To The Women Who Made Me Who I Am.

Read on and you’ll know who to blame.

Once I was nothing – literally.

You gave me life, it’s true, but more than that, you gave me love. I grew up surrounded by you guiding hand (grandma pitched in too, certainly), your willingness to share my tragedies and triumphs equally, your humor and your cooking. You were my best friend as I grew into a man and I’ll never be able to thank you enough.

I love you, Mom.

*****

Once I was lost, bereft of hope and love.

You gave me something to strive for. You made me fight to win your love, and the prize was worth the spilled blood and battle scars. In time I became someone I didn’t recognize… but someone I was happy to see in the mirror every day. You were my first, my only, my one true love.

You are a wonderful mother and wife. The best, even.

I love you , Jackie.

*****

Once I was a good son, a good husband and a good man.

But something was missing.

And so a journey was undertaken, a quest for fulfillment. When it ended, a nurse handed me the most beautiful, most perfect little girl I had ever seen. Time passed, as it is wont to do, and we grew up together. You are my little girl still, but also a strong, capable young lady in your own right.

You are an author.

You are a lover of animals.

You are my Sarah and I love you.

*****

I was never one for four-legged companions, but you have changed my life immeasurably and I love you for it, Chelsea.

IMG_0521

*****

Once we were strangers, individuals whose only connection was our shared interest in telling our stories to the world by striking a keyboard. Now we are a family of sorts, connected by our mutual respect for each others highs and lows.

You are my fellow bloggers but you are so much more. Wives. Girlfriends. Moms. Sassy single gals.

On this day, your day, I salute you all.

Be well, my lovely friends.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to To The Women Who Made Me Who I Am.

  1. Happy Mom’s Day to Mrs. Hook!

  2. Speechless. You are a good man, Hook :-)

  3. Those ladies in your life are very lucky to have you in theirs. :-)

  4. How lovely. Heartfelt words from the soul. Bless you and all that is yours.

  5. Nicely done, Sir!
    (This may get you out of any hot water you got yourself into recently) ;-)

  6. jaye says:

    The way you speak of your daughter speaks to the remarkable woman she will become; how could she not be remarkable having grown up nurtured by such love. From a girl who never had that, I say thank you for reminding me it exists :).

  7. The is an endearing tribute to the women in your life. May you all live long and well. Happy Mother’s Day to the Mrs.

  8. Paul says:

    Well said Hook. Perfect sentiment for the day. Thank you and Happy Mother’s Day to your family.

  9. Sofia says:

    Beautiful tribute to the women in your life.
    You are blessed.
    Thank you for sharing such sweet words. I am honored to read them. :-)
    xox

  10. A lovely and loving post. You are indeed very blessed. :)

  11. And this is the underlying reason that I’ve adored following you Hook. Yes, the hilarity and occasional stunner that you pull from your job is worthy enough reading, but it’s this heart that brings everything up to a level we can feel – heart to heart. Nice post.

  12. hellokalykitty says:

    Love this post :). All the ladies in your life are blessed as well.

  13. You too, my dear Robert and all the beautiful galls in your life! :-)

  14. Jennifer says:

    A beautiful post, full of love and respect, it would be hard to not love these women in your life. And we, your readers, are as grateful as ever to be included in your family (well, I can’t speak for everyone, but I’m sure others feel the same way). Hoping for the day we get to meet for real :-)

  15. susielindau says:

    Your tribute gave me shivers!!! I don’t get them very often these days. Absolutely beautiful Hook! Give Jackie a hug for me!

  16. Look at you. Swinging for the fence and hitting it out of the park. Pretty nice work, pal.

  17. Aw. You got me a little misty. Yer just an ol’ softie, aren’t you, Hook?

  18. maurnas says:

    Oh, this was so sweet.

  19. What beautiful and sweet words…. you truly honor those women (and puppy dog) :-) in your life by giving them credit where credit is due for the man you are! The rest of us appreciate that as well…… I pray your lovely wife and other women in your life had a wonderful day! Mine was awesome! :-)

  20. Trent Lewin says:

    Well put, Hook. Touching, honestly – you’re a good man.

  21. Lovely post, Hook. (Late to the party as the weekend was so wild and wacky.) You bring smiles to many, thanks

  22. curvyroads says:

    This was lovely, Hook!

  23. Cameron says:

    You’re rather a sweetie, aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

