5×5 With The Hook: Susie Lindau.

I’m going to let today’s guest handle things, if that’s all right with you folks….

http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/a-fly-on-the-wall-1.jpg?w=640

 I’m like a fly on the wall today at Hook’s place. Woohoo!

If you don’t know Susie Lindau, if you haven’t been touched by her grace, her humanity, her beautiful insanity, then I feel for you, I really do. She’s a wild ride, folks, truly.

 I’m referring to her blog, of course. Perverts.

Speaking of which, Susie’s “About” page holds the best answer I can find to the question, “Who the hell is this Susie Lindau chick anyway?”

I will always be a kid at heart. Sometimes I jump in with both feet before considering the risk. That’s okay. I am an adrenaline junkie.

plunging 3a

After being raised in the land of happy people and cheese, otherwise known as Wisconsin, I transplanted to Boulder, Colorado which is home to the most active people in the country. My passions include family, skiing, tennis, writing, art, photography and anything that takes me outdoors to enjoy our 300 sunny days. Yep. There are 300 of them, every year.

I love writing about all kinds of adventures both real and imagined usually with a little twist and a sense of humor. Oh, and did I mention that I love to dance?

I host Use Me and Abuse Me Day virtual parties so bloggers can meet each other. Readers are welcome to post a link to their blog in my comment section and then “mingle” with the guests. It is a great place to meet up and “pick up” a few hot new subscribers! The next party will be held on Monday, April 21st, so be ready to dance! See, I told you…

I finished my first novel. It’s a paranormal thriller with a little romance thrown in for fun. It takes place in the South of France, after all. The apparitions and premonitions in my story are based onsome of my own experiences. Creepy. I know!

After being diagnosed with breast cancer, I started writingThe Boob Report. I can’t change the fact that I will always have breast cancer associated with my name, but I can try to change the way people think about the dreaded disease. I will occasionally add updates recounting my boobectomy and recovery. Boobs can be pretty funny.  Nothing could keep this Wild Rider down for long.

Be sure to friend request me on Facebook –Susie Lindau, follow me on Twitter –@susielindau, or email me at susielindau@gmail.com, especially if you need a columnist for your newspaper. A girl can dream, right?

And yes, I’m letting Susie do all the work, but that’s only because she’s so talented. And insightful, decent and gorgeous. And I’m a lazy prick.

In short, folks, nothing can keep this chick down. Not breast cancer. Not the challenges of parenthood and marriage. Not even the failure of her series of inspirational videos entitled, “So what if you’re a loser? Get Over It, Ya Prick!”

And now, kids, five questions and answers with Susie Lindau.

1)  You’ve been through the wringer recently; how do you maintain that special upbeat quality, that “Susieness,” that defines you?

   Susieness? I love it! It’s gotta be my silly sense of humor. I was born sunny-side up and am a goofball with very little shame. Somewhere along the long road of life, I learned to laugh at myself. I have a habit of over-sharing the ridiculousness. The most embarrassing things happen to me, so I have endless material. I should really do standup.

 http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/bad-hair-day.jpg?w=500

No shame and a bad hair day on the Wild Ride.

2)  Favorite food in the known universe? (To be clear, we’re talking last meal quality grub.)

    I have a tendency to order healthy food, but at a last supper it would have to start with a pain du chocolat and end with a chocolate ganache, fruit and cake trifle. I’ll let your imagination roam through the main course.

   Yep. Death by chocolate.

 http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/a-fly-at-hooks1.jpg?w=500

“A fly at Hooks”

 3)  Favorite guilty pleasure: music?

   Muse. I saw them in concert and their show was insane! Their set was constructed with flat screen TV’s which shifted to create different structures. They had a crazy laser light show. Considering we were in a humongous arena, the sound system rocked!

https://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/muse.jpg?w=640

 “Fly-Girl Susie rocks on with Muse.”

