Tip Dodgers – Why Can’t We Shoot Them?

There are Wedding Crashers. There are Draft Dodgers. There all sorts of individuals who have made it their life’s work to bend society’s rules, which doesn’t usually bother The Hook.

Except in one case.

When you’re travelling and you accept the help of an individual in the service industry, you enter into an unwritten, unspoken agreement with said individual. They provide a service, you provide compensation out of gratitude. It’s a pretty good system that benefits both parties.

But Tip Dodgers ruin it for everyone. They drive service personnel crazy and that mood gets passed on to the next unlucky sap who asks for help.

Take for example, the guy who runs up to The Hook at the height of check-out time to ask for his own cart because “My daughter is violently ill.”

I don’t care if she’s got a severed limb, rules are rules. After arriving at the guest’s room and meeting his son and wife (she picked a winner, folks!), I proceed to load the bags. The guest arrives a minute later and proclaims “I lost my (expletive) wallet!”

If the supposedly ill daughter didn’t faze me, do you think this bought him any sympathy?

Anyway, during the elevator ride down the guest remarks “I just won the lottery!”, something his son didn’t even believe. I asked “Sir, how will you claim your winnings without your identification in your wallet?”

The silence was golden.

“SEE, I TOLD YOU WE DIDN’T NEED A BELLMAN.”

See you in the lobby, friends…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tip Dodgers – Why Can’t We Shoot Them?

  1. Pingback: 2010 in Review « You've Been Hooked!

  2. bmj2k says:

    Oddly enough, while the waitperson and customer are in an unwritten, unspoken agreement, it certainly is written and spoken of by the waitperson and management. However, while the waitperson agrees to work for tips as part of their recompense, the most important person of all- the tipper- is not part of any contract and has formally agreed to nothing. I guess if you were to look at it solely from a contractual point of view it is a totally ridiculous situation.

    All that said, anyone who doesn’t tip well for good service is a douchebag.

Leave a Reply

