Meet The Hook’s Champion!

I’m no expert, but I believe the stars and planets were in perfect alignment on Sunday, November 27 at 10:33 am when I found myself at the heart of a cosmic event.

A GUEST STOOD UP FOR THE HOOK!

The best part? I didn’t even solicit her defensive action in any way, she simply rose to the challenge and earned my undying devotion in the process. Here’s the skinny…

ANOTHER CRAZY SUNDAY…

Of course, the lobby is packed with hung over, sweaty, sexually frustrated twentysomethings, crazy families and the rest of the usual suspects. They’re all pacing back and forth, cursing everyone else for their failure to get their sorry asses out of bed early enough to avoid the check-out rush.

Nothing unusual so far, right? Par for the course.

I get a call, head upstairs and meet a nice married couple in their thirties. They seemed pleasant – a big plus for a Sunday – but unassuming. We meet up downstairs after we both encounter long lines for our individual elevators (again, par for the course) and I realize their car is nowhere to be found. The bellman receives priority service for cars he requests – in order to expedite the seemingly endless line of cars – but something went haywire this time around.

That’s when things got interesting.

After a few minutes of waiting on the valet deck, the wife sent her hubby inside to assess the situation; the poor guy just shuffled around as the line for the Valet Desk moved slooowly…

Wifey wasn’t having any of that. She marched inside, grabbed their tag from him and moved to the front of the line!

AWESOME FEMALE GUEST: (Addressing the Valet supervisor)  What do you mean the car isn’t here? Our bellman called for it! He has other people to help!

It should be noted that her temper only flared after it became clear the Valet department was at fault. She was actually a very nice young lady.

And so we chatted while the crowd grew and the cars continued to pull up; but not their car. We waited a few more minutes.. and a few more… and then since we were getting so good at it, we waited some more! Finally, the supervisor came out with their keys and an apology, which the husband readily accepted with an “That’s all right.”. She, however, was not amused.

AFG: This is not all right! This guy has more rooms to help. He could have been making more money instead of standing here in the cold! Are you going to cover his lost tips?

The supervisor, completely emasculated, made sure to tuck in his tail as he quickly scurried back inside to face even more ridicule from angry guests. It’s not easy running a Valet department in a thousand-room hotel, especially on a Sunday.

Getting back to me though, I followed my champion and her hubby to their car where she shed some light on her behavior.

AFG: I used to work in the hospitality industry, so I understand what you’re going through. You’re trying to make a buck and these guys messed up the works!

She actually used a different word, but “messed up” is WordPress-friendly, so there you go!

THE HOOK: In their defense, there a million variables that can work against me on any given day; it was just their turn to be one of them, I guess.

AFG: You’re being diplomatic. The screwed up, plain and simple! I don’t know how you stayed so calm. Still it’s over, so here you go. (hands me a big tip!) We’ll see you soon.

THE HOOK: I write a blog, so my frustrations are reserved for the internet. You’ll be going in there as soon as I can make the time. Thanks again!

AFG: Sounds good to me!

And so we parted ways, the cosmic moment passing as suddenly as it occurred. The rest of the day was uneventful – fortunately! I think it’s safe to say I’ll never see the likes of my champion again; people who rise to the defense of service personnel are as rare as honest politicians or well-adjusted pop stars.

Nevertheless, the memory will keep me smiling for days. Seriously.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Meet The Hook’s Champion!

  1. jlheuer says:

    It’s so nice to meet someone who has walked in your shoes, even better when they champion your cause. Did the valet supervisor ever mention the situation to you?

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    Ah yes, it’s people like that who make it all worthwhile! Keep her in mind when you’re dealing with the next DB! LOL 😉

  3. Jo says:

    Awesome! I needed the chuckle and the confirmation that yes, there are truly some amazing folks left in the world.

  4. nice story. I think people need to speak up more like her. We are so into “not making a scene” but sometimes there needs to be scenes.

  5. My favorite days at the barbecue pit I work at are the ones when the customers I deal with every week tell the *insert profane and colorful words here* customers to *insert more profanity here* and be on their way.

    The even better days are when the owner does it for them! He doesn’t tolerate nonsense.