   Many of their lyrics are about fighting against oppression and winning. While driving down from the mountains, I heard Uprising for the first time.  I opened up the windows and joined in belting out the chorus.  I bet you could hear me all the way to Niagara Falls! I looked over at a car driving next to me and the family just gawked. I kept right on singing.

 “They will not force us, they will stop degrading us, they will not control us, We will be victorious!”

    When I was diagnosed with breast cancer last year, many of their lyrics became my fight songs!  If Muse isn’t guilty enough, then it would have to be Oingo Boingo’s Only a Lad album.

http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/only-a-lad.jpg?w=640

   The lyrics are hysterical. I memorized all of them. Lead singer, Danny Elfman, became a prolific movie soundtrack composer. I love listening to his humble beginnings as a firey redhead singing while bouncing across the stage.

4)  Favorite guilty pleasure: TV?

   I am busted! The Bachelor and The Bachelorette. I know! You asked. It’s like playing the lottery with a 1 in 25 chance of winning or in this case, falling in love. There’s always a drama queen in the bunch whether its guys or gals. I am a total romantic.

http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/the-bachelorette1.jpg?w=640

    My husband Danny and I only dated for a weekend before meeting with a priest and picking a date to get married. That’s why I believe it’s possible to fall in love in a short time. Come on. They have 8 whole weeks! We didn’t spend 8 weeks together until after we were married and we’ve been happily married for 26 years!

 5)  Is there a particular memory that makes you smile that you care to share?

   There are so many. The first to come to mind was my wedding day and then the birth of my two kids. Both of them graduated from college in the last six months, so that really makes me flash my pearly whites.

    What also gets me beaming is the day of my double boobectomies.  What?  My blogging friend, Brickhousechick, organized more than 45 bloggers, including you Hook, to write #SusieStrong posts. Each blogger asked their readers to pray and send out positive vibes that day. They passed along my hope that my lymph nodes were clear. They had been swollen and sore. I was pretty worried.

http://susielindau.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/the-boob-report-3.jpg?w=500

 (Believe it or not, this is the face of courage personified, kids.)

   The day of the surgery, I felt elated as if I was driving to the spa! I laughed and goofed around with the doctors and nurses all morning. I blabbed on and on about my Boob Reports.

    After the surgery, I learned my lymph nodes were clear! Woohoo!

   Then I found out my friends had blogged #SusieStrong posts. I would have dropped to the floor if I hadn’t been in a hospital bed. I was so shocked and grateful!

    My onkotype, which is the sum total of factors determining the chance of cancer recurrence, dropped from 26% after the initial biopsy to 13% after surgery. It was cut in half! I didn’t need chemo or radiation. I am living proof that miracles do happen.

    There is nothing quite like the community here at WordPress. I’ve made a lot of real friends, like you Hook!

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

I’d be a fool to try to follow Susie Lindau, wouldn’t I? My thanks to my guest for being an inspiration and a true friend.

See you in the lobby, folks…

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Susie Lindau.

  1. What a joy! What a story and what a smile :-)
    I’m over there to check Susie out. Thanks for another fabulous intro to someone I’m adding immediately to my reading list.

  2. stephrogers says:

    Thanks for introducing me. I’m going over there now!

  3. girlseule says:

    Wonderful 5×5! What an inspiring lady!

  4. Hahaha! Susie as the fly gets me every time…serious laughter! Susie is the B E S T! She inspires me to just be me, which is easier said than done and I am always tagging along on her amazing vacations. Susie just makes everyone a better person and that’s the truth!

  5. susielindau says:

    Reblogged this on Susie Lindau's Wild Ride and commented:
    Stop over and meet my friend, The Hook!

  6. An inspiring lady.

  7. Susie is an inspiration to all of us. She is known far and wide and loved by all. I just have to say the whole fly thing is creeping me out though. ;-)

  8. Susie is an example of what is so good in this world.

  9. claywatkins says:

    I love your parties and the guessing game you played last year from Europe. I use the trinket I won as my school key chain. Also, I remember reading the story about your dad on June 2012 – it was my first read and I’ve been hooked ever since! Have a great day.

