5×5 With The Hook: Rohan Healy.

His name isn’t cool, it’s ice cold.

He is Rohan Healy and he is as close to a true Renaissance man as any of us will ever meet.

He writes. He makes music. He helps guide others to sexual enlightenment.

1)  You’ve focused your attention on the role sex plays in our lives, but let’s break the guy mold for a moment and talk romance. What’s the best part of being involved in a new relationship, in your opinion?

Hmm, I think the best part of the new relationship is being with the greatest person on the planet. In those early days we tune out our partner’s faults and just revel in the perfection.

Everyone is putting their best foot forward and letting the chemistry take over. Like when having a few pints, it feels good when the troublesome frontal cortex is shut up for a while.

2)  Our television viewing habits can be quite telling. Your favorite guilty pleasure: TV?

I don’t actually own a TV, we do have laptops though and when the working day is done my guilty pleasure is some Japanese anime in bed. Nothing like settling in with some Ouran High School Host Club or crying my eyes out over some Elfen Lied. Plus I have a major crush on Kaname Chidori…shhhh

3)  You’re a pretty healthy guy, but what’s your favorite fast food?

Hmm, I know it’s cliche but pizza is always good, and anything with cheese! Veganism is not for me.

4)  If you could trade places with anyone on the planet for 24 hours, who would you choose to be?

I’d trade places with Bono, quickly set up a fund for Irish musicians and writers using his full personal fortune to help artists record, publish and market their work, I’d donate all of U2′s real estate to the homeless and I’d transfer 100,000 to the bank account of Rohan Healy because…well, why not ;)

5)  What are you most comfortable in, in terms of clothing? Dressy attire? “Chillin’ like a villain” outfits? What makes you feel most relaxed?

A few years ago I got  a big bunch of Rohan t shirts printed up as merchandise. I kept about 15 of them and now they are pretty much the only t shirt I wear. Of course in Dublin it’s rarely t shirt weather so I like big woollen jumpers (sweaters) and corduroy pants, yes I’m like an old man…

Rohan The First Decade

(But an old man who rocks the seniors’ residence!)

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

The end is near once more, friends. My thanks to one of the Greats for being generous with his valuable time and wisdom.

Be well, kids.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Rohan Healy.

  1. Daile says:

    2 of my favourites in the one place?! How did I get so lucky? Egads!

    Rohan is an old wise man trapped on a young funky persons body. This was a great 5×5 Hook!

  2. I think Bono is relieved we cannot switch places with people… ;) Great interview to you both.

  3. Rohan is five kinds of cool. Great feature, Hook!

  4. REDdog says:

    Hook, when does your legendary status run into a fucking boundary or do you only know the coolest people on the planet?

  5. Lovely! I bet an awful lot of people would trade places with Rohan as well.

    I often wished that people in long-time relationships would go thru a sexual amnesia ever once in a while (so to speak) and have those same first-date-butterflies that we so fondly remember.

  6. TJLubrano says:

    Chidori!!! Ah I have to watch the series again :) Very cool feature! I have to check out Rohan’s site as soon as I can!

  7. This is the second post this morning that has mentioned frontal cortex. Did I miss a documentary or something? Rock on, Rohan! And hook as well.

  8. Great plan for 24 hours of being Bono! I like the way Rohan thinks.

  9. Tried to LIKE this post but my like button doesn’t want to work. So I’ll throw some love on it here!

  10. Gotta like someone who loves anime. Will have to check out Rohan’s music. Thanks :)

  11. When you transfer 100,000 dollars to your account, can you send some my way?

    I’m so excited to check out your blog. Not only because you seem cool, but because I long to travel to Ireland (or Scotland) one day. :)

    Enjoy your day in the 5×5 spotlight!
    Lindsey

  12. Thanks for being a champ and having me on for 5 X 5! I had loads of fun coming up with my answers, such a fun format :)

    Will reblog tomorrow, you rock!

    Rohan.

    • The Hook says:

      No, you rock, Rohan!
      I can’t thank you enough for stopping by and running things in my absence. You’re a man of many talents and a damn nice guy to boot.
      Stay cool buddy.

  13. susielindau says:

    I loved Dublin when we were there in 2001. I have to go back!
    Love your t-shirt!

  14. Far Out! Love Rohan! Been following him for a while….such wise words from such a young mind. I suspect he is an old soul! :-)
    Rock on~

  15. Another cool interview. Must wander over to Rohan’s
    Anime rocks! Love the t-shirt

  16. The Hook says:

    Thank you, Rohan, for being one of the coolest, most honest and REAL cats on the ‘net.
    Our little WordPress circle of friends appears to be imploding right now but over here at You’ve Been Hooked we love everybody – with reason, of course!

    Thanks again, Rohan. You’re one of my faves and my cyber-pad is cooler for your presence.

  17. Reblogged this on rohan7things and commented:
    The always excelent Robert Hookey (The Hook) of You’ve Been Hooked was kind enough to ask me five probing questions, and I was cool enough to answer (*ahem*)! Thanks again to The Hook for having me :) Enjoy!

  18. OK. The Bono thing is brilliant. Way to plan for your future, sir!

  19. rarasaur says:

    Oh this is awesome! I love Rohan!

  20. girlseule says:

    Always been a fan of Rohan’s blog. Great interview.

Leave a Reply

