5×5 With The Hook: Ashley A. Sapp

This certainly isn’t a photoblog and I’m certainly not Peter Parker, but I’d like to open with a picture, with your permission, of course.

You don’t mind? Thanks. I don’t care what your ex says, you’re the best.

This is Ashley and her killer smile.

Ironically, Ashley is a writer but her smile speaks volumes. Still, I think it only appropriate that I share a few details about Ashsappley before we get to the good stuff.  (That’s what the privileged elite in her inner circle call her. Please, don’t be so jealous, it’s embarrassing.)

Ashsappley is…

  • Inspiring.
  • So talented, even her “funky, wrestling-with-depression” posts put a smile on my face.
  • A work-in-progress. (I love that.)
  • Wonder Woman with crimson locks. Seriously, her self-awareness and raw talent is exceeded only by that winning smile.

Admittedly, I don’t know Ashley all that well (for all I know, she could be a serial killer or worse, a Kardashian follower), but she’s impressed me so far and I’m sure you’ll agree… the girl can write.

On a personal note, I’ve been pretty frustrated with my writing “career”, parenting (it’s difficult to inspire your child when part of you has given up on your dreams), and life in general, but Ashley’s inexhaustible optimism has given me hope.

Now, on with the show.

1)  Your favorite beach on this plane of existence is located…

   I had the wonderful fortune of spending a lot of money to go on a cruise to the Caribbean last year. Though I am pretty sure Bora Bora would end up being my favorite when I run away to live in a box on the beach, for now I will have to say St. Maarten was stunning. I had to be dragged away our last day because I was convinced I could live there. There may not have been a lot of logic involved, but I was going with what my heart wanted. I’m told that’s what matters.

2)  Is it true your smile contains 1.21 gigawatts of raw power?

   Oh, that is absolutely an inaccurate measurement. Perhaps your smile-o-meter needs re-calibrating, but the correct amount is actually 1.20 gigawatts. Just shy of causing blindness in others – consider yourself lucky! There have been many of close-calls, but as it stands, my smile is still within legal standards.

(Come to think of it, my smile-o-meter has been on the fritz lately. That’s what I get for shopping at Mel’s Bargain Smile Shack.)


3)  Awards shows: Worth your time or an exercise in mental self-mutilation?

   Award shows are a waste of time for me, especially because I don’t have cable and would therefore only be staring at a blank screen. However, I do find the commentary of other viewers via Twitter quite amusing. It’s a snarkfest, which I am always game for.

NO WONDER HIS WIFE LEFT HIM…

4)  We’ve all become obsessed with celebrity/political meltdowns lately. If you could say one thing to Rob Ford, what would you say?

    I had backed away from paying attention to celebrity, particularly political, mishaps because I noticed that I would work myself up into an Ashley frenzy (not healthy for anyone). However, Rob Ford was hard to not hear about, so I did learn about his love-hate relationship with scandal and particular substances. Because he is running again with the promise to “continue doing the job he was elected to do”, I would probably only say to him, “I don’t think that job means what you think it does if history is an indicator.”

5)  You’ve made quite a journey across the web in your blogging career. Is there a site left that you wish you could contribute to?

   That is very kind of you to say. I think my next stop should be Oprah. So if she’s ever giving out spots on her website for bloggers (it’s possible; I hear she likes to give things away), that is where you’ll find me.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Told you she was cool.

I want to thank Ashley for slumming today and for brightening everyone’s day – again. I’m going to let the lady see us off with another winning pic…

 

See you in the lobby, kids…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Ashley A. Sapp

  1. No award shows?! No political or celebrity scandals?! Do you know what they call people like you? Evolved.

    • Ashley says:

      I suppose a more accurate statement would be that I do view some clips from award shows. For example, Benedict Cumberbatch photobombing U2 probably amused me for too long, but alas, I’m going for full disclosure here. A bookmark was made out of it. Thank you kindly for thinking of me as evolved before I totally ruined that impression. :]

  2. TJLubrano says:

    Ah I know Ashely via The Indie Chicks and she is one cool and lovely lady. This was such a great read! And yes, she has a fabulous smile! ^_^

    • Ashley says:

      Awe, thank you, TJ! I’ve loved getting to know you via the IC group and am glad you enjoyed me taking over The Hook’s space on the web today. Anything to get Oprah’s attention, right? ;]

  3. Oh, a new one to follow! Hoorah! Thanks, Hook :-)

  4. She certainly does have a killer smile.

    • The Hook says:

      Thanks again, Ashley, for shining that winning smile in my direction. You’ve cast some much-needed rays of sunshine across the blogosphere.
      Well done.

  5. Who needs award shows with blogger friends like you Hook?
    If that great smile isn’t enough to get the day started well, her astute, yet humorous comment about Rob Ford will.
    Thanks for the giggles Ashley and Hook (dreams need time to steep like quality tea – wine is better with age, so is writing…patience. Things happen for a reason. Sometimes you have to float a bit.)

    • Ashley says:

      So very true – the blogosphere is a great place for me to keep up with the scandals, as well. That and the internet, of course. Also, I love your observation that wine is like writing and becomes better with age.Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! It’s great getting to meet other bloggers through people like Hook.

  6. Eva says:

    I’ll have to visit Ashley’s site!

  7. Yay Ashley! Nice to see your beautiful smile here!
    I’m only just getting to know her as well, Hook, but she’s winning me over. :-)

  8. A pleasure to make your blogging acquaintance, Ashley. I generally refraining from smiling in public, but only for fear of being mobbed by unemployed orthodontists. I tend to whistle inadvertently if I smile and the wind happens to be blowing in the wrong direction.

    I could live in a box on a beach, so long as I had books, a laptop to write with, a good stereo, and my favourite albums. Close to heaven.

    • Ashley says:

      A pleasure to meet you, as well! Y’know, a smile that also whistles is pretty unique. You might even say a talent!

      I will have to agree with you there. If heaven was a place on earth, a box on the beach would certainly qualify. And if you couldn’t have a stereo, just smile and make music that way. :) Thanks for reading!

  9. Congrats Ashley. You do great work, so this was well deserved!

  10. bfg666 says:

    I don’t wanna play the downer here but this “killer” smile looks like an unsettling grin to me, Joker style… More like the smile of a killer! No offence, Ashley, you’re probably a great girl since you’re featuring here, but I just find it weird to see so much upper gum.

    • Ashley says:

      No offense taken! You could be seeing right through to my inner Joker, who knows!

      • bfg666 says:

        Heh heh, glad to see you take it so well. Definitely a great girl! I tend to speak my mind without filter and people can have trouble with it, especially women when talking about a physical trait. To alleviate my words, you’re otherwise pretty. And I’ve always been a sucker for pale eyes.

  11. Jonny Eberle says:

    These 5×5 spots always brighten my day, Hook! I don’t know how you find the time to read all of these great bloggers, but I’m certainly glad that you do. Keep it up!

    • Ashley says:

      I’m happy to hear my little 5×5 spot helped to brighten your day (with the help of Hook, of course)! This series has become one of my favorites, as it has helped me come across some amazing bloggers, which is invaluable. Thanks for reading!

  12. Paul says:

    Pleasure to make your acquaintance Ashley. Hook introduces us to some of the most amazing people. I look forward to visiting your blog.

    • Ashley says:

      It’s lovely to meet you as well, Paul! This has been a great experience – getting to meet y’all has been a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