    • susielindau says:

      Oh wow! Thanks so much Clay! You made my day!
      It has been such a pleasure to meet you and the rest of the Wild Riders. I truly believe many of these friendships will last a lifetime!!!

  10. I’ve been following Susie almost from the first day I started blogging on WordPress. Of course, it was mostly by accident – many of my first “picks” were random, and I made a very good choice with Susie! She is special. Very good post, Hook.

    • susielindau says:

      Thanks so much Sunshinebright! I am so glad you “picked” my blog! I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you too. These virtual friendships are very real!!! I am meeting up with two of my oldest blogging pals tonight. I’m sure it will feel like being with old friends!

      • How nice! Communicating on the blogosphere is so different from communicating with friends in person. I believe we share on a different level – one, in many ways, more personal. Have a wonderful get-together! :-)

  11. Jonny Eberle says:

    I needed a little positive inspiration today. Thanks for bringing just what the doctor ordered.

  12. This is your best interview yet. What an attitude. Love to see someone thumb their nose at the little things in our way. Life is for l.i.v.i.n.g. Live long and well, Susie Lindau. <3

  13. Thats my gal Susie… But The Bachelor?? LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL That was brave

  14. Yes, Susie is definitely an inspiration by example. I send a friend of mine who had been diagnosed with cervical cancer to Susie’s blog, and that kept her spirits up. Here’s a poster I created years ago, inspired by my friend Mark Victor Hansen (co-creator of Chicken Soup for the Soul), which pretty much sums up Susie’s upbeat outlook on life: http://amperart.com/ampermations/

  15. Austin says:

    Two of my favorite bloggers together. Hurrah! :)

  16. ermigal says:

    Hello, Hook, found you via Susie’s place–nice job on the interview! I attended one of her blog parties and it was lots of fun. When is the next one, Susie? As for the fly thing, I’m giving away my age when I say it reminds me of Vincent Price in the original “The Fly” movie: “Help me! Help me!” Enjoyed the ride with both of you. :-)

    • susielindau says:

      Thanks so much Ermigal!
      The next Use Me and Abuse Me Day is this Saturday, June 21st. Hope to see you then!
      The Fly is exactly what I thought of too, without the little arm. Hahaha!

  17. My Susie!!!!!! Love this and you make a gorgeous fly, btw! How does it feel to be hooked? I just learned more about you from this interview and like you even more! I will admit that I too like The Bachelor and Bachelorette so that you don’t feel like a lonely fool. :) You continue to thank me for the blog love during your time of need but no thanks are necessary. You are more than deserving and I am going to stop writing now or else I will cry.

    Hi, The Hook! Thanks for featuring the Wild Girl. :)

    • susielindau says:

      I still feel like you made a HUGE impact on my surgery and recovery and I know compiling emails was no easy feat! This is the very least I can do! And now, tears have come to my eyes. Thanks Brickhouse Maria!

  18. The Guat says:

    This was an amazing profile and well-deserved blogger highlight! She’s awesome and definitely an inspiration to a lot of people and I’m glad you shared her amazing story. Great post! Loving her sense of romance! I had no idea about her world wind romance with Danny … ahhhhh you get to know something new about the Wild Rider every week :)

    • susielindau says:

      Hey Guat! Thank you so much!!
      Yep. I am a hopeless romantic and you can see why I love The Bachelor/Bachelorette! It’s all about communication. I gave Danny my “short list” of demands, I mean values, that very first weekend we spent in Telluride. The rest is history!!!

  19. Hey – the whole flighty crew’s here! Hook, you and Susie really know how to create a buzz. What out, folk, when these two firecrackers get together….
    Summer’s sizzling now! Great post

  20. Nice to meet you Susie. I adored that picture of you with the flower pots. It says so much about your personality. It falls under my category of awesome sauce. Cheers to you!

Leave a Reply

