The Girl With Her Head In The Clouds.

Let me begin by publicly declaring my love and respect for the housekeeping department of my humble  little slice of hotel heaven. They truly rock!

Seriously, I wouldn’t clean up after the modern-day douchebag for any amount of money! My heart goes out to those brave souls who are wiling to clean up other people’s filth.

And trust me, people leave a lot of filth behind these days.

That having been said, the sheer size of a department like housekeeping yields an endless supply of blog material. Let’s travel back a few years and visit with the housekeeper whose boyfriend had just turned a corner in his life, one she felt would lead to prosperity for her.

DELUDED HOUSEKEEPER: (Upon entering staff cafeteria) Hello all! I’m going have Graduation Sex tonight!

THE HOOK: You’re taking on an entire graduating class? I hope cameras are present… 

DH: No, silly! My boyfriend is graduating with his electrical degree and he’s moving to a much better-paying job…

THE HOOK: So he can afford your prices now?

DH: What?

THE HOOK: Never mind. Please continue.

DH:That’s about it, we’re gong to have wild sex and he’s going to make more money and we’re going to get married, have kids and buy a big house!

THE HOOK: Not to be a wet blanket or anything, but hasn’t it occurred to you that he may leave now that he’s graduated? That always seems to happen to girls once their guys finish school….

DH: He’d never do that!

THE HOOK: They always say that too…

DH:That won’t happen!

At that point, her nostrils flared and the room filled with the steam emanating from her pierced ears. The Hook beat a hasty retreat but two weeks later, we met up in the elevator. She walked in slowly, her head hung in defeat.

THE HOOK: What happened, the boyfriend dump you?

I was actually kidding. I should have known better, though!

DH: Yes, he did!

I really should have seen that coming.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to The Girl With Her Head In The Clouds.

  1. penpusherpen says:

    oh dear Hook, you truly should have. … ’tis not good when you’re proved right. and you are so, so awful (“so he can afford your prices now”. had me giggling away to myself.. ..)…. Now that’s higher education for you…Up,up and away he flies.. xPenx

  2. What a cliche sitcom-like story. And still amusing all the same. Great way to capture it unto text 🙂

  3. I’m not allowed to say that men are evil, am I?

  4. Russ Ray says:

    I think it’s funny (and a bit sad) that she walks in bragging about her sexual activity for the evening. I could see a guy doing that no matter what, but when a woman does that, there’s always some sense of desperation around a claim like that… like she’s already convinced herself that she needs to put out to hold on to him, but she’s not ready to admit it.

  5. brittany220 says:

    Yikes, you were right! That’s kind of weird that she would brag about having the plan of graduating sex to everybody in the room, I guess she just couldn’t contain her excitement? Haha.

  6. Jaan says:

    oh poor girl..I feel sorry for her 😦

  7. irratebass says:

    *insert foot here* lol

  8. renxkyoko says:

    Oh, hey Mr. Hook ! Is that fact or fiction ? If fact, oh, my. My heart goes out to the girl, even if she said those horrible words, and to a guy, too. ( You.. ) Darn it ! I really feel sorry for her.

  9. So….no graduation sex then? LOL

  10. Caroline says:

    I love that she didn’t catch your joke about her prices, haha, too funny. Poor girl, but you had a valid point!

  11. HoaiPhai says:

    Ahh, the worst kind of cliché… the often true kind.

  12. It may not happen often, but there are some instances where the words “I told you so” feel a little less than magical. Oy!

    During law school, I briefly dated a hometown boy. After we’d broken up, my brother-in-law said, “I couldn’t really see you being with the kind of guy who’d date a girl for years and dump her the same night she gave it up.”

    My response was roughly: ?!?!?!?!?!?!

    I felt a lot less bad about the end of that relationship afterward.

  13. xeriouslywtf says:

    Damn. Not always a great thing to be right most of the time.

  14. BABE! A couple things you never ever ask… “So when is the baby due?” and well…the one you just did. Both can create a knee-jerk in a woman!

  15. Kim says:

    I think it’s time to retire the ol’ crystal ball…

  16. Well, technically, graduation implies moving on to other things…

  17. My first job was cleaning rooms in a hotel in Ontario. It was very popular amoung the rowers and business men. I’ve been my far share of things. Wedding rings left behind, poo under the bed in a cup (yeah that was a great joke that went wrong! the team was disqualfied from competing because of this prank. and well other damage to the hotel), what else … a a play toy for a man. Couples answering the door naked when they’ve called room service…oh the joys of hotel work. Great post.

  18. raisingdaisy says:

    And that’s when you’re thinking, “I hate to say I told you so, but…..” 😉

    I think you have to have a really strong stomach to clean hotel rooms; it would gross me out completely. We go to nice hotels when we travel and still we’ve occasionally seen things in rooms that should have been cleaned but weren’t. Like the time there was diarrhea splattered all over the toilet…and some on the sink….and I mean all over the OUTSIDE of the toilet too. (4 star hotel, mind you…) They wanted to send someone up to clean it, but we checked out. If something that bad and obvious wasn’t cleaned, then God only knows what else was overlooked. Gross. Then they sent us a voucher for a free two-night stay….yeah, like THAT’S gonna happen! 😛

  19. mindslam says:

    You tried to tell her didn’t you? Still, had to feel bad when she said that huh?

  20. Woman says:

    Holy smokes!!!! You can see the future!!!!

    Pray tell… what does my future hold????

  21. bmj2k says:

    If a woman is in the habit of announcing her sexcapades it is a sure bet she is not a keeper.

  22. jlheuer says:

    I keyed in on the housekeeping even though your story was about sex. Hmm? Oh well, I am always amazed when I am walking down a hall in a hotel and doors are open to some other rooms. Cripes! Where were those people raised? Not a barn, they are cleaner. Stick with belling.

  23. granny1947 says:

    Oh My word Hook…”How to win friends and influence people” was written especially for you. 🙂

  24. hotelnerd says:

    Wait…you speak the same language as your housekeepers? That must be weird…

  25. both amusing and sad. I feel sorry for such girls, who have little capability to judge better in such situations and ended up getting played by boys. *shruggs*

  26. She got the order all wrong. She tried to date, let him graduate, get married and then get pregnant. If she only had gotten pregnant first, you wouldn’t have this post to write…..

  27. Instead of having her head in the clouds, she should have had her legs in the sky and a bun in her oven.

Leave a Reply

