The Hook On… Mortality.

The average North American male has been the recipient of a dwindling life expectancy forecast for years. And it doesn’t appear to be improving any time soon.

Still, at 41, it’s safe to say The Hook still has a few decades left in him.

So why am I so envious of the young?

Take my daughter for example. She has so many mountains to climb, so much to look forward to.

  • She has yet to discover the musical stylings of The Monkees (she’s convinced they ripped off Big Time Rush!) or The Ramones.
  • The cinematic greatness of The Stooges or The Blues Brothers has yet to penetrate her young mind.
  • The magic of a first kiss and then that first love, forever burned into memory.
  • Volumes of great literature and entire museums worth of art and culture waiting to be absorbed.
The Blues Brothers (film)

Image via Wikipedia

 

Then of course, I remember that life is a double-edged sword and the laws of the universe dictate that we must experience pain in order to recognize joy.

  • A first crush often morphs into that first heartbreak.
  • We discover our heroes sometimes have feet of clay.
  • The monster under the bed vanishes and is replaced by the acceptance of the monsters all around us.
  • We experience that moment when we first realize our parents don’t have all the answers.

And that’s the moment that’s going to break my heart.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to The Hook On… Mortality.

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    A very touching post. Good job.

  2. Kim says:

    I’m speechless…

  3. Madonna M. says:

    AW…

    I definitely remember listening to the Beach Boys with my dad and sitting around on Saturday mornings watching The Three Stooges…

    My parents bought us a DVD with older cartoons. I’m pretty sure I have the only 3 year old Betty Boop and Popeye the Sailor fan.. 🙂

  4. Awww, such a sweet post!

  5. Woman says:

    But you are her father, and you’ll be there to lend her your shoulder, giving her quiet the quiet support… then calling that fudgepacker who broke her heart a douchebag… but she doesn’t have to hear you say that.

    Now I have this huge urge to go and watch The Blue Brothers. Or SNL’s Best of John Belushi.

  6. bmj2k says:

    I did not realize that you and I are nearly the same age.
    The Monkees, The Three Stooges, and The Blues Brothers are some of life’s gifts no child should miss.
    As for the rest of your post, very nicely tender!

  7. Sweet…even though we don’t have all the answers, the beauty is they still love us anyway. Great post my friend xox

  8. “…the monsters all around us.” So true. That’s when the real innocence is lost.
    Hey, I loved the Ramones also! I still think they’re awesome. Sadly they’re dropping like flies. “Gabba-Gabba-Hey!”

  9. I came in for a giggle, sure even something with “mortality” in the title would be made light of by The Hook. Instead, I found not giggles but something more truly uplifting: a poignant, heartfelt reflection on life and parenthood.

    Li’l D’s only 20 months old, but already I think with sadness of the day down the road where he realizes my hands (which he engages to do anything he can’t quite figure out) aren’t capable of magic. I try tempering that sadness with the knowledge he’ll also someday be able to relate to me as his own little person, but all with the lightness of heart that comes from remembering how deeply he was loved when he believed I could do anything . . . and afterward.

    Thanks, Hook. I had a hard time sleeping due to (a) sharing a hotel bed with toddler and (b) lots of pensive thoughts, but I’m looking at things a little differently now.

  10. Jaan says:

    Nice post Hook! Sweet…

  11. writernubbin says:

    I can tell you are a good daddy. Awesome post!

  12. jlheuer says:

    Oh Hook, this was so tender. I just went through something similar with my son, it was so good to read a father about his daughter. ( My post was “Leaving the Nest” May 19,if you are so inclined)

  13. Nice one Hook… Dads guidance in life always helps daughters more than moms … Daddy’s daughters.. 🙂 But ouch! you made me feel old for a minute when you spoke about first crush… 🙂 That seems ages back… Very touching post…

  14. penpusherpen says:

    too true, Hook, but on the good side, she has a wonderful father figure to lean on, whatever happens, and that means an awful lot. (I didn’t so I missed out) xPenx

  15. If she hasn’t realized you don’t have all the answers yet, you’re ahead of the game, even if she’s still in diapers. 🙂

    The best part comes when they introduce YOU to something new, and not the other way ’round.

