It’s Friday The 13th! Sucks To Be The Hook, Right?

 

Friday the 13th Book icon
Image via Wikipedia

Well, yes and no.

 This was the basic framework of my day…

  • The first major snowstorm of 2012. Blowing snow and icy conditions but not the major “Snowpocalypse” the weather forecasters were calling for. Now these guys are douchebags; they’re wrong most of the time but they never face any consequences!
  • It was dead – again! But what else is new, right?
  • My lobby started out as warm as a walk-in freezer – again! I can picture another “Patient Zero” post in my future! 
  • No calls for the first two-and-a-half hours!

Finally, I got a check-in – at 10:30 am! Fortunately, the two businessmen were able to move in – thank you Front Desk – and their joy translated to a decent tip for yours truly. 

The rush was on!

One hour later, call #2! What a pace, right? At least it was another cool, down-to-earth businessman. My next call was anything but cool..

It was downright freezing!

I found myself standing in the path of winter’s windy fury as an old lady who insisted she bought a Pacifica because “It’s a high-end deluxe vehicle”, attempted to unlock the trunk! After fifteen attempts, she got smart! She ran inside and let me unload everything by lifting it over the back seat and out the side door.

I said she got smart, I didn’t say I did.

Chrysler Pacifica

Image via Wikipedia

I made my way back inside met up with her friend and their husbands – who were nowhere to be found when there was work to be done – and scribbled down their room number before I found myself forced to go back outside to load up two more vehicles!

Long, cold story short, I delivered the bags, listened to another sales pitch/lecture about the Pacifica and suppressed my desire to throttle the old bird.

Fortunately she tipped me well, so she wouldn’t have deserved the throttling after all. My next call, however did deserve much more than a throttling.

Two yuppie businessmen arrived – yes, I said yuppie – with luggage for their entire group. It took what felt like forever to load. We sorted everything out – of course the cases of beer came out after the bags, necessitating an order change in the cart’s loading structure – and that’s when the rest of their group arrived.

I’m used to annoying business-class guests but some are a cut below the rest! These people were dim-witted, loud and disorganized. I put the effort in – in the cold – and when we get inside, they remove everything and take it up themselves! I didn’t even receive a “Thank you, maggot!”

Not cool.

I accept the parts of my job I can’t control.

  • The heat in the summer, the cold in the winter.
  • The long wait as a guest attempts to get themselves together.
  • Being forced to reorganize a cart over and over and over!

I just prefer a guest try to be organized, especially a corporate guest who makes their living through the efficient implementation of people skills. I’m sure they don’t want to be exposed to the elements for any longer than they have to; I know I sure don’t! And common courtesy never hurts either.

That’s all for now, gentle readers. Here’s a serene image to close out this installment…

Pacifica shoreline during the 1983 El Niño

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2012, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to It’s Friday The 13th! Sucks To Be The Hook, Right?

  1. susielindau says:

    Send the snow my way PLEASE!!!
    Sorry your Friday the 13th sucked big time. So did mine. Thank God it’s the 15th!!

  2. Hate days like that, and ungrateful guests! Like you said, you accept the things you cannot control. Sometimes I really hate having to do that.

  3. littlesundog says:

    Hmm, as usual I thought my day sucked until you revealed the content of yours. I went to have some blood work done at the local clinic, only to have two different nurses try and fail 7 times, leaving me with two bruised up arms. I had to leave, promising to come back this next week when nurse #3, the best they’ve got, will be back to work. At least it won’t be Friday the 13th this time! Maybe your week will be better too!

  4. Gillian Colbert says:

    Ooh! That definitely sucked … sending warm thoughts your way!

  5. iamnotshe says:

    It’s hard to accept the parts of one’s job you can’t control … but it makes work “life” easier going … m

  6. Yatin says:

    I made travel plans without knowing about it, a friend reminded me about it a day before, still continued with the plans, apart from nasty traffic didn’t head into anything major. Survived to comment on your post.

