“Aww, That’s The Cutest Luggage EVER!”

I’ve seen it all.

Or at least, it sure feels that way at times.

But Sundays have a way of twisting the ordinary into the bizarre, and my latest excursion into the wildest day of the week was no exception. Check-outs were done; the crowd had laid waste to the rooms and the lobby – as per the norm – and a wave of calm spread across my little slice of Heaven.

Yeah, right. More like the calm before the storm. In this case it was more like a sudden rain shower – of the strange.

I made my way outside to assist a young, well-to-do couple with minimal belongings..

  • 1 backpack.
  • 2 duffel bags.
  • 1 small hanging bag.
  • 1 pair of shoes.
  • 1 shirt – loose and wrinkled.

And when I turned my back, the gentleman added an “item” while the lady beat a hasty retreat inside – it was freezing out!

  • 1 baby girl – in a closed-over car carrier and bundled up in a Toronto Maple Leafs baby “sleeping bag-type deal”!

And so I stood there for a very long half-second (it’s possible!), before I headed inside – slowly. I don’t think I’ve ever exercised more caution with a bell cart, I can tell you that! We met up with Mommy inside and after a moment of chatting, she took off again – this time to the Front Desk!

As I began to follow her, one of the valet supervisors was aghast at the concept of “Bell Service for Toddlers” and he made his feelings known – loudly!

“What are you doing? You can’t take a baby on the cart!’

Fortunately Mommy was out of earshot, but the staff loved the ridiculousness of the entire situation! I made my way to the Front Desk and waited while Mommy checked-in. My presence didn’t yield as many strange looks as one would have expected; people are too used to the unusual these days – I blame the Kardashians – but after Mommy was ready we stood in the lobby and waited for “Daddy of the Year” to arrive.

Guests began to filter by and one young, bubbly female couldn’t help but squeal with delight at the sight of my cart – and its sole occupant, her little fist shoved in her mouth!

“That’s the cutest luggage EVER!”  

Daddy Dearest returned and we all made our way upstairs – protocol be damned, I wasn’t using the service elevator this time – and I slooowly rolled my precious cargo down the hall while her parents raced ahead. I unloaded the luggage while Mommy and Daddy marveled at the view. Finally one item remained and I had to request assistance in unloading it!

Should a stranger really need to ask you to remove your child from a luggage cart? Seriously? Still, they weren’t bad people, just more than a little addle-brained.

I’ll say this for them: they certainly were trusting

ONE LAST THING…

The Hook’s wife, VampireLover, has decided to throw her hat in the blogging ring with a site devoted to her passion (not vampires!), crafting! She’s new to this blogging business so she’ll be posting infrequently at first, but the idea is to share patterns and ideas with like-minded crafty individuals. So if any of you have any suggestions or links to share, feel free to drop by The Crafty Mother and tell her The Hook sent you!

I’m sure I’ll need brownie points for something soon!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to “Aww, That’s The Cutest Luggage EVER!”

  1. Dave says:

    What a great story!

  2. eva626 says:

    You should write a series of books on your life!

  3. melsar93 says:

    I hope that they paid the ransom gave you a good tip.

  4. susielindau says:

    What are people thinking! I was such a control freak when my kids were babies. I am glad that you didn’t have any mishaps while transporting the “precious cargo!”
    Great post!

  5. littlesundog says:

    What a lovely and heart-warming holiday story. The Hook made us feel all warm and fuzzy today. Great post!

  6. El Guapo says:

    Nice to know there’s always someone who can shock us out of our jaded reality.
    Ok, maybe not so nice after all…

  7. Wow…babies as luggage…glad they got you, Hook, and not a rougher compatriot!

    Wendy

  8. kewsmith says:

    Maybe not bad people but maybe not great parents.

  9. mindslam says:

    Love the new look Hook.

  10. raisingdaisy says:

    You’re very kind and generous calling these two lunatics “addle brained” and “trusting”. I’m a mom, and I’d call them self-centered and neglectful.They were only just lucky that The Hook was caring for their baby and not someone who didn’t have daddy instincts! I’ve never known a mom to turn her back on her baby like that. If they want a vacation from Baby, they should have entrusted her to a grandparent or aunt. Hopefully they won’t leave her in the care of the maid while they go to the spa!

  11. Woman says:

    You are a good man!!!! And some people should just not be parents.

    When I clicked on your page I actually thought I was in the wrong place as it didn’t look like your page!!!! But I do like the clean layout you have here.

  12. mairedubhtx says:

    You certainly had precious cargo to transport. The parents were quite trusting of you, weren’t they, or else they were just clueless. I dropped by your wife’s site. It’s cute.

