The Hook Is Thankful For Everything At Christmas.

The heat in the lobby may be unbearable at times, but right now Old Man Winter is living up to his name, blasting us with wet snow and chilling what’s left of my heart.

There’s nothing I like better than to cover myself in four layers, a toque, gloves and cumbersome boots at  7 am and drag my sorry self across uncleared sidewalks while being slapped in the face with ice pellets.

But at least I can look forward to a busy day once I arrive, right?

Think again.

With the exception of corporate Christmas bashes filed with drunken morons who think a change of venue justifies acting like a total douchebag in front of co-workers and strangers alike, the weekdays prior to Christmas are not so thrilling.

It’s just like The Shining – except those people had more fun.

However, another thought occurs to me as I rant on. And on.

At least I have a warm bed and a hot wife to drag myself away from in the morning, not to mention a sleeping angel to check on before I leave. I may have to spend ten minutes full minutes piling layer after layer on, but at least I’ve got winter wear to choose from. I can look back on a house that’s almost paid for as I make my way to gainful employment – every day.

And a hotel may be filled with, you know, douchebags of every size, shape and color, but there are decent souls that make their way through these halls. Not to mention the many above average co-workers I huddle in the trenches with on a daily basis.

I may have had to endure a few trials here and there but I have a loving family and friends to carry the burden with me. How many people will die alone this Christmas, crouched on some street corner, devoid of even the faintest glimmer of hope? A depressing thought, I know, but a sobering one that we all need to consider as we deal with the highs and lows of the holidays.

Until next time, this is The Hook imploring you, take a minute to smile and remember what you have, not what you want.

article-0-1c036de400000578-687_964x659

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Employees, Life, Postaweek2011, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hook Is Thankful For Everything At Christmas.

  1. Pingback: 2010 in Review « You've Been Hooked!

  2. brittany220 says:

    Glad you have such a great family and many things to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