  7. jennygoth says:

    keep the snow hook but keep snug xxjen

  8. It’s so good for me to read your perspective on things… hope I won’t bungle everything up the next time I travel:)

  9. Common courtesy— I wonder if that hangs out on the weekends with common sense. It seems they are never around when you need them.

  10. jlheuer says:

    Keep the snow up there. Ah nuts, I just noticed some of it trickled over the border.

  11. Jo Bryant says:

    i am storing up all these things for when i next travel…hehehehehe

  12. I got a wisdom tooth yanked Friday if that makes you feel any better – or less alone in your hardship?? 😉 My day went smoothly regardless, though, AND I had ice cream for lunch… so I suppose it doesn’t count.

    Love the image, Hook. Stormy, the way I like it.

  13. mLr says:

    Oh dear it seems we are all pining for a return of that old common courtesy thing….sadly it is conspicuous in it’s absence… Hope the weather warms up for you soon too!!

  14. El Guapo says:

    Happy thoughts, Hook. Happy thoughts.
    And hopefully the decent tippers will keep you busy and make it worth your while…

  15. Friday the 13th was snowy here too .. Kids all had a snow day (no school) so I was snowed in with four high energy kids hopped up on Oreos and Kool-aid. However it sounds like a walk in the park compared to your day. Hope things go better tomorrow and that the weather (and the guests) are a little warmer! 🙂

  16. Barb says:

    Okay…you win for crummy Friday the 13th. At least you lived through it (unlike the movies of the same name.). Hopefully the 14th will be so stupendous it’ll make up for it. Maybe some snow ?

  17. oh poor Hook, you need to freeze out the bad guests, give them the icy stare.

  18. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Wow…some people are just…such…********! (ahem), I mean, so ungrateful and so inconsiderate! Lol…

    All kidding aside, Hook, I really feel for you. You have a tough job; you have to deal with a lot and put up with a lot, and I know that I could never do it myself. I could never put up with what you have to put up with. That takes a really thick skin, a really tough spirit, resilience, and an excellent sense of humor as well as the flexibility to just follow things as they go along and not get too angry or stressed out about any one particular little thing. You deserve a medal, Hook! The champion of bellmen.
    I hope that if I ever happen to visit your hotel, wherever it is, I will have the fortune of recognizing you and saying hello. It takes real strength to put up with so much crap and maltreatment from guests like you do, but you seem to take it all in stride and roll with the punches. I guess it really helps to have an excellent sense of humor and an outlet to share it all with us here on WordPress! 🙂

    • The Hook says:

      The positive feedback certainly doesn’t hurt, either! I truly appreciate all my subcscribers – especially those of you who take the time to comment! I know it takes A LOT of time to read others’ blogs and even more time to write back, so I truly value blogging freinds like you!

  19. raisingdaisy says:

    I’ll never understand why people don’t put themselves in the shoes of others – those businessmen who made you do all that work and then took their stuff themselves and stiffed you would probably never accept such behavior in their own lines of work. Let them get it back ten-fold, I say!

  20. mairedubhtx says:

    The serenity was nice.

  21. Why do people bring cases of beer to a hotel. Is your place dry or something ? The Temperance Rest ?

  22. Unloading luggage because she can’t get the back door open? Just when you think it can’t get any sillier. Hope this week goes better. ( Snow seems to be all in the wrong place this year)

  23. I would feel guilty, finding amusement in your rotten day, except I know that you will laugh at all my mis-steps as well !!!! Though I appreciate the serene image at the closing, its going to take more than that for me today !

    • The Hook says:

      You shouldn’t feel guilty at all; my horrfic experiences are out there for your amusement! That’s why I document them in the first place!