  13. jakesprinter says:

    Great,Great Story I love it 🙂

  14. Gillian Colbert says:

    These same people will be crying why me when that baby gets snatched.

  15. eyeLaugh says:

    I’m excited for your wife’s blog!

  16. ftfagos says:

    addle-brained is right

  17. Great new look. Very seasonal! Will check out your wife’s blog – it sounds exciting!

  18. brittany220 says:

    Haha wow, baby on the bell cart. At least it gave you an interesting new experience to write about! 🙂 That’s cool that your wife is joining the ranks of the blogging world too!

  19. Utterly amazing. I don’t believe you could make this up. On the one hand, it’s good to know that you obviously look trustworthy and like “parent-material” or some such thing. On the other hand, it’s almost like, to them, the thought of leaving their baby with you was like laying the carseat against a wall, which I suppose would be fine (though demeaning to you), if either idiot had stayed with you the WHOLE TIME!! But actually, I agree with the people who say they were completely clueless. Did they even look you in the eye before they dropped her off?

  20. Life as Mia says:

    Oh my….. Im speechless..
    If I had a child, EVER, I would not let some guy carry her around on a cart, what the *beep* were they thinking? Damn, they treated that baby like she was a canarian in a cage…. o.O” Scary…

    Great post btw..

  21. Cindy says:

    Good grief, addled doesn’t begin to describe them :O

  22. munchow says:

    Cute luggage? I am astonished. I wonder how cute the parents would have looked like, if they had trusted the luggage to someone less responsible and conscientious than you. But an appropriate story for the season, but I think the baby who was left in a crib had much more attention…

  23. Jo Bryant says:

    Well Hook you seem like a lovely fella and all, but there is no way I’d trust MY baby to a cart and man I didn’t know – seriously what a pair of feathered headed loons…

  24. nicole says:

    LOL! how much does one tip for transporting a child on the cart? i viewed the film ‘young adult’ last night and thought of you! charlize theron’s character maintained her dog in a juicy couture bag, checking into a hampton inn with her. of course there was nobody of your capacity to assist her, but i thought of you nonetheless. your blog is that interesting to me! thank you for entertaining we the readers! x

  25. oldancestor says:

    So what happens when they are at the airport????

  26. hotelnerd says:

    My best Bellman check-in story involves a lesbian couple and something in their luggage that made the entire bell cart vibrate so much that it would roll on it’s own if the bellman didn’t keep a hand on it…..most….awkward…check-in….ever

    • The Hook says:

      The entire cart shook? How powerful a vibrator did these women need? Were they Amazons like Wonder Woman?
      You have to recount that tale on your blog!

  27. Raven says:

    Sometimes going with the flow of the situation is good for the us all. Charmed story…you were a kind one on that day. 😀
    Enjoy the moment!
    Raven xox

  28. Blink says:

    how can people be so careless about their children.
    *phew*
    but no doubt hook you show great concern towards children! 🙂
    and
    now im headingg towards your wife’s blog

  29. Don’t tell the Sec. of Transportation – they might start insisting luggage carts have seatbelts / shoulder straps and then it’ll be air bags …

  30. I have a formal request hook – I want to know the nationality of these guests! I find as you tell your stories I end up thinking pondering: Americans? Canadians? Aussies? Eccentric Polish people? Ah, but you make me laugh 🙂

  31. SidevieW says:

    definitely cute, but who ARE those people?

  32. The parents, were so trusting it sounds crazy. Good thing they had you!

  33. o.O

    I’m glad that baby landed you, for a few moments of nigh-certain safety! Would that you could be there for the rest . . .

  34. You could put a 70’s spin on your wife’s blog title.
    Intro music……Crafty Mother…..watch ‘yo mouth ……dramatic end music. At least
    it plays like that in my head

  35. hahhaha whattttttttttttttttttttt??? I’m all for people being trusting, because it’s gone from today’s society, but that’s more over the line of obviously horrible parenting than a trust issue. The mom’s attention spans and thought processes I can completely picture as bubbly now as the climax unfolds where upon seeing her precious little infant on a cart she giggles with glee over this cute luggage rather than being hysterical about why her baby is on a cart that could so easily have dropped her a few feet down to her timely (and dad to blame) death. time to implement my common sense policy again…. one swift hit with a bat to the dad, and maybe the mom in this case too due to her reaction…. not to seriously hurt them, but kind of like a grown-ups deserving Knuckle-Sammich to keep them in-line

    • The Hook says:

      I couldn’t agree more! In retrospect, I should have refused to take part in this travesty, but I think I was reeling from shock.

  36. vedekdrew says:

    What happened to Mrs Hook? http://thecraftymother.wordpress.com has been deleted.

  37. Funny, funny, funny. I love your writing style. Consider me a new fan!!!

Leave a Reply

