If Some Idiot Refuses To Use A Condom, Why Does The Hook Have To Pay The Price?

So I’m back to work after two glorious days off and I have to tell you, The Hook’s feeling pretty darn good.

But I now know the speed of stupid.

Less than five minutes into my shift, a young man approached my desk, he was followed by two young ladies who wee busy chatting away about the world’s current economic ansd social climate.

Hey, you never know, they might have been!

At any rate, all three of them had that “eyes glazed-over” look clueless teenagers carry everywhere these days. They asked for a “rolly-thingie” and I had to give them the same speech I give a hundred times a day. The sign on my particular place of business should simply read“Not The Holiday Inn, Morons!”

But it doesn’t, so I have to explain, over and over, that we’re a full-service establishment. Then, I have to explain just what that means. Still, I did my part, and the young clueless bastard made his way over to a bench in the lobby, where he informed his father of the situation. In my heart, I knew I’d be having a discussion with the dad about the whole situation, but when he didn’t get up, I figured I was homefree.

What was  I thinking?

FIFTEEN MINUTES LATER…

FATHER-OF-YOUNG-CLUELESS-BASTARD:  What kind of hotel has a Bell Desk, but no bellmen to help people?

THE HOOK:  As I told your son, sir, we simply don’t give out carts. I did, however, offer your son help if he wanted it. But he declined.

FOYCB:  Well that’s what my kids wanted!

With that, he stormed off, hopefully to construct a time machine with which to avoid ever impregnating his wife in the first place! If stupid people have so much rage towards the world that they feel compelled to reproduce, The Hook fully accepts his inability to stop them.

However, do they really have to spread their stupidity across North America? Don’t we have enough problems these days?

I know I do.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to If Some Idiot Refuses To Use A Condom, Why Does The Hook Have To Pay The Price?

  1. darthsaeris says:

    The world is filled with idiots and assholes!

  2. mairedubhtx says:

    I don’t know how you can stand it when people say such stupid things. Me, I would probably scream.

  3. Jaan says:

    hehehehe..you meet pretty strange people everyday.. 🙂

  4. granny1947 says:

    Oh Dear Hook…you seem to encounter the cream of the crop!!!

  5. “Dad, he won’t help me take the bags up.” Forgets to mention declining the offer to do so. Rant against Hook.

    Spinny, as fly on the wall, interjects. “On this planet, ‘I don’t want help’ does not mean ‘I want help.'” And offers FOYCB a free vasectomy.

  6. You could put these characters in a novel and then kill them off in some satisfying ways.

  7. Ben says:

    Waw. I’m glad you stand up for it.

  8. Yup, even here on top of ole smoky we have idiots!

  9. raisingdaisy says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!!!! If there’s one thing I’ve learned in this life, it’s “Stupid Is Everywhere”. And the old saying should be revised: The only inevitable things in life are death, taxes, and STUPID. 🙂

  10. Bad breeding. Don’t you just hate that?!

  11. Kim says:

    lol, because someone has to take responsibility :S

  12. So…do you have the “rolly-thingie” or not? LOL.

    Wendy

  13. So…do you know anything about Monster trucks?

  14. xeriouslywtf says:

    it must be a challenge maintaining a straight face and level head when dealing with the retarded. you’re a braver than i. guess the “like father – like son” principle is in full flight.

  15. In my head, when the kid asked you for a “rolly-thingie” I thought he was asking you for a condom. I made the mis-connection with the title. Hee hee. Maybe you should start handing out condoms when they ask for the cart that way.

  16. brittany220 says:

    Yeah some people can be really rude, especially if you have any sort of customer service type job!

  17. Pingback: When D-Bags Breed…. « You've Been Hooked!

Leave a Reply

