What Is It With Sundays And Crazy People?

Is nothing sacred anymore?

I know the answer is a big “Heck, NO!”, but even after fourteen years in the hospitality industry I still find myself surprised by the depths to which people will sink while on vacation. And in front of their kids, no less.

Take the Asian gentleman who decided Easter Sunday was the perfect time to go postal, or in his case “samurai” and completely lose it when informed he couldn’t have his own luggage cart! First, he called one of my colleagues a “bastard” (!) after he was informed of our hotel’s policy. This was after he interrupted a bell call in progress in the middle of the Sunday morning rush.

In spite of his enlightenment, the gentleman insisted on posing the same question to The Hook who of course had no idea of what had just transpired. While the gentleman didn’t refer to me as a bastard, he wasn’t happy with the fact the answer remained the same.

CRAZY ASIAN:  Your hotel is trying to raise my costs!

THE HOOK:  The hotel doesn’t actually charge for the bell service, sir. You can leave a gratuity if you like…

CRAZY ASIAN:  (Jumping up and down while waving his arms!) I DON’T WANT TO TIP!

Did I mention the Crazy Asian was holding his young son’s hand while he was flipping out? The little guy looked like he was trying to fly with one arm!

Finally, Crazy Asian gave up and stormed off, ranting and raving as he made his way through the stunned crowd that had just witnessed one of their fellow travellers make a complete and total ass out of himself. The Hook, meanwhile, found himself shaking and in dire need of a bottle of aspirin.

Or two.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to What Is It With Sundays And Crazy People?

  1. There is truly no limit to the craziness in society. God help us.

  2. If he acts that way in public, he’s probably 10 times worse when no one’s around…I’m sorry for his family!

    Wendy

  3. Tom Huff says:

    Crazy Asian’s…starting to act more like American’s everyday…

  4. liannouwen says:

    Wow, that’s crazy! I hope you could have a laugh about it with your colleagues after he stormed out!

  5. Sandi Ormsby says:

    I wonder if “The Crazy Asian” misunderstood thinking he couldn’t have a cart until he paid for it and by the time you explained there was no fee, he was too upset to listen. All he heard was you asking for a TIP, which equates to payment for cart.

    For someone to go “over-the-top” like that, makes me think he must have had a slew of things happen and that was the “straw-that-broke-the-camels-back” And really he was throughly upset at things that happened PRIOR to your hotel. Not saying that’s okay…there are better ways to channel the frustration.

    Sorry you were on the receiving end of that! 😦

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  6. The guy was either having a bad day or a bad life. Feel for the kid…he had to put with that all day, probably.

  7. Spectra says:

    I remember working in a couple of hotels, like over 20 years ago. Hotels are a good place to work…but then, I was in resort areas.

    The “Angrierthanhell” Guy always shows up.

    I remember when he showed up at my place, in 1990, he took a hissy-fit at the Monterey Plaza when I asked for his drink order, then paused…his face got red. I was waiting for the 2nd drink order. He had two plates of free appetizers (I can’t spell Houer d’oeurve) in front of him, with a coat on the second chair, where he had placed 2nd plate, to appear as 2 people were eating. Which obviously meant 2 drinx.

    When I asked, “Can I get you something else?” he flipped out. This was the ONLY night the new manager was in the lounge, serving something flambe’ed. This guy demands to speak to management – I point to mngr, not 6 feet away – he jumps up, does the ‘flying a-hole’ thing with arms, yelling about how rude I was.

    It was decided I should have used the word “May”…”may I get you anything else, Sir?” And the word “can” was insulting, just dead wrong! The manager confirmed this. I was a rude little cocktail waitress.

    And the moron then got his drink for free!

    -swear ta god, sometimes….

  8. mindslam says:

    Maybe it’s that deal about being on vacation…”Nobody knows me here, I can act a fool”! I don’t or wouldn’t act like that, but I do like to try things I normally wouldn’t because of that. Many, many years ago while in Chicago, I went into an adult video store with my 1st wife for the 1st time. Never liked doing it at home because I was like “What if somebody I know sees my truck out front”? Don’t care anymore, but just saying…part of vacation for me is relaxing & doing things that you wouldn’t normally do! Sorry you had to deal with that buddy!

  9. writernubbin says:

    The ASSHOLE (she said while flipping Crazy Asian off and hiding behind a computer screen). I don’t know how you take that kind of punishment Hook buddy. Scary stuff!

  10. belle says:

    “…trying to fly with one arm,” – genius!!
    I have such an awesome mental picture!!

  11. oldancestor says:

    It’s amazing how people will act like lunatics in front of their children

  12. eva626 says:

    The world is ending…due to these crazy people I tell you!…

  13. doronio says:

    Aspirin? Ptsch. How bout a shot?

  14. misspinkles says:

    Can’t believe how some people can act that way in front of their children.
    The shame!

  15. Shame shame. He probably doesn’t celebrate Easter. Should have asked him: What would Buddha do? WWBD?

  16. Good Stuff as always 🙂

  17. bmj2k says:

    But of course this is all normal in Aisa, right? Land where grown men buy used panties out of vending machines, anime is full of little girls running around in their underwear, and lots and lots of shame.

  18. Boston Margy says:

    Hoooo! That guy sounds like a loser. Sorry you had to encounter him. Maybe a shot of something stronger than aspirin would keep the memories at bay!

  19. Stephanie says:

    Hey! I mentioned you in my blog! Check it out!

  20. OMG! What an absolute loser! I’ve never understood how people can stand to make spectacles of themselves this way. What is the payoff I wonder?

  21. hahaha funny, have fun with such freaks 😀

  22. brittany220 says:

    Haha wow, you sure meet a lot of interesting people in your work! 😛

Leave a Reply

