I Know There’s A Silver Lining Somewhere…

But I just don’t see it at the moment.

The sitch (as the kids apparently say) is this: My leg has healed considerably faster than expected… but I’m not out of the unemployment woods yet, kids. My doctor feels a return to work at this juncture would be unwise, and so it looks like I’ll be spending a little more time at home.

VampireLover doesn’t know whether to laugh or cry.

About my wife: I truly lucked out in the love lottery. Period.

Hey, I can’t afford flowers, so some post praise will have to do for now.

Time for me to go, readers. My spirits are low once more and I should be working on Book Two. (Although, truth be told, I hardly see the point anymore. I’m so tired of being a loser in certain areas of my life. How do the Kardashians do it?)

See you around the blogosphere, friends…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to I Know There’s A Silver Lining Somewhere…

  1. katecrimmins says:

    You did win the love lottery! You haven’t been kicked to the curb yet.

  2. Jonny Eberle says:

    Hang in there, Hook! You’ve been through a lot. Being unable to work is hugely demoralizing without the added struggle of trying to break out as a writer. It’s so tempted to admit defeat, but you have a true gift for storytelling and shouldn’t give up on Book 2 (and 3, 4, 5 and so on). Now may be the time to throw yourself into your creative work, even if it’s only one agonizing word at a time.

  3. LVital7019 says:

    I think I should look for Book #1… :)

  4. Silver lining is within you and your family’s included! Poor Kardashians could never have that! ;-)

  5. Hold on to that sense of humor. Life isn’t always grand, but you have such a strong love for your wife and family, it will see you through anything. Chin up :)

  6. I MISS YOU!

    Perhaps you could video yourself playing that kazoo or harmonica…you’ve had enough time to master them, no? Do I need to send percussion instruments? More snacks?

    Maybe you could help me break into Greenland. Those ~60,000 people need me, I’ve no doubt ;)

  7. Austin says:

    You’ve got to be patient with the healing process. It would suck to rush back to work only to re-aggravate the injury. Hang in there! Use the time to write! Silver linings and all… :)

  8. Paul says:

    Hang in there Hook, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. :D

  9. Hey, hey, hey. What’s this all about? C’mon, now. Here’s what you do. You start at the beginning. You get up in the morning and look at the face in the mirror. You see that person for who he really is. Intelligent, caring, loved. You tell yourself that you WILL survive this and you WILL get back on your feet. You go out on a clear summer night, pick out one star and name it after your wife. You thank it. Mostly, you never, ever, NEVER give up hope. Ever. Understand? Be proud that you refuse to give in like so many others would. It’s times like this that make a man, right?

  10. List of X says:

    Kardashian became famous after her sex tape was “leaked”, and her just-released book is a collection of selfie photos. So don’t look at her, because you can do better than that, Robert. :)

  11. You’ve about the little engine that could, right? There IS a moral to the story.
    The sun will shine again life will be good again.
    You already won the Love Lottery. Give it time. :-)

  12. your posts always make me laugh! You are a great writer and a loyal husband and father. things will turn around :)

  13. Sending so much love, hook…. Big hugs. I understand more than I’d care to expand upon my current life… You are not alone.

  14. Dave Callaby says:

    It’s only a delay, that’s all. Things sound as if you are healing well and if it takes a little extra time to make sure you are fighting fit then take that time, after all, those idiot tourist will still be there waiting for you when you do return. Try to enjoy your period of respite from the trenches while you can.

  15. Dear Hook,
    I think of you often, send you happy and healing vibes and wish I could remove some of the burden. That said, it sounds like you have great folks in your corner helping you do that very thing. The fact that you continue to look for (and highlight) your silver linings mean that the cloud will lift and this storm will eventually be a memory and/or story you share with your kiddos and grandkiddos when life throws them a curve ball. You’re making it, Hook!
    Always so great to see you here…we miss you!
    Michelle

  16. Oh go ahead and sulk or moan a bit. Developmental.
    Hey, you need a dose of Gilda and Roseannadanna. (Her commencement speech is pretty great)

    Always something, Hook. Always.

  17. Hyacinth says:

    Big big BIG hugs to you, dear Hook. Hang in there! I promise you won’t feel this awful forever. Something will happen/shift and you’ll hear the birds chirping again. xx Hy

  18. Jackie says:

    Sorry to hear you still can’t return to work. You’ll get there!

  19. Thinking about you today my dear friend…. You will be back before you know it and this summer will be a distant memory for you. :-)

  20. There’s not much I can say that hasn’t already been said. You have a wonderful wife and child and some really great and loyal “friends” in the blogosphere. I don’t see any of us giving up on you so you shouldn’t either. For the record I think when the stink starts surrounding us (like it is known to do on occasion) we should be allowed a little bit of wallowing and then let it go and get on with it. I really hate when no one allows me just a wee bit of wallowing before I suck it up. So hopefully you had your bit and read all your encouraging comments already and are back in true “Hook” mode.

  21. Oh Hookey, please cheer up… You are definitely NOT a loser, I love reading your posts and love your visits to mine. Your leg will heal, you just have to be patient, and I know it gets you down, but there IS an end to this tunnel. I wish I could give you a hug (but only if Vampirelover won’t sink her fangs into me….)

Leave a Reply

