5×5 With The Hook: Lindsey Dubois

She is courageous.

She reads at a big girl level.

Her head is on straight, kids.

The blog is Based on a True Story. The blogger is Lindsey Dubois and she’ll make you smile with her refreshing attitude and optimism.

Buster the Dog and ILet’s get to know her a little better, shall we?

1)  Aquaman:  Under-valued hero or fishy freak?

   The fact that I had to Google and then watch Aquaman on YouTube should say a lot here.  After subjecting my eyes to Aquaman, here is what I came up with:  He is sort of a fishy freak and an under-valued hero all at the same time.  Anyone who can let their freak flag fly like Aquaman does so freely is a hero in my book.

2)  Your favorite number is…

   Eight.  Eight is GREAT!  To me, the number 8 signifies the infinite flow of life- that which goes up must come down and what is down will inevitably come back up.  The number eight reminds me of the need for balance in life, that nothing is promised to anyone (other than change) and to be humbly thankful for what you have or are (not) given at any moment.  Pythagoreans are said to have called seven the most spiritual number, but I have to disagree.  I think the better choice would have been eight.

3)  Do you have a role model?

   I believe before we look outward to define someone as a role-model, it is equally as important to go within and look at how our own self has served as a guiding light on the path to our highest potential.  I usually always answer this question as myself, based on how much I’ve overcome and where I am in my personal journey today.  

   However, I do have a few role-models outside of me as well.  One of them is my fellow blogger, Jackie (6monthstolive.me).  She discovered my blog a few years ago and has not only supported my writing and the way in which I express myself, but she has become a dear friend and confidant as well.  

   Jackie is someone who left the corporate world and is literally creating her dream life, making a living doing what she loves.  I am touched that she is such a cheerleader for my writing and I do look toward her work in order to gather inspiration as I pursue my dream.

4)  What makes you laugh/smile uncontrollably?

I work as a pre-school teacher with one and two-year-olds (yes, it really is a psychotic profession).  However, the thing that makes my heart melt and sparks a huge and delightfully painful smile on my face is when a one-year-old who is just learning to talk says, “I hold you,” when they want you to pick them up.  No matter how many times I’ve heard this, it never gets old.  

5)  Your favorite flavor of cake is…

   I. LOVE. ALL. CAKE.  I love it so much that I would marry it over and over again.  I dream of rolling in creamy, glutinous fields of the culinary delight.  Sometimes, I only accept birthday party invites, simply due to the fact that cake will be there. 

   I generally don’t discriminate against any kind of cake, as they all equally make my taste buds sing AND my butt grow more cushiony at the same time…. But if I had to choose just one to have an indulgent, somewhat torrid affair with, it would be carrot cake slathered in a THICK decadent layer of cream cheese frosting.  If there is a Whole Foods near you, I highly recommend going to the pre-made cake slice section in the bakery and raiding all of the carrot cake they have.  

   Go ahead, give it a try.  You’ll thank me later.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Cake rules, no question.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m now craving something sweet….

My thanks to Lindsey for being such a cool do-gooder and all-around good sport.

See you soon, kids.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to 5×5 With The Hook: Lindsey Dubois

  1. Huh, I’m craving a Fillet O’ Fish now.

    Great interview and recommendation, Hook!

    • Fillet O’Fish DOES sound good now, or anything deep fried with a side of cake…..mmmm…though it’s only 6:34 am, I’m now fantasizing about lunch. :)

      Thanks for reading and have a great day!
      Lindsey

  2. Great interview! Now I’m seeing the number “8” in a whole new light! I may have to make that my favorite number now, too – I’ve never had a favorite number – and it’s an even number, which I prefer anyway!

  3. Ah!, Lindsey! So glad to see your pretty face here! I love what you said about the number 8 and your role model. I also love cake…..LOVE CAKE. I actually love just plain yellow or white cake with a light buttercream or marshmallow frosting. Oh geeze. Now I’m really craving cake.

    Hook, so glad you had Lindsey on here! I’m new to her blog, but I’ve really enjoyed it. I feel like she and I are kindred spirits.

    • Thank you! I too, feel like you are a kindred spirit. :)….. We even share a love of cake! I also enjoy white and yellow cake with buttercream frosting. My second favorite cake is actually white with whipping cream frosting, strawberries and peaches drenched with sugar in the middle and topped with fresh strawberries. That is actually my annual birthday cake. I too am thinking of cake now (actually, when am I NOT thinking of cake?). I might have to blog with cake today. :)

      Thanks for your sweet thoughts and I hope you have a great day!
      Lindsey

  4. Anyone who likes cake that much is OK by me. Recently, I have encountered several people who feel the same way about the number 8. I guess 7 is just so … yesterday.
    Thanks for the lead to Lindsey, Hook.

  5. Glad to hear 8 is catching on. :). It really is a cool number. I do like cake a ton. Imagine my elation when a strictly cupcake bakery opened in my town a few years ago. I must be their biggest fan.

