5×5 With The Hook: Jo Bryant

In the beginning, before my maturation as a writer, the soul-searching posts it produced and the accolades that followed, there was Jo Bryant. Day 100 - 10.5.2013

Not only is she in no danger of ever taking herself too seriously, she is the original Good Egg.

She looked out for a neophyte writer named Robert Hookey as he self-published his first book.

She sent him invaluable links to marketing sites, interviews with published authors and most of all, she listened to him.

Day 35 - 6.3.2013

Jo does it all:

  1. Movie Reviews with an unmistakeable flair.
  2. Kooky facts and fictional tidbits.
  3. Photo challenges that will resonate in your brain box – forever.
  4. Poetic verse.
  5. Biographical reflection.

Day 113 - 23.5.2013

I could go on, but why should I deprive you of the pleasure of discovering Jo Bryant for yourself? Do I really have that right?

No, I certainly don’t. So let’s get to the queries, shall we?

1)  You’ve supported me from the beginning. (Thanks for that, by the way!) In the years we’ve been blogging, what has been your most positive experience?

Smiling…loads of smiling, well actually loads of laughter as well. There is so much self-depreciating humour that it just always makes me feel good when I stop in. Though I did have an awful lot of fun when we were searching out ways to get your book noticed and reviewed.

2)  Who is your favorite Blues Brother?

 

 

Why Dan the man of course !!!!

3)  If you had to consume a single food for the rest of your life, what would you choose?

Chocolate…dark, almost bitter, stick to your tongue, slide down your throat, make you feel chocolate.

4)  I love superheroes, but their abilities don’t really seem practical; if you could have one super power that would enhance your life, what would you choose?

The ability to never need to sleep…life is so short…it almost feels like a waste. I’d be an ‘Edward Cullen’ type vampire then I guess. Because being able to run fast, jump really high, swim across oceans and sparkle would be cool especially if you had all the time in the world to do it…but I would so miss the chocolate. 

5)  Use a single word to describe the happiest day of your life.

Freedom. Now there is actually a whole story behind THAT word.

Hope that helps.

**************************************************************************************

Nothing like leaving the audience hanging, right, Jo? Oh well, at least it gave me an excuse to use a superhero pic. My thanks to an old friend, good egg and all-around genuinely cool person for gracing us with her presence.

Day 101 - 11.4.2013.png

I’m going to leave you with one last image of Jo and her adventurous spirit, one we should all channel when life gets too heavy to bear. See you in the lobby, kids…

P1040222

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Jo Bryant

  1. The Hook says:

    I want to thank my guest and longtime supporter for coming out and brightening up my little blog. You rock, Jo!

  2. Ellwood was the best Blues Brother because he didn’t take his glasses off (at least in the version we see).

    *adds Jo to follow list*

  3. I was on a horrible corporate retreat once and one of the team building exercises was to pick a superpower. I jumped right in and chose the ability to never need sleep. GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE. Every other cog after me chose a humanitarian superpower. End hunger. End violence. Eliminate drought conditions. What a bunch of phonies! And what a waste of a superpower!

    • Jo Bryant says:

      Well if you ask me never needing sleep has to be the ONLY superpower you will ever need. if those plonkers thought about it at all they would have seen that sleeplessness would mean they could achieve all that other stuff. I always wondered what one of those retreats would be like…not for me I think. Do they make you do all that ‘bonding’ stuff…like letting yourself fall to build ‘trust’…yikes…what a waste of time.

      • It was awful. The falling bit. Wearing t-shirts ladened with inspirational messages and our company logo. Everything. We ate like pigs though, so that part was pretty cool. You’d best steer clear is my advice.

        My other superpower was to be a virtuoso the second I touched any musical instrument. All the mastery with none of the endless, boring practice sessions leading up to it.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        I like your 2nd choice…that would be fun.

      • That wish was born from my having lost one too many girlfriends to guitar players. Guitar = seduction. Now, THERE’S a superpower.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        I think you might be on to something with that one. ;)

  4. dentaleggs says:

    That was awesome! Now I want four fried chickens.

  5. Dan was indeed the man.

    He knew it was 106 miles to Chicago. That they had a full tank of gas and a half a pack of cigarettes. He also observed that it was dark and that they were wearing sunglasses.

    Elwood also could belt out a mean cover of “Rawhide.” And he innately understood that man COULD live be bread alone (as long as that bread was toasted).

    Seriously, what’s not to love?

  6. The Cutter says:

    I really enjoy how unimpressed that cat looks in that picture.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Is that her backyard, seriously, that’s cool! Jo rocks!

    • Jo Bryant says:

      I wish. No it isn’t my backyard…but a friend’s. You walk out her doors, down the lawn and there it is. I love her for more than the backyard [she makes a mean tomato soup among other things], but I do love that as well.

      • Jennifer says:

        Ooh, tomato soup, one of my favs. I’d be her friend for that too.. Wish I could live that close to the water.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        Monday she brought me a slice of her ‘out of this world’ blueberry cheesecake with blueberry sauce, when she came for a visit. No wonder I am in love with her.

  8. Tom Merriman says:

    Good post for a Good Egg Hook!

  9. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Love the Jo B woman Monsieur Hook!

  10. Great introduction to a great blogger. Thanks, Hook.

  11. Juli cole says:

    Joe is a delight and has always been amazingly kind .

    • Jo Bryant says:

      You HAVE to say that Juli…seeing the past we share…hehehehe. Goodness I can’t believe how long we have known each other. And all the stuff we got up to. I am blaming you for my wayward ways. ;)

  12. TBM says:

    Jo is a wonderful blogging buddy and I’m so glad we met over two years ago. Thanks for highlighting such a special lady. And I would want to be Edward Cullen as well so I could read while everyone else sleeps and maybe learn Spanish

  13. stephrogers says:

    You had me at dark chocolate. There really is nothing better!

  14. giselzitrone says:

    Schöne Bilder liebe Grüße von mir.Gislinde

  15. Nice to meet you, Jo Bryant.
    Another revealing interview, Mr. Hook.

  16. Michelle says:

    So excited to have ‘discovered’ Jo! AND an Elwood Blues picture. I’m in love.

  17. Hook, you find the coolest people. Blues Brother Dan, water sprite, and approved by cat. Jo’s got it all. (although sleep does have it’s benefits – I get a lot of writing done then…maybe more get work done than realize it? Giving up chocolate? shiver)
    Cheers for another great party here.

Leave a Reply

