Sundays With The Hook

Just think Tuesdays With Morrie, but take out the uplifting message.

As the legend goes, God intended that Sunday be a day of rest and reflection. Not so for The Hook. My Sundays are filled with more nuts per square inch than a Planters factory! Before I begin though, a short disclaimer.

I’ve always found that the skin you’re wrapped in has nothing to do with your identity; it’s what you do with the brain that skin is wrapped around that counts. That having been said, some younger people really need to step up their game if they’re going to obliterate certain racial stereotypes from the social consciousness.

The Hook arrives at a room at 9 am on a Sunday and he finds a roomful of screaming young people, including the one that answers the door, her hand firmly clenched around a half-empty Corona.

RANDOM FEMALE GUEST: Hold up, we’re just finishing packing!

She hands The Hook a six-pack, minus one, and a laundry basket.

RFG: (Waving the Corona) What should I do with this?   

THE HOOK: (Too stunned to speak for a moment) Well..

RFG: Never mind, I know! (She promptly places the OPEN Corona in the last slot of the six-pack.)

MALE RANDOM GUEST: (In booming voice) WHERE MOOKIE BAG AT? FOR THAT MATTER – WHERE MOOKIE AT?

RFG: I’m sorry. We’re really acting like a stereotype, aren’t we?

At this point I’m thinking: “You’re drinking a Corona at 9 am and you’re traveling with someone named Mookie, who you may have lost. What can I possibly say?

THE HOOK: Oh no, you’re fine!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sundays With The Hook

  1. Even though drunk and dumb spans the races, they’re not exactly helping dispel the stereotype.

  2. bmj2k says:

    I would have said “thanks,” taken the beer, and walked off.

  3. Random acts of stupidness! Brilliant. My favorite is when a guests yells and throws attitude at me if his steak is over cooked. Do I look like the bloody chef? Seriously … why people ‘always’ blame the messenger.
    Great read.

  4. granny1947 says:

    I think I am going to enjoy you…thanks to Redneck Princess( I am NOT a stalker…far too old)

  5. Pingback: A Positive Message From The Hook? « You've Been Hooked!

Leave a Reply

