frost? You’re serious?

THE HOOK: Normally, no, but I am now! It’s February, miss… in Canada! Every car on this deck has frost on it!

I left her standing there, bewildered by Mother Nature’s handiwork… and her own stupidity.

ON A PERSONAL NOTE…

Niagara Falls Comic-Con 2012

June 9. 2012 10 A.M – 7 P.M.
Scotiabank Convention Centre
Niagara Falls. Ontario. Canada

For full details, click here, fan boys and girls!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2012, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to There’s A Reason Why It’s Called “Family Day”, Not “Fun Day”!

  1. family day for families on the edge of collapse: come and swap your family with another!

  2. Excuse the lame abbreviation but, LOL @ confused Asian lady!

    I feel like “family days”, “kids eat free”, “kids _____ free” days are used as an excuse for people to forget their manners and how they behave in public. You and I ought to team up and write a book detailing correct behavior towards people in the service industry!

    • The Hook says:

      Sounds like a great plan!

      • Jezzmindah says:

        Oh can I please co-author!?!? This morning I was occosted as I opened by a man who was furious because the girl who closed last night left the “back in 5” signs up from when she’d last took break. He’d been hanging around since 8am thinking the dark lifeless store would be back up and at em in 5. Clueless! It’s pretty common knowledge retail starts at 9am in Australia. Then he held me up for 5 mins after the sale to tell me the same story about his bloody prostate that I’ve heard the last 4 times he’s bought his prostate products. What a way to start the day. Oh dear sweet 5:30pm, hurry quickly to me now!

      • The Hook says:

        Hang in there, my friend! I feel your pain…

  3. jumpingpolarbear says:

    What’s the most chaotic “holiday” at your job? Seems “family day” is quite stressful.

  4. susielindau says:

    Frost! Hahaha! She should come to Colorado and we’ll really shock her!

  5. kewsmith says:

    In January I walked out to go somewhere and my car was covered in frost. We’ve had an incredible mild Winter and I hadn’t allowed time to ‘defrost’ my car. Crazy, huh? Any other January, I would have expected it.

  6. twindaddy says:

    Wow, Family Day sounds like St. Patrick’s Day here.

  7. iamnotshe says:

    Frost is very upsetting to me too 😉 Man o man, i hope you at least got $200 for that sweaty bunch. EW! m

  8. Sucks that your family day had to be spent with horrid families. Sorry 😦

  9. countoncross says:

    I don’t think we should have a day to have family time…..we try to do that all the time. We do travel sports with our kids, so each week of the year is family time…..I love that!

  10. Too bad it wasn’t “Take your family to work day.” Maybe they’d appreciate you even more!

  11. mairedubhtx says:

    Your Family Day probably competes with our American President’s Day which falls on the same day so you can get tourist from both sides of the river. No one on this side has suggested such a holiday here, probably because no one really gives a frack about families.

  12. jennygoth says:

    you should have a hook day and chill nice to be back il be catching up soon hook xxjen

  13. Jo Bryant says:

    She was mad about frost ???
    Interesting…very interesting…

  14. rweinstein6 says:

    It seems she was more perplexed by the frost than mad about it. Although with the warm winter we’re having this year, I might be just as perplexed…

  15. munchow says:

    Haven’t I always said that those manufactured holidays are just increasing the problem they are suppose to build a bridge over. Family bonding? As if that can be order like any other cake or cup of coffee. I am glad I didn’t had to show your kind of patience. I guess the frost might have helped to chill you down.

  16. Caroline says:

    I actually had no idea ‘family day’ existed–oops. Sorry the day was crazy. You should have just gone home and done nothing. That woulda shown them! haha

  17. Woman says:

    “Family Day”??? Seriously.

    You mean there is now an extra holiday for families???? *facepalm*

  18. Seriously, The title of this made me laugh so hard all I could think was “This needs to be on a bumper sticker” !

  19. Yikes, what a day! Sorry your family got the short end…oh well. Hopefully, it is all better now?

  20. Someone probably thought that in order to fix families, they ought to create a day for them. However, as we know, when the government does anything like this it usually ends up being just a day to be stupid. Good times indeed.

  21. mj monaghan says:

    No idea what frost is?? What the heck? And what’s with the crazy college kids on “Family Day?” That makes no sense.

    http://www.mjmonaghan.com

  22. Someone I used to know, used to say, that most families were dysfunctional. Seeing as I come from a happy home, I said no, that’s bullshit. But is it? ARE they dysfunctional or maybe just the ones you see in hotels?

  23. Seems the difference between the ‘theoretical’ and the ‘practical’ can sometimes be verrrry wide Hook…!

  24. TBM says:

    Ah this post brings back so many memories of traveling with my family when I was a kid…I think I need to call my therapist now.

  25. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir ein schönes weekend und Grusse dich lieb Gislinde.

  26. Val says:

    What do you think might have happened if you said ‘frosting’?

  27. The Hobbler says:

    My family gets along best when we are apart…absence makes the heart grow fonder right?

  28. breezyk says:

    As an east coast transplant with no family in toronto, I hate family day!
    Ps you’ve been tagged! http://breezyk.wordpress.com

  29. Smaktakula says:

    Great post! I had no idea such a holiday existed (ensconced, as I am, in my red, white & blue all-American ignorance). It seems Canadians have a Hallmark (or should that be Hallmarke?) holiday all their own!

  30. The Guat says:

    Pretty hilarious my friend 🙂 “Virtually every family I observed was coming apart at the seams” … Awesome. Sounds like Chevy Chase was up in that mix. Actually sounds like every family vacation we went on…there was always a day when someone exploded 😉

    On a side note…I know I just “got hooked” last month, but I wasn’t aware of any posts where you mention that you were a comic book fan. Will you be writing a post about your adventure at the convention? Or maybe a post of the undercover bellman who’s really Batman? Can’t wait to see…

    • The Hook says:

      I’m very happy to report I now have media cred for the convention! Stay tuned….

      • HoaiPhai says:

        You need a “press photographer”?

        As for Family Day… what a waste of a day off (I work nights, weekends, and holidays so I don’t get it off anyway)… nothing spells family fun like a long weekend in a Canadian February! They should have tacked an extra day onto either the 2-4 Holiday, Canada Day, or the Civic Holiday (I own two Hondas… Acuras actually, so I already get to take two days off for that).

      • The Hook says:

        I’ll let you know…

  31. Raven of Leyla says:

    I am laughing as I type a comment to your published masterpiece! You told this CA “normally no but I am now” LMAO…it’s February in Canada, love those moments.
    Family Day should be changed to something like “Comic Con Weekend” 😀

  32. mizqui says:

    Awesome. My abs are tighter post that laughable read. You’re the best HOOK – and I love going to work with you.

    Living Vicariously,
    Qui
    …and YES – I’m still Hooked!

  33. jlheuer says:

    Soon it will be St Patrick’s Day. That should be interesting. Or doesn’t Canada get into this drinking holiday?

  34. The Hobbler says:

    I was wondering if you might help me out…El Guapo and Edward Hotspur gave me quite a bad time the other day, and I thought it might be fun if some of us bloggers who frequently see their sites would mention “conspiracy” or some form of the word in any comment we make on their blog tomorrow. The idea is to get them thinking that it is weird that so many people are talking about conspiracies…but we should still be subtle enough that they won’t figure out there really is a conspiracy to quickly.

  35. Pingback: The Scorpion Queen « For You, Daddy!

Leave a Reply