  24. Androgoth says:

    Well I rather enjoyed Friday the 13th, but then again
    I always do, thirteen is my lucky number you know 🙂
    However those guests that you have to put up with…
    Well they would spoil anyone’s day me thinks? 😦

    I hope today has been a wicked one though…

    Androgoth

  25. jakesprinter says:

    I love to invite you here and co bloggers http://wp.me/P1Dwwo-jn

  26. dinkerson says:

    Hey hook. Sorry man. Did the old hag at least let you drive that wicked car around the parking lot? I think that might’ve made the whole thing worth it.
    I was stuck in St. Louis when they predicted that the polar ice caps were converging upon us. I even reserved my room for an additional two days. I was working and didn’t even look outside for a whole day, thus I felt really foolish when I went out the next day and found only little more than a dusting of snow.

  27. dinkerson says:

    I really only just realized that the word “wicked” has been used overused in recent comments. It just popped into my head as soon as I saw that friggin’ sick car!

  28. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Hook – so many comments! Took me ages to get to the bottom of the page. I don’t know how you deal with it actually – after a day’s work to see 53 comments (at the time of me writing). Like, huge…

    ANYhooow, the 13th, the Friday, it was normal for me – work & so on. But your job FREEEEEZING. And getting all the gear over the back seat WHAT A PAIN! (I wonder if you work out at the gym, & were busted already). It would be hard on the back.

    It would so annoy me to have to listen to people like you have to. I’m just not so sure I could do it! GOOD ONYA!

  29. I have to say my Friday 13th was pretty normal but it’s freezing over here right now so bring on the warm weather please!

  30. Ipodman says:

    Cool story, Hook! I didn’t even know it was Friday the 13th o.O

  31. I love Friday the 13th. 13 is my favourite number, and I was there for that first snowstorm. Blog post to follow later today.

  32. Not even a yuppie thank you! Great post 🙂

  33. SidevieW says:

    there are 3 Friday 13th’s this year.

  34. ConnieMaria says:

    People can be so inconsiderate – a thank you can go a long way. Ay ya ya 😛 Damn yuppies 😀

  35. munchow says:

    As Friday the 13th goes, this one surely sucks. Seems like there are enough suckers out there to make your life miserable even when it’s slow. I guess you have no say over the guests coming to your hotel. Wouldn’t that have been nice? May things soon start to warm up for you!

  36. brittany220 says:

    Wow all that freezing weather sounds intense! It’s finally starting to get colder here and we had some frost in the morning today, but it’s nowhere near like your weather. That’s what’s nice about California. 🙂 Even though it is not sunny and warm all the time at all like people think.

  37. Val says:

    The ‘old bird’s’ husband and friends couldn’t wait to get out of that car, they had their own Friday the 13th nightmare on the journey down!

  38. eva626 says:

    LOL…thanks for the image at the end…really helps with all that bombardment of chaos!

  39. Jackie Paulson says:

    Chicago Il has had the least amount of snow for our year of 2011-2012. The older I get the more I hate the cold. Oh thanks for being so kind as to leave a comment on my blogs..you truly made my day…. xoxo

  40. lorrelee1970 says:

    Pretty mild for Friday the 14th. No one got killed, did they?

  41. The last image gave a sense of comfort and peace after a long day of craziness. I have my share of bad Friday the 13th in the past. Days I kind of erased in my thoughts. One thing common in all of them is that it will pass….and a new beginning, a new hope awaits. And yes, to find humor with the entire event will make things a lot more easier. I even have days when it’s Friday the 13th and full moon….crazier! But hey, we are still all here, ready to face tomorrow . Have a fun weekend.

  42. sonsothunder says:

    No, No, you seem a little unnerved in this post…In fact, even your serenity scene appears a bit stormy. I have just the thing to cheer you up, have you considered taking a nice long…Test drive in the “High-End Luxury Deluxe Family Station-wagon Pacifica”? Of course, you may have to ride the luggage rack up top, Just till we figure out how to open hatch of course…

    Nah, that probably wouldn’t help your stress any come to think of it…Hey, I know…come and pick up your “Reader Appreciation Award”.. You deserve it. Thanks for being a friend.
    paul

  43. Ad@m says:

    I love how you translate your job into an ongoing tale of intrigue! Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