  16. jennyozzy says:

    great blog hook i think how stupid i was when i think of my first love and a few others since but as a parent as long as your there to listen and still guide them its a life time job im sure your a great dad and your kids end up being your memories throughout when you think well thats it they are all grown up you start being a grandparent and it starts all over again lol have fun xxjen

  17. granny1947 says:

    And thediappointment.
    And the heartache.
    I don’t envy them at all. 🙂

  18. hawleywood40 says:

    Just remember that it is when you realize you parents don’t have all the answers to everything that you look up to them even more for all they’ve done because you understand that it wasn’t any easier for them than it was or will be for you. At least, that’s how it was with me. I love this post!

  19. I love this….wow!

  20. gmom says:

    That’s awesome.
    So beautifully put. It brought a tear to my eye.
    The most we can hope for, the best we can do, I think, is to keep the home a safe place to fall for our children. So whatever heartbreaks of reality come to them they know there is always a light on in the window just for them.

  21. blackwatertown says:

    Luckily she has you for cultural guidance.
    It’s a parent’s duty to have a go at least at turning children on to decent music – doesn’t have to be from 30 years ago though. (Can be from even earlier. Or current.)

  22. Mindless Rambler says:

    I can totally relate to this having 14 and 11 year old daughters. My oldest said to me the other day after we had sat and watched a program about childbirth “it must be easier now that we are older and can do more for ourselves”. I told her it was easier in the sense that each trip out is not a major plan of works with things like “just incase she barfs clothes” and the like but them getting older just means a new set of problems and worries along with the good things of course.

    In one way them being babies was easier as we had more control of those monsters coming into their lives. Like I told her “even when you’re 40, you and your sister will still be my babies and I will worry about you”.

    Great post!

  23. raisingdaisy says:

    Ooo, you touched me with this post. It’s all so true. Unfortunately. My daughter is 24 – helping her through some of those crushing “firsts” was just as painful for me as it was for her, if not more. You always hope to shield your kids from the painful side of life, but of course, that’s impossible. it’s just so hard to see them suffer.

    On the other hand, seeing the strength they gain from those awful experiences almost – *almost* – makes it worthwhile. In the aftermath, of course.

  24. irratebass says:

    Great sobering post. Thanks for posting

  25. mindslam says:

    Yes, “The Three Stooges” were the best. You sure bring back some good memories!

  26. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    Hook, you always know what to write to grab your attention of your readers. I admire you and your writing. It’s so funny how my teenager is 17- and she hates the Stooges, the beetles, and the Monkeys. She hates the way I drive (like an old lady) my music is boring to her (enya and yanni). So, with that said, I am making Just her books of my family history – the basic one is done. Now I am creating another one for her not so boring. Kids today are not like they were when we grew up – I being born in 1966…the cartoons were sosos much better, tv was black and white. I am a huge Andy Griffith fan! HUGE. I love that show. I wake up each day at 4am just to see all the reruns and laugh my ass off. So, you keep on writing and visiting all of us and we will see you Freshly Pressed SOON.

  27. renxkyoko says:

    What you posted here….. I think I’ve experienced them already. I’ve gone past the first hurdle. I say , Next ! ! As a parent, you need not worry. your kids wi;l be okay.

  28. Caroline says:

    Aw, that was so sentimental, you almost had me tearing up. So sweet. I know my dad feels the same way. 🙂

  29. xeriouslywtf says:

    Your double edged sword about pain vs joy.. so god damned true. Seriously man, you words are gonna make people cry. Nicely written post.

  30. So poignant. Great piece.

  31. brittany220 says:

    Nice post, it’s hard when you first start realizing that things aren’t always as wonderful as you’d think they’d be. There seems to be a lot of ups and downs in life.

  32. This is a sweet post, Hook…I hope you’ll introduce your daughter to the magic of the Monkees…

    I think you have at least some of “the answers.”

    Wendy

  33. Pingback: New Big Time Rush “Big Time Break Up” Premiering On Nick! « TweenLik Live

  34. Pingback: EXCLUSIVE: Catching Up with Big Time Rush « TweenLik Live

Leave a Reply

