And Now.. A Pause For A Dark “Get Well Soon” Post!

In addition to serving as an outlet for my traveler-induced rage, this little blog of mine is the perfect vehicle to prop up loved ones when they’re feeling a little down…

My lovely wife – VampireLover to my readership at large – has been reminded of her mortality this week, courtesy of a nasty cold bug. Actually, “bug” is a understatment. This virus is the Godzilla of bugs! Four days with no sleep, chills, hot flashes and now her golden tones have been hushed.

Clearing your throat virtually non-stop for almost a week will do that to a gal. 

Now, I know my male readers are thinking, “A wife who can’t speak? Where’s the downside in that?” But trust me, she’s really suffering and I haven’t been able to console her properly – there’s no handbook for being a caring, capable husband, but acting like a jackass come naturally. So these are for VampireLover…

This concludes our foray into vampire worship. Please tune in again soon for more tales of the horror that is the Modern Traveler. 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Movies, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to And Now.. A Pause For A Dark “Get Well Soon” Post!

  1. eva626 says:

    my cousin is crazy about vampires…

    i am not LOL. but nice post.

  2. melsar93 says:

    Get her flowers. Chicks love that stuff.

  3. vampirelover17 says:

    AW, Thank you for the nice post. I truly am suffering right now. I certainly am not the type to be silent as you know. You will have to take pictures tonight when the little one gets her medal.

    Flowers are a nice idea but I just want my voice back NOW!!! I have been writing so many notes to just be able to converse with people that I am starting to run out of paper.

    anyone have any ideas on how to help with laryngitis.

    • The Hook says:

      Hang in there, honey! You’ll be back to your old self soon.
      That’s a good thing right?

    • Spectra says:

      For me, dearest Vampirelover, (I had always thought that was a pet name your husband had given you, describing a lorid, passionate conection 😉 ) I use hot water, lemon and honey, sometimes mixed into an herbal tea. The honey is obviously very soothing, but also has natural antibiotics. This is why honey never goes bad – nasty microbial organisms are just naturally repelled by it, so this might have medicinal as well as practical effects on your tortured throat. Hoping you fare well and recover fully, soon.

      • The Hook says:

        Thanks for the tip, Spectra! It’s very much appreciated.

      • vampirelover17 says:

        Thank you Spectra…I have been drinking hot water and lemon all day today. I just googled and found this might help. The honey and herbal sounds good. I will give it a try.

      • The Hook says:

        Try anything! This family can’t survive for long without you!

  4. Just in time for Fangsgiving!

  5. mindslam says:

    That’s great man..you can do it. Hope she gets better soon.

  6. This here? This is love! 🙂

  7. Missy Amber says:

    Surely the only good thing about a protracted illness (combined with a loving husband – with which I am also blessed!) is the chance to wallow on the sofa watching back to back box sets of Buffy/True Blood/Twilight. My idea of heaven. Just waiting for a suitable bug to strike. You can pass yours on to me when you’re done with it, Vampirelover!

  8. Cindy says:

    Get well soon, Missus Hookster!

  9. Kim says:

    Your wife is a mortal???? :O

  10. jennygoth says:

    you look like a most caring hubby to me im sure she would take care of you the same hope shes feeling better soon winter time of the nasty bugs but always xmas to look forward too hope you get plenty of tips sweet thoughts to you both hook xxjen

  11. preachersdaughter69 says:

    I feel your wife’s pain. I’ve had the crud for a week now. I hope she feels better soon.

    Side-note, I tried my best to steer clear of the Vampire Diaries, thinking it was a knock-off of Twilight, which I thought was just ok, but now I’ve finally been sucked in. Damon is too hot not to watch. Thanks Netflix for feeding my new addiction. So long Smallville, hello VD. 😉

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    Oh dear poor VampireLover – I stayed away from VD – for a while – now totally addicted.

    This is my gift for wifey…

    Hope it makes her feel better – it did me, and I wasn’t sick…

  13. Androgoth says:

    I hope that VampireLover is
    well again very soon Hook 🙂 🙂

    Androgoth

  14. susielindau says:

    You are very good to your vampiress. I hope she is up and fluttering around soon!

  15. You’re such a gorgeous husband! How lovely 🙂 I’m sure you cheered your wife up heaps.

  16. spicegirlfla says:

    This touched my heart! How caring and concerned you are! If I was feeling bad, just knowing someone cared would make me feel so much better!!

    • The Hook says:

      She has her dad, our daughter, two dogs and yours truly to shower her with love.
      Unfortunately, we can’t do much about her bug, which sort of makes the loving part kind of useless….

  17. Ipodman says:

    “VampireLover”… lol. You really love (?) your wife! 😀

  18. Fox@n says:

    Vampires are great but I never watched any of those movies since people say its not manly .. well theres always a rainy day.

  19. granny1947 says:

    You are a great Dad AND a caring husband….hmmmm….got a much older brother?

  20. sonsothunder says:

    Cant say as I can see how any of those pictures could heal, or help even a vampire lover feel better when they are experiencing the symptoms you’ve described. Sounds like a professional with more modern technical training, and less Dr. Frankensteinisms may be the ticket. But, what the heck do I know…I’ve only seen a doctor once in 15 years.
    Bless you
    my prayers are with you both.
    paul

    • The Hook says:

      She’s been to a real doctor, but her condition hasn’t improved so she’s on her way back there today. The pics are just for morale. Trust me, they wouldn’t be here otherwise!

  21. Jeanne Heuer says:

    Great pictures. Vampirelover is a lucky gal.

  22. Very sweet of you to do this for your wife! 🙂 Hope she is feeling better now!

  23. Lafemmeroar says:

    I also like J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series … I’m a vampire lover myself. I hope your wife feels better soon.

  24. jakesprinter says:

    Great entry 🙂

  25. brittany220 says:

    Aww! Has your wife seen “Breaking Dawn” yet? One of my friends saw it this past Friday night while I was out swing dancing. 🙂

    • The Hook says:

      You made the right choice!
      VampireLover was actually bored to tears by this installment of the adventures of Edward and Co. She said she wouldn’t see it again until home video – she saw the last one five times at the movies!

Leave a Reply

