Meet The Hook’s #1 Fan!

Shania Twain, live in Wembley, UK

Image via Wikipedia

It’s a funny racket, this blogging business.

First, you have to pick a snappy title and an overall theme (although that doesn’t stop some people!) and then the challenge really begins – continually picking interesting topics. Thank God the world will never run out of douchebags that travel, right?

Finally, you have to pray that people will find your blog and be interested enough in what you have to say to respond. Well, I’m happy to report that people have embraced my love/hate relationship with the modern traveller to a greater degree than I would have ever imagined.

That having been said, not everyone loves The Hook. Take these comments I recently received via The Book of Terrible blog I also write. 

Brittany-Sefton-Ereaux  | April 11, 2011 at 8:38 -04:00Apr | Reply | Edit

 

You make me sick!!!!!!!!!!

Very articulate and direct, right? The young lady sent me another comment the same day, this one was a little longer, but equally direct.

Brittany Sefton-Ereaux | April 11, 2011 at 8:38 -04:00Apr | Reply | Edit

 

You are such a bully and a jerk.
You say these things about Shania Twain when it just makes you look so stupid and so cruel!

Granted, I don’t have a whole lot of love for Shania Twain in my heart, but some people actually share my views and I try to entertain while I tear celebrities down. Besides, they can take it. After all, at the end of the day, they’re still rich and I’m still a nobody bellman forced to serve ungrateful douchebags for a living.

I do appreciate the fact this young lady managed to squeeze in the time to hate me in between therapy sessions. It’s nice to know they get computer time at Juvie so they can keep in touch with the outside world.

Still, maybe it’s fitting that somebody actually thinks I’m a douchebag for once.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Meet The Hook’s #1 Fan!

  1. Woman says:

    LOL!!!!! *mutters douchebag….

    Celebrities in my opinion have no right to talk about how people follow them (to a certain point though) or that people are insulting them. THEY make the choice to be in the public eye. They are not forced. And if they really do not like it? change professions.

    And if everyone is so picky about that freedom of speech thing that Western countries go on about, then why is she is able to make such comments about you, and you not able to make them about another???? Strangeness. Love the double standard of the people of the world.

    Fabulous post as always!!!

    w

  2. sh*t, I thought I was your #1 fan. And the only good thing about Shania is that she’s Canadian.

    • The Hook says:

      You are my #1 fan – in a good way! Shania may be Canadian by birth, but when the going got tough, she headed fro the hills, I mean mountains – of Switzerland!

  3. melsar93 says:

    I had heard Shaina’s career was heading downhill, but to see her trolling the internet as BRITTANY SEFTON-EREAUX just to tear down her detractors is just sad.

    I guess that makes her “feel like a woman” again.

  4. penpusherpen says:

    OooooO she used 10 exclamation marks, must mean something I’m sure. But I also feel sure she’ll probably forget all about it should one of her nails break…xPenx

  5. Oh dear…you’ve upset Brittany…I really hope her eyeliner didn’t run when she was crying…

    My ex-husband was a DJ in country radio, and had lunch with Shania at the fanciest hotel in Moncton (I wasn’t invited). That was before she hit really big…he said she was nice. She sang some catchy songs, and I’d kill for her abs!

    Wendy

  6. Ironic Mom says:

    I’m laughing. Nothing like a defensive rant comment (on someone else’s blog) to make me smile.

    When I lived in Asia, it seemed everywhere I went I’d hear the three Canadian divas on distorted loudspeakers: Shania, Alanis, and Nelly.

    And, by the way, do you think the lack of exclamation marks in the second comment means she was less – uh – exclamatory?

  7. mindslam says:

    You just keep on going buddy…anybody that doesn’t understand what you throwdown IS probably locked up somewhere. (like you said) I’ll keep reading you as long as you write or kick me out! LOL!

  8. justadude says:

    It’s nice to know that I’m not alone sitting here hating on the Hook. Your continuous rants are like a virus in my computer… frustrating, annoying and usually unwanted!
    Also I noticed you rant about these remarks in a Blog other than the one they were posted in… Scared she might read them?

    Nice work Brittany Sefton-Ereaux… Keep on keepin’ on!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (ya that’s 13 exclamation marks…)

    PS: Bree Olsen sucks…

  9. Artswebshow says:

    She probably sent the same message to about fifty other bolggers that night.
    That’s trolls for you.

  10. I didn’t realize you had another blog….Guess I’ll be checking out your other one and probably subscribing! 🙂
    As for the comments this lady left you…insanity! Blogging is about freedom of speech and if you don’t like what someone has to say, you don’t have to read their blog! I may not agree with every opinion in every single blog I read but it’s THEIR opinion and I respect that they have a right to voicing it.

    • The Hook says:

      Thank you for the kind words, dear lady. I’m not going anywhere, so Brittany’s just going to have to put up witht he Hook a little while longer.

  11. writernubbin says:

    Sticks and stones…it’s amazing how people are so willing to show their ass in public. I love ya Hook!

  12. doronio says:

    It gives me a sick pleasure knowing that I bother people enough for them to bitch about me. Yay! She’s spreading The Hook’s infamy in the blogosphere.

  13. Too funny. It never ceased to amaze me how over the top people react to a criticism of someone they don’t personally know anything about whatsoever

  14. bmj2k says:

    That’s nothing. After some blogs about the TV show Scrappers I was besieged by scores of illiterate comments from fans of that crappy show. Most of them were personal attacks with more four letter words than I knew existed and the others ranged from “you suck” to detailed explanations as to why Noots could kick my ass. I had one woman spar with me for five emails and another dare me to print her letter. My policy is to print letters that have only intelligent criticism so I only up posting a small fraction of the hate mail. I don;t generally plug my own site but you can see a small sample here: http://bmj2k.com/2010/09/23/scrappers-mail-letters-from-people-who-love-scrappers-and-hate-me/#comments

  15. gmomj says:

    Shneeyo hoo?

  16. Kim says:

    You have two blogs as well :O
    I see, I see!

  17. Yest i typed a really long comment n before i could complete it there was a power cut n the comment was gone… Am typing again n hopefully there wont be a power cut today…It rained heavily yest… Thats why…
    Regarding your post, “You make me sick”???? Well yes, sick laughing out loud… 🙂 Carry on with the good work.. If anybody doesn’t understand it, its their problem… If you remember my post ‘The dracula saga’, i had written a few weeks back… (Ive deleted it now since i wanted my blog to be entirely on poems n bits of my life..).When i had written that i recieved comments from a couple, husband saying Bela Lugosi was the only Dracula alive( because i said Christopher Lee is my fav) n he even told about his fav werewolf… ( Looked like he was trying to make me convince they were the best).. Not just that he even said Robert Pattinson is gay… I deleted that comment… Next day his wife comments telling me the entire history of the twilight series n that Robert Pattinson is the only dracula alive… That comment also went to trash… I don understand why ppl try to force their opinion on you… Anyway in your case am gonna read all your posts… Subscribed to your other blog btw…
    Happy Easter to you n your family…

  18. That was funny! Damn, I must not be doing something right, cause I haven’t received any hate mail yet. And to think all this time I thought I’d perfected the bitch thing.

  19. Pingback: A Positive Message From The Hook? « You've Been Hooked!

  20. brittany220 says:

    Ugh sorry you received some harsh comments! I don’t see why people bother to do that, if it bothers them that much then why do they bother reading it?? They should just find another blog to read. Can’t please everybody I guess! Glad that it didn’t seem to bother you though!

Leave a Reply

