The Tale Of Pukey The Bunny!

A person in an Easter Bunny costume at the &qu...

Image via Wikipedia

Gather round ye not-so-little children for an Easter tale unlike any other.

My place of business relies on families for the lions share of their revenue so naturally they try to cater to the rugrats whenever possible.

 We’ve had interactive magic shows, build-a-bear workshops and even a clown to entertain the little maniacs while their parents wait over an hour for their car to arrive from Valet parking!

But one year we outdid ourselves with an Easter Bunny photo-op for the kids. Boy, did we ever outdo ourselves.

Some poor kid, actually the teenage son of one of our administrative personnel, found himself on the receiving end of some really spoiled karma and was forced to wear a cheap, stuffy off-white bunny costume and pose for shot after shot with a legion of spoiled, bratty knee-biters!

Well, after a little while the pressure of dealing with the horde combined the heat in that bunny suit from hell proved too much and the poor teenage schmuck found himself wishing his bunny suit had a mouth slit…

Do you see where this going? Or rather, where his breakfast went?

He threw up in the bunny suit. And some of it leaked out the front and down his little bunny chest.

But wait, it gets better.

Management made the poor bastard soldier on and return to work after only a brief “wiping off” period!

 I don’t know how much Pukey the Bunny, as he was and will forever be known, was paid that day, but unless it included a bottle of champagne and a couple of hookers, it wasn’t enough.

HAPPY EASTER, EVERYONE!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Life, Postaweek2011, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The Tale Of Pukey The Bunny!

  1. Woman says:

    Oh dear lord. And here I thought this sort of stuff only happened at Disney!!! Easter is still that big in Canada??? Weird. I’ve forgotten all about Easter for years Well, and Christmas too.

    • The Hook says:

      Easter isn’t as big in the Great White North, but little kids need something to look forward to other than Groundhog Day. right?

  2. Hahahahahah….ewwwwwwwww, THAT is disgusting, your bosses are douchebags, just saying. Poor kid…

  3. penpusherpen says:

    OMG, I feel slightly sick myself in a sympathetic response. The poor so and so, to have that smell inside the suit must have been horrific. Kudos to the Sick Bunny. xPenx

  4. mairedubhtx says:

    What a great story. Poor kid.

  5. timkeen40 says:

    This is absolutely hilarious….unless you are Pukey the Bunny.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

  6. mindslam says:

    Those suits have to be so hot…don’t know how those people do that. At least they didn’t put you in it after he puked, buddy!

  7. Ironic Mom says:

    I hope management paid for a therapist.

  8. Poor kid….If only the little “ankle biters” knew what was happening inside that bunny suit….they would have never looked at Easter the same!

  9. Aaron Babcock says:

    I can’t believe they made him go back to work… Still, when you do that line of work you risk either barfing or getting barfed on. It’s a harsh and unrelenting profession.

  10. granny1947 says:

    Oh my word…your management is seriously hardcore!

  11. misspinkles says:

    OMG – poor kid!
    and it must be smelt so bad too! LOL

  12. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    OMG who is behind that nice easter bunny costume? ! LOL

  13. mbwilliams says:

    Nightmare! For his sake I hope he got all the champagne and hookers his teenage mind could imagine! 🙂

  14. Oh dear…they don’t pay those kids enough…

    When I was working for our local hospital foundation a few years ago, I was our “mascot’s” guide on an afternoon walkabout: http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/the-things-ive-done-for-charity/

    Happy belated Easter, Hook!

    Wendy

  15. belle says:

    Champagne and hookers! The only way to be paid 😉

  16. Hook,

    Thank God you’re so reliable. I started the day thinking I oughta quit, and you show me there are MANY, MANY worse jobs out there than the one I’m pretending to do! Rock on….

  17. eva626 says:

    hahaha …and ew! puking is nasty as is and inside the suit!…thats so gross…glad you gave the memory some meaning by this post!..great stuff Hook

  18. writernubbin says:

    Oh my gaw! Can you even imagine putting that pukey bunny head back on after the wipe down? The smell alone would cause a repeat…not to mention repel the little rug rats they wanted to attract in the first place!! Awk!

  19. bmj2k says:

    Without going into details, I once wore a similar suit and I know just what he went through. I pity the poor fool.

  20. doronio says:

    Hook, another great story. You’d think people would’ve invited an a/c for those torture suits by now.

  21. Spectra says:

    Now, THATS an Easter story!

  22. Thank you. My nightmares weren’t bad enough before reading this post and seeing the picture of the creepy giant bunny.

    I’ll be sending the bill from my therapist.

    😉

  23. Sandi Ormsby says:

    I’d love for that kid to tell his version of the story! Talk about first job nightmares- he’s probably win.

    By the way, I was “forced” to visit your site by Donna, over at The Redneck Princess- all hail Donna! (and the crowd goes Yea)

    It doesn’t look like your blog needs to be “plugged” as you’ve got many commenters!

    Anway, I’m Sandi- nice to meet ya- feel free to stop over in my blogging world some time.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  24. brittany220 says:

    Oh dang, throwing up inside the bunny suit?? Ack poor guy!! Hope he was paid well for all he went through!

Leave a Reply

