So We’re Still Here – Now What?

I never thought I’d say this, but I was actually glad to be serving douchebags during the first post-Rapture Sunday morning check-out rush!

Oh, right, the world didn’t come to a screeching halt so Final Jeopardy, I mean Final Judgement could be visited upon us “sinners”.

Never mind, then.

Still, while I have your attention for a minute..

Not only is all this Rapture business a good excuse for some to just give up trying to make the world a better place, some people have actually tried to capitalize on the world’s ignorance and fear. The Centre for Disease Control, in a ill-conceived attempt to draw the attention of people researching the Rapture online, decided to remind people they could turn to the CDC for aid during any sort of emergency.

Like say, a Zombie Apocalypse!

Zombies

Image via Wikipedia

 

That’s right, the world was concerned with God’s wrath and the CDC decided now would be a good time to be “hip” and  talk zombies with “the young people”.

 A post on the CDC blog titled “Preparedness 101: Zombie Apocalypse” went viral this week, causing the blog’s servers to temporarily crash. The site normally gets 1,000 to 3,000 hits per day, said CDC spokesperson Dave Daigle. Before the page went down on May 18, the post had garnered 30,000 hits. As of Thursday morning, 55,000 people had clicked on the post.

“We did not anticipate this type of reaction,” Daigle told LiveScience.

No kidding.

Personally. I’m not worried about God’s wrath or zombies. I see glimpses of Man’s inability to handle extreme situations every day, and believe me, the biggest threat will come from within.

So let’s take this little reprieve from judgement as a sign and clean up our collective act a bit, what do you say? 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to So We’re Still Here – Now What?

  1. gmomj says:

    I actually did think the Apocalypse was upon us yesterday what with all the the police helicopters overhead. The goodyear blimp and several other low flying aircraft.

    Noise like a huge crowd all day long. I didn’t pay it much mind but wondered what was going on.
    The Preakness!
    Shakleford by half a length I heard.

    Now that is a letdown.
    Hide ya kids.
    Hide ya mom.

  2. eva626 says:

    i was just thinking what those people might be feeling since it was not the end of the world yesterday…what noobs. no offense to those who did believe that lol

  3. Woman says:

    How many times have we survived the world “might be” coming to an end??? Meh. It is old news.

    But still entertaining to read!!!!

  4. raisingdaisy says:

    I heard there have been numerous predictions about Judgment Day since the 1500s. Wow, we’ve survived a LOT of threats! LOL

    I was at the movies yesterday – Pirates of the Caribbean. If I gotta go, at least it could be with Johnny Depp in front of me looking his gorgeous best. LOL Then I went to a Post-Rapture party. 😀

    I wonder what that doomsday guy’s excuse will be this time? Last time he promoted the wrong date (1994, I think), he said he hadn’t analyzed all the books of the Bible yet and this time he had it right. Should be interesting.

  5. mairedubhtx says:

    The CDC was involved in this, too? I missed that. I heard about a person who has OCD and was freaked out by this. That’s a terrible thing, to have to deal with while everyone is laughing. Although I’m glad we’re all still here today.

  6. I’m glad we’re still here today too, Hook…I figure that if you gotta go, you gotta go…no point obsessing about when it’s going to happen!

    Wendy

  7. oldancestor says:

    As much as I love zombies, they just aren’t that big of a threat. If you can survice the first day of a zombie apocalypse, you’re gold. They’ll be rotted to the point of immobility in 24 hours.

  8. Jeanne Heuer says:

    A pastor friend of mine said as soon as some joker actually names a date he’s wrong since the end is supposed to come as a surprise. Kind of like saying “gotcha!” Whereas you’ll see tha zombies shambling toward youin time to run. Cheers.

  9. *I see glimpses of Man’s inability to handle extreme situations every day, and believe me, the biggest threat will come from within.*

    So true, so damn true!!!!

  10. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I worked so many hours that I didn’t know what day it was. Glad I made it to today. 🙂

  11. Am I the only one who’s quietly disappointed about the lack of zombie hordes today?

  12. Pocket says:

    They had been looking at the wrong week of the calendar is all. The rapture is next week.

  13. penpusherpen says:

    I wonder if they all packed a bag? mind you, The Icelandic Volcano erupting again will probably give them a chance to say…. ‘another omen’ … second chance them BAM!! xx

  14. I wasn’t too worried about it either. The Bible talks about it in the book of Mark, chapter 13…and plainly states that no man will know the day and the hour. I still believe in God. I still believe in God’s word. What I’m having a problem with right now is my confusion over religion. This isn’t faring well with my family who are very dedicated Christians. It’s this reason that I’m concerned. If He came back today, I doubt I’d be joining my family in the sky. Well, unless He judges solely on the heart; then I’d be a shoe-in.

  15. hawleywood40 says:

    I heard about the CDC’s Zombie Apocolypse on the news this morning. And here I thought that was what I was seeing during every Monday morning commute … glad we’re all still here : ).

  16. mizqui says:

    So um…was anyone taken up in Rapture with ‘the old dude’ (HaroldCamping) that was proclaiming the Rapture to come forth last Saturday?

    Anyone?

    Oh wait. Is ‘the old dude’ still alive?

    So…no one was Rapture worthy last Saturday? LOL! God bless us all. 🙂

  17. Hannah says:

    What I found hilarious was kinda the blatant disregard for time differences in the world. So, um, was the Rapture going to hit Australia 24 hours before the northern hemisphere?! 😛

  18. JRD says:

    If totally cleaned up my act – I barely even drop f-bombs while on stage these days (har har.)

  19. renxkyoko says:

    LOL

    Even the government knows what will peak the people’s interest…. zombies !!! Nice post !

  20. 😯 I’m afraid of the zombie apocalypse.

  21. brittany220 says:

    Haha this post reminds me of when I was in a Zombie Walk last year with some friends. 🙂 We just got a bunch of people together and got a really good make up artist to make us look like Zombie’s and walked down a busy street of my small town. It was really random and some people were giving us weird looks while others thought we were awesome. It didn’t have any meaning, but was sort of like a random flash mob thing that nobody else knew about.

    • The Hook says:

      You should have put it on Youtube! Zombie Walks are all the rage now. Hey, you could have done one in an old folks home! Can you imagine the looks you would have gotten? Or the pacemakers you would have sert off?
      On second thought…

  22. brittany220 says:

    I’ll be back in a bit with more comments, got to go take my neighbor’s dogs walking now!

  23. Gonna be October now, ain’t it.? At least I’ll get my summer hols in. 🙂

  24. Here here. Then again those believers are going to act up again in October 🙂

  25. Yogizilla says:

    Hook, word on the street is that a robot apocalypse is more likely and imminent than the zombie variety. This worries me because I do not know whether I should stock up on EMP grenades and frayed 8-gauge cables or chainsaws and shotguns. It would seem shotguns could very well be handy in both scenarios, but then there’s the pesky reloading business.. Your blog entry has made me depressed since I know realize how unprepared I really am. *calls the CDC*

  26. mizqui says:

    Gosh I wish I’d have had the time to stage a ZOMBIE DANCE to break out in the most paranoid city immediately after the “supposed date of” RAPTURE passed, (in full MICHAEL JACKSON Thriller gear). lol!

    That would have been a gas, (though not quiet as GASSY as the FEAR that the old man put into the hearts of the naive onlookers that bought it.)

Leave a Reply

