Remembered But Not Forgotten.

At 4 am on November 11, we received the phone call we had been dreading; Aunt Pat had left this world behind.

She spent her last night surrounded by family who could do nothing but watch as she clung to the last flickering embers of life. Twenty-four hours earlier she had been given what amounted to a death sentence by her doctor – the man entrusted with her care, yet he had only made a few brief visits to her hospital room – and she had to convey the news to those who had been holding out hope for a miracle.

“He said I’m not going to get any better.” were her exact words, a sobering reminder of how quickly we can be brought down by a simple sentence.

I don’t know how to properly honor Aunt Pat; how can I use a few words to pay a fitting tribute to someone who lived a good, clean life and raised a family? She always had a smile at the ready and she jumped to my defense whenever my wife or daughter would tease me. Aunt Pat acted like my biggest fan and I’ll always think of her whenever I wrestle with the many challenges that accompany parenthood.

She valued family above all else; she was the prototypical mom, always there to babysit, cook, clean or juggle a million other duties at once. Her sibling bond with my father-in-law was a sight to behold. How many sisters and brothers can claim they hung out every day in their golden years? They were inseparable.

Nothing will ever be the  same in our family; her absence has left a void that cannot be ignored. Still, we were blessed to have known her. I don’t think it was mere coincidence that she left us on a day reserved for honoring heroes.

Godspeed, Aunt Pat, we love you.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Remembered But Not Forgotten.

  1. hotelnerd says:

    Well said Hook. My condolences to you and your family.

  2. At this juncture, I can only imagine your pain and hurt. Sincerest apologies and many blessings to you and your family in this challenging time of grief.

    -KEB

  3. We grieve, we go on, but we never forget and we never stop missing. The best legacy she can leave is the love you pass around to each other.

  4. mindslam says:

    Sorry for your loss man. Hope you have a much better week ahead.

  5. A sad day… sorry for your loss. She sounds like a wonderful person, taken too soon. Thinking of you Hook.

  6. spicegirlfla says:

    I do believe this post did as you intended and honored someone you love and brought her life into so many others just reading this. She must have been a wonderful person and how lucky for you to have had her in your life, as she in yours.

  7. eva626 says:

    Sorry for the loss, Hook. Hope all is well.

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    I was sorry to hear that you have suffered another loss so quickly in your life. But you know what really struck me – the great bonds spreading out from your family. In every direction there is love and joy, and sadly the loss that comes when we lose that – but, how lucky are you to have these wonderful relationships enter your world…take care, and know that you are blessed, even though it does not feel that way at the moment.
    (((hugs))) to you and yours…

  9. I’m so sorry.

    You’ve lit a candle, in your memory and your readers’ hearts, by sharing these words.

  10. nicole says:

    gwendolyn and i are so sorry for your loss. x

  11. Cindy says:

    My sympathies for your loss xxx

  12. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  13. raisingdaisy says:

    I’m SO sorry to hear of your loss, Hook. My prayers are with you. You gave a written eulogy that would make Aunt Pat well up – it certainly did that to me. I’m sure she was proud to have you as her nephew. You were certainly blessed to have had her in your lives.

  14. Aneesa says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss… but you have honoured her in more ways than one… by talking about her and telling us what a lovely person she was… she must have been proud to have a nephew like you… 🙂

  15. Tori Nelson says:

    This post is a beautifully written tribute to a woman who sounds like an absolute joy to know.

  16. jennygoth says:

    sorry about your loss hook but your life is richer for the lovely memories shes left you xxjen

  17. Think you are right with the last 2 lines. Funny how things work out. I’m sure you brought her as many smiles as she brought you.

  18. Awww, I just saw this! My deepest condolences to you and your family, Hook! I am so sorry for your loss. ~Virtual Hugs~

  19. She Traces says:

    My condolences to you and your family, I know all too well the power of those ‘unretrievable’ words. I think your tribute is just great.

  20. I’d say you just did a damn good job of honoring her. I can’t think of a better way that a woman would want to be remembered, than being described as someone that uplifted spirits, always had the back of those she loved, available whenever needed, and respected. I’m sorry for your loss, Hook. I know she would be more than pleased though by the way you just eulogized her.

  21. So sorry for your loss my friend…hugs to you xoox

  22. susielindau says:

    This was such a wonderful tribute to an amazing member of your family. I am so very sorry and am sending cyber (((hugs))) your way.

  23. jlheuer says:

    She sounds like a wonderful woman. And I am not being flippant when I say, 11/11/11, a good day to die. I raise my glass to your hero.

  24. My thoughts and prayers to your family. Sorry for the loss. Your Aunt Pat was and would always be remembered as a remarkable, generous , loving and inspiring woman who touched the hearts and lives of her friends and family. Reading this tribute for her reminded me that there is good in people, that someone could give that much and more because that is just they way they are. I feel sad though because on that day, a beautiful person left this world to be with her maker, that she would never come back. Her wonderful memories would live forever through you and her love ones. Thank you for sharing. I know it is not easy to talk about events like this. God bless to you and your family….

  25. She sounded like a great person. I love seeing my dad and his sister interact; it gives me a completely different perspective on both of them.

  26. Dave says:

    Very sorry for your loss. She sounded like a good lady.

  27. jakesprinter says:

    So Sad for your loss ,thanks for sharing.

  28. brittany220 says:

    So sorry to hear your aunt has passed on Hook. This was a lovely tribute though and she sounds like she’s made quite an impact on your life, which is something that will never go away. Even though it must be very hard to be without her, she will always be in your heart and will be with you every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

