Do You Have A Valentines Day Resolution?

Just bear with me on this one, folks.

Every year millions of us make some half-hearted pledge to stop smoking or drinking or eating greasy food that will result in either our untimely death or the authorities resorting to knocking down a wall to get us out of our bedrooms! Whatever the case may be, we end up giving up almost immediately. We just don’t have the will power.

But what if it’s not about us?

What if we try to focus on the most significant relationship of our adult lives? The one we love will sometimes try to change us but that just leads to conflict and lasting resentment. You have to be willing to love someone more than yourself.

If you can do that, the rest is easy.

Just start small and you’ll be amazed at the response. Personally, I’ve got more than a few habits that I know drive my wife batty. “Batty” is a pun because the wife is a huge Twilight nut!

Of course, maybe calling her a nut in my blog is aย step backwards, but I digress.

Here are aย few of my Valentines Day resolutions for the coming year.

  • To learn to cook eggs for the wife (I know, but I’m going to try, I promise!)
  • To try to be more handy around the house. (You have no idea.)
  • To actually try to remember this short but important list. (Remember, I said start small.)

We’ll see how things go, but this is a step in the right direction. I think.

If I’m still married at this time next year, we’ll know for certain.ย 

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life, Postaweek2011, Uncategorized, Valentines Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Do You Have A Valentines Day Resolution?

  1. mindslam says:

    There is a good little twist to add to this holiday!

  2. kaliajer says:

    Hmmm… I’ll try to remember to make cookies before hubby runs out of them.

    Starting REALLY small, here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nice one, Hook… go for it. Does your good lady know that you refer to her as “the wife” ? ๐Ÿ™‚ That would earn me a slap !

  4. vampirelover says:

    O.K., now that this is in writing I am holding you to it. I have more that a few projects that need to be done around the house. I guess you are going to be busy this week. Sorry people if he doesn’t blog this week but since he is going to be ‘handy around the house’ he is going to be busy around the house. As for the eggs, I think I will let the dogs try them first….LOL!!!

    LOVE YOU ‘THE WIFE’

  5. elenamusic says:

    You don’t know how to cook eggs? You can look online and I’ll help you here w/ hard boiled eggs. Boil whole (4-6) eggs for 7 minutes. Immediately afterwards run under cold water or put in ice water for a few more minutes. This will remove any greening of the yolk. Peel off the shell and hard boiled eggs! Yay!

    For poached eggs, crack open eggs into boiling water, and put vegetable oil in the water to keep the eggs together. Just add salt afterwards.

    As for us single folk, I don’t have a resolution, just a hope that next year I can do something for someone special.

  6. penpusherpen says:

    It’s a definite step in the right direction, I applaud your thinking about your driven batty wife..(‘cos I see Vampire Lovers comments above and applaud her tooo!) .I’m learning to clap ever so loudly now!! ๐Ÿ™‚ … We’ll see the outcome a year from now then? hokaay!! xPenx

  7. gmomj says:

    Good thoughts Hook and Twighlight wife.
    But i just don’t get the vampire attraction. I mean come on aren’t they like 16 years old or something. Yuck!
    My 20 somethings like the films.
    You can’t argue taste I guess.
    I use this thought with my unfortunate apart young couple with child half of who reside with me.
    At some point you have to love the child more then you dislike eachother. It’s a process.
    I guess it goes for marrieds as well.
    You have to love more then the little bothers of something else in your space 24/7.
    What little thing can I do for hubby this year I mean truthfully I keep the boy going but he works like a dog and needs the upkeep at home…hmmmmm.
    I may need a drink first.
    Happy Valentines Day Hook.

  8. Valentine’s resoutions!! I really like that idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