    It is refreshing to hear that there are others out there in other industries who know how to stick-it to those who make our lives difficult! So glad you met one of them! And, I hope you meet many more in your employment there.

  6. munchow says:

    So many interesting encounters – and surprises – good or bad – at your place. You must be a big fan of Fawlty Towers? At least not all guests are angry female guests.

  7. mindslam says:

    That is so cool. You run into good people every now & then. Glad this one was there for you my friend.

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    I like this woman – this crazy world we are now in where everyone stands back and watches drives me batty. No-one grabs the wheel anymore to keep the bus in the right lane because they are waiting to see if someone else will. It is my pet hate – so in my eyes AFG rocks !!!
    🙂

  9. hotelnerd says:

    Another rarity is the guest that acts like a complete ass, but comes back to apologize later. Just about as rare as the guest that rises to our defense Hook.

  10. In life we have the good and the bad, unfortunately it’s “Murphys Law.”

  11. Caroline says:

    Nice to hear about a guest that stands up for you AND gives a generous tip!! I feel like I could be good friends with that woman.

  12. Dave says:

    I love the name “Awesome Female Guest”.

  13. littlesundog says:

    My first real job was waitressing at a rural (I’m talking in-the-country rural) fly-in airport restaurant/ballroom . Yes, those places exist, this one happened to be in Nebraska… and we can boast Lawrence Welk once played there! I have always had an appreciation for those who serve the public. It would behoove most school systems to require a semester of some type of restaurant or public service position. I understood the hard work and diplomatic appeal that went into a day. I am the “Awesome Female Guest” and citizen wherever I go because of that. Service personnel ROCK in my book!!

  14. jakesprinter says:

    You’re my champion 🙂

  15. bearshouse says:

    I work as an ER nurse, similar to service industry. We get thank you’s kind of a lot but only after a family or patient has shown their a*s. and usually only after we fix the problem.
    -symapthy-

    • The Hook says:

      ER nurses – and nurses in general – are NEVER shown the respect they deserve. You folks heal us in mind and body. You’re all true heroes.

  16. I agree… it is so rare (unfortunately) that people stand up and get vocal about what is right. It doesn’t always get results but I feel it’s important that the message is said:) Glad you were taken care of!

  17. Gillian Colbert says:

    Hey there … champions are rare. I’m glad you got one!

    P.S. Hi there .. I’m paying forward a Liebster award

  18. Good morning Hook….so all humans are not douche bags…just most of them. 🙂

  19. TBM says:

    It’s nice when someone stands up for you. Good for her.

  20. yaykisspurr says:

    It’s so refreshing when someone treats you unusually well, isn’t it! Good for her. Glad to hear not all your escapades are of the negative variety!

  21. brittany220 says:

    Whoa either I’m going crazy or your page is snowing! Neat! How’d you do that? And I’m glad someone stood up for you! There are good people in this world for sure! 🙂 That’s awesome that she gave you a big tip too!

    • The Hook says:

      Got to SETTINGS – GENERAL on your dashboard and click on “make it snow” or whatever it’s called. It’s provided by WordPress and it lasts until January. I know there are good people out there, Brittany; I’ve met bloggers like you haven’t I?
      And the big tip rocks, too!

  22. It’s snowing on your blog, at least I think that is what it is…either that or I am having a brain aneurysm…

  23. Go ahead, make my day!

  24. Klextin says:

    Thank you for such an awesome blog and perspective, I also have to thank you for the 2 equally awesome bloggers I have found as a result of your work. A smile Like The Sun and The world according to Woman, both well written ane very entertaining and each on wordpress.

  25. Woot! That’s a nice twist to the same old routine 😀

  26. Pingback: $25 for Five Express Plus Car Washes at Valet Car Wash (Up to $50 Value). Four Locations Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  27. El Guapo says:

    Having worked as a waiter, and other jobs in restaurants for over a decade, I still appreciate (and remember) some of the guests who were as cool as you describe.
    Pity it’s generally the exception…

  28. Aww that’s so awesome man! You deserved that because you put up with so much crap!

  29. eyeLaugh says:

    What a nice story 🙂

  30. Awesome Female Guest and post! I love how she called out the Valet Supervisor.

Leave a Reply

