Just To Be Clear: The Hook Doesn’t Know Where You Can Score!

At first glance, heck, even at second glance, The Hook looks like a narc!

So why do people seem to think I can hook them up with weed?

A colleague approached a vehicle at check-in time and before he could even begin loading the luggage the Joan Jett wannabee asked him where she could get some weed! Then, as he contemplated an answer that wouldn’t infuriate her, he looked away and when he looked back he saw her three-year-old son!

She was attempting to score in full view of her child!

I have no problem with adults being flawed human beings and parents, (it’s pretty hard to avoid) just don’t be an idiot in front of your kid! We have no idead how our behaviour is going to impact our children, but we have to remain on guard as much as possible.

There are enough douchebags in the world as it is, people!

At any rate, after revealing he would be unable to help her, he issued her a luggage tag and passed her off to the next clueless bastard.

Guess who that was?

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Just To Be Clear: The Hook Doesn’t Know Where You Can Score!

  1. Tom Huff says:

    So who should one ask?

  2. mairedubhtx says:

    I hand’t thought that people would actually ask you questions like that, especially people with kids. They should be more responsible. And why do they think you guys would know about that?

  3. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    THE HOOK: that statement is so true: people expect the Bellmen to “hook them up.” This kind of thing happens in USA all the time in various fields.

  4. Children at that age are great at mimicry. One of these days, he’s going to bust out with “Got some weed?” at the most inopportune time.

  5. melsar93 says:

    Jeez! These people are so clueless. Everyone knows this is the concierge’s job.

  6. Nothing wrong with a little spliff now and then, but trying to score with your child feet from you is WHACK! OMG!

    I used to get plenty of people asking me where to score when I was a bartender. Lucky for me, just down the road was a strip joint so I pointed them in that direction.

  7. mindslam says:

    Well said man…I’m with you on that one. Don’t how people can do drugs…especially talk or do them in front of the kids. She needs help & fast!

  8. Really, some people shouldn’t be allowed to HAVE kids…

  9. Unfriggin’ believable…sigh…

    Wendy

  10. Reese Smith says:

    find someone with dreadlocks… they always know where to score 😉

  11. My husband gets the same reaction from people. In his case it’s probably justified thought. He has the long hair, goatee, tats, and usually has on a bandana ever day to cover his hair from drywall dust. He has new guys he runs into on job sites asking him to score for them all the time. He also had a problem dealing with a guy once that was overseeing a church renovation, because he stereo-typed my husband. He actually came home and asked me if he looked like a drug dealer, ex-convict, or something. I told him just a smidgen like a thug, but to smile and make small talk and that’s a dead give away to who he really was. After all, some of us here in the midwest still have all our teeth! There’s a very good reason for that….we don’t use!!

  12. raisingdaisy says:

    Incredible! Though I don’t know why I’m surprised anymore, after all the crazy parenting stuff we hear about on the news. You must have some wild stories in your line of work – I’m looking forward to reading more! 🙂

  13. oldancestor says:

    Maybe she was Jay’s mother from Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back.

  14. gmomj says:

    You mean the three year old didn’t pipe up in a teeny squeeky voice,”No dope? How bout some crack?”

    The guy should have conspiratorially(don’t know if that is a word but I’ve been using it a lot lately) leaned in to her and said,”Yeah honey sure.” and given her directions to your local police district.
    or you could just bag up some chopped kale and make a killing.

  15. Yogizilla says:

    Hello, The Hook! I’m glad JulioFromNY recommended this blog. I’m giggling like a little school girl already.

    I can relate to this entry because I happen to be the one that is usually asked such questions. Maybe it’s my scruffy exterior or NY “accent”. Who knows.. It’s never easy to answer local pharmaceutical inquiries without seeming silly or rude.

    Parents these days.. Eh.. Would it be wrong to write Congress and have a law passed requiring parents to pass a stupidity and common sense aptitude test? I think not. We need better licensed parents and drivers too.

    Just saying.

  16. eva626 says:

    these types of parents are a disgrace!!!i wonder what her mother was like!

  17. niña says:

    hi. thank you so much for those comments 😀 btw, nice page 😉

  18. Fox@n says:

    Great post I enjoyed it … yeah two teenagers came into dunkin donuts and started to roll a blunt in front of everyone well nobody stopped them so they continued and then left….

  19. doronio says:

    There should be some sort of test to make sure people would be good parents. I wonder if that would help/scare off those who aren’t worthy of such a task.

  20. writernubbin says:

    Aye Aye Aye! Nice role model, eh?

  21. I’m actually speechless!! Not wordless apparently, but certainly speechless, I assure you!! Oh and the ‘next clueless bastard’…what was his response?!

  22. countoncross says:

    WOW….great post, and just in time for Mother’s Day. Someone should nominate her for Mother of The Year! So Funny!

  23. misspinkles says:

    People just don’t know how to act in front of their kids do they…?
    Shameful!

  24. Pingback: If Some Idiot Refuses To Use A Condom, Why Does The Hook Have To Pay The Price? « You've Been Hooked!

  25. Ben says:

    Kids are prone to this kind of bad habit because of irresponsible parents <_<

  26. brittany220 says:

    Haha, I like your writing style! 🙂

Leave a Reply

