5×5 With The Hook: Paul Tappay

Appropriately, what I am about to tell you is a time-honored comic book cliché, but the truth is irrefutable: There are heroes among us.

My hometown is known the world over for its natural beauty but when you look deeper, past the neon lights and tourist offerings, you see the people who make this city their home.  And let me tell you, brothers and sisters, some of these cats are way cool.

The owner of Pulp Comics, Paul Tappay is more than the guy who sells me my comics, he’s someone I admire, not only for his vocation but his courage and sense of honor.  He’s fully “plugged-in“to the world of social media, as the kids say.  (Yes, I realize I’m beginning to sound more like a grandfather everyday but that chapter in my life is many, many, many, moons away – or at least, it better be!

Click on the box below and decide for yourself if I’ve selected another worthy soul for my 5×5 series or if I’ve simply fallen prey to my Inner Nerd once more.

Told you so. Incidentally, since the video runs out a tad early I’ve included this handy link to the Pulp Comics website where you can find a full summary of Paul’s journey from comic store patron to owner.

And no, I don’t feel bad for gloating. After nineteen years of marriage I take great pride in those rare moments when I’m proven right. But enough about me.  Take it away, Paul…

1) You have the coolest destiny in the world – in my humble opinion – but if you had to choose another path to follow where would you go?

   That’s very kind Robert. I do believe in destiny and although I wouldn’t change a thing if I had a chance to do a “multi-verse version” of myself I would have liked to have been a private detective that lived on a house boat with a one eye dog, battling an alcohol problem…not the dog, me. I think I’ve watched too many 80′s movies growing up apparently.

2) Bling: Does it work on dudes or are they just asking for ridicule and public humiliation when they deck themselves out in gold and silver?

   Well you are talking to the wrong guy about bling. The last jewelry I wore was a ring that I got rid of when I lost 134lbs. That was wife #1…Prior to that was pierced ears in high school. Ya. Let’s be honest, growing up in the falls there’s lots of dudes wearing gold and silver. .to each their own. That’s why we have Russell Oliver.

3) Your secret (though not anymore) guilty pleasure is…

   My secret guilty pleasure is probably not very secret. I love listening to John Tesh. .but here’s a bonus one: I enjoy crying during sappy romantic comedies… The wetter the better.

4) Speaking as a fan and not an organizer (Paul launched Niagara’s first comic convention which had since become the behemoth known as Niagara Falls Comic Con) the best thing about a comic con is…

   (*Former organizer) The best thing about a comic con is the community that supports it. The people with like minded love and appreciation for all things nerd and pop culture. It’s a safe place for everyone no matter what you like to come together and share your interests and immerse yourself in the sub culture. Cosplayers, artists, collectors, autograph seekers , just to name a few, you are the reason why comic cons exist and thrive. Love the people. They are like my family.

I COULDN’T INTERVIEW THE OWNER OF A COMIC BOOK STORE AND NOT INCLUDE A SHOT OF A SUPERHERO – OR A REASONABLE FACSIMILE THEREOF – NOW COULD I?

5) What’s your favorite amusement park ride?

   I used to be a big roller coaster guy when I was a younger man, but if I had to pick one I would say the Tilt-A-Whirl. Classic ride. Great for dates and also with the family.

NEVER FORGET TO TAKE TIME TO SMILE AND INDULGE YOUR SILLY SIDE, KIDS! PAUL DOES.

************************************************************************************

And there you have it, folks. Yet another example of the cool, courageous souls that make my city so much more than a town built around an enormous hole in the ground filled with water.

I’m out of here folks. I’d love to stay, but it’s New Comic Book Day and there are adventurers to be had, worlds to be explored and anatomically-incorrect heroines and villainesses to be olgled, so it’s off to Pulp Comics I go.

See you in the lobby, citizens…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Paul Tappay

  1. Another great interview, Hook. What a great story behind Pulp, too :-)

  2. Great interview! I couldn’t help but think about The Big Bang Theory throughout it all. Pulp definitely knows how to rock superheros!

  3. What a cool cat.

    Battling an alcohol problem with a one eyed dog while watching sappy romance movies sounds kind of nice. I don’t know about the houseboat though. Alcohol = man overboard eventually. Probably. One of the things that saddens me the most about the south city area I spent so much of my youth in is that all the comic book stores and baseball card shops have vanished. Glad to see they still thrive elsewhere.

  4. You’re such a nerd and have access to some cool people! I love it!! Great interview~ :-)

  5. I was in Niagara Falls in October 2013. Took my parents as part of their Bucket List. Wish I knew about you then. Would have loved to see your version of Niagara Falls, and visit the comics store ;) I do love Niagara-on-the-lake though. So beautiful and quaint.

  6. The Cutter says:

    Nice. I’ve always had this dream of opening a comic book store. Too bad it’s unlikely to actually happen.

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    I’ve been having problems the last two weeks with WordPress unfollowing blogs for me. After seeing your comment on DOAT’s blog, I thought, “Hmm, I haven’t seen a post from the Hook in a while.” Sure enough, when I pulled up your blog, I saw I was no longer following. My apologies! I have since corrected that. Makes me wonder who else has been unfollowed for me that I don’t know about. Argghh.

  8. Enjoyed seeing the cool guy in your neighborhood. Love the “multi-verse version” of Paul. Tilt-a whirl is the best!

  9. “owning my own comic book store” was on the list of coolest jobs when I was I kid….somewhere after “candy taste tester” and before “fireman” ?

  10. Sounds like a cool job to me. If half the people working could have jobs they love.
    Another clever interview. :-)

  11. Ned's Blog says:

    Some of my best memories growing up took place at Bob’s Comic Books, getting yelled at by “Bab” (he had a New York accent) to “buy it before you bend it!” He always had a big, fat cigar clenched between his teeth while he perched himself on a tall stool watching soap operas all day.

  12. I’m still laughing at the thought of the boozy dog from question #1. Bravo!

  13. TBM says:

    Oh what a cool job, to own a comic book store. And there’s nothing wrong with showing your inner nerd. Of course I’m a nerd to I may be biased. But nerds rock!

  14. Pulp Comics is the best. Great interview.

  15. unfetteredbs says:

    There some fabulous people out there. Thanks for introducing me to them. What an A+++ guy!!

Leave a Reply