  6. The Hook says:

    What can I say, Lindsey?
    You appear to be a hit!
    Thank you for continuing the 5×5 winning streak.

  7. Katie says:

    Oh goodness… The carrot cake with the delicious cream cheese frosting… Destroyer of all cakes. I could always go for carrot cake.

    • Destroyer of all cakes. YES! I love that description! Carrot cake really is the destroyer of all cake. I think I will be having cake today. Glad to find a fellow carrot cake lover. It’s so funny, when I was a kid, I hated carrot cake because it has the word “carrot” in it (and I know several kids who feel that way now). However, I had no idea what I was missing. Carrot cake really is like a dance party in my mouth. YUM.

  8. Jami says:

    Geez, that just made me want to order carrot cake while reading Lindsey’s blog. *Excuse me, waiter?*

  9. I had no idea of the power of 8. Mine is 3, and often 9 (being 3 times as lucky, because it’s 3 x 3, but sometimes 9 is too much so that’s why I revert to 3 as the base lucky number. Hope that makes sense).

    I do love cake but I tend to prefer pastries and suchlike: eclairs, and danish pastries, and cream filled meringues (they’re not pastries or cakes are they…are they? What are they?!), oh and doughnuts, LOVE doughnuts (I think they are their own category).

    • I know A LOT of people with 3 or 9 as favorite numbers. I think there is a lot of magic in those numbers as well.

      I think all pastries (including eclairs and all bready sweetness) are insanely delish, especially when cream-filled. Yum yum. Don’t even get me started with doughnuts. I love those. :) Why is it that I never feel full after eating them? Seriously, I can eat a dozen and only feel physically hungry afterward. Maybe doughnuts are the best kept diet secret?

  10. Eight, little kids, splashy, and cake – all the important stuff secured. (especially birthday cake).
    With inspiration blurting out of little mouths (and they are pretty wise…sometimes they share it.) Lindsey’s bound to create great things.
    Thanks for the great interview, Hook.
    (I’ll just stay up longer reading blogs – this one too good to ignore! Who needs sleep? Hook does without it….)

    • Seriously, I don’t think Hook actually sleeps! He is constantly churning out deep, thought-provoking (and funny) posts, plus he is forever showing blog love to his friends by way of never- ending features and being a regular commenter. Plus he works, he’s a husband AND a dad! You inspire me, Hook.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, I believe working with littles contains in it, the power to change the world. I recently quit my job, but am actively pursuing nanny jobs so I can keep learning and changing the world with little ones.

      Have a wonderful day,
      Lindsey

  11. I gave up cake but fish sounds good. It’s a quarter hour past noon. Time for lunch.
    Nice interview and nice to meet you, Lindsey.

  12. Pingback: I”ve Been HOOKED! | BASED ON A TRUE STORY

  13. I am actually salivating now and there aren’t any birthdays coming up around here until February…that’s about the only time my family goes for cake. I might have to go out a buy one of those huge bakery, overpriced, over frosted (yum!) cupcakes because of this interview!

    Seriously though, I love Lindsey’s blog and I love her spirit. I enjoyed the interview.
    As for a favorite number, I have to say that is a very hard choice for me. When I was learning to add and subtract in grade school, I used to get a lot of the problems wrong because to me numbers had personalities and 4 was very kind, 7 was happy and funny, 8 made me think of skinned-knees, I don’t know why. Anyway, I was always trying to get the answer to have a 4 or a 7 in it….

    Best of luck to Lindsey and the Hook.
    Peace!
    Jan

    • Yes, they are over-priced and over-sized, but so yummy.

      Thank you so much for your kind words. :)

      That’s so cool that numbers had personalities to you. I love hearing about the different ways in which we all experience the world. I actually like what you said about 7, as according to numerology, my life path number is 7.

      When I lived in LA, I used to park in garages with multiple floors on a regular basis. In order to remember where I put my car, I had a system: 1 was fun, 2 was coo, 3 was free, 4 sure, 5 was jive, 6 is for kicks, 7 was heaven, 8 was great and 9 was fine. My system never failed and most important, I never lost my car (except that first time which inspired the birth of my number system…

  14. Jennifer says:

    oooh, cake, for breakfast. But i have none…
    and my favourite number is 13. Not sure why, but with the eldest being born on Friday 13th, cemented it for me.

  15. robincoyle says:

    I agree. 8 is an excellent number. That is why they invented the Magic 8 Ball. It ain’t a Magic 3 Ball!

  16. Daile says:

    Another great 5×5 Hook! The only type of cake I like is carrot cake so you have me wishing for a whole foods in Australia… Also ‘I hold you’??!! My heart would melt too. Yay for Lindsey!

    • So glad you share a love of carrot cake too! I’m sure there has to be an amazing bakery in Australia that makes out of this world carrot cake.

      “I hold you,” is the most heart warming phrase in the world, especially when it’s coupled with a little one holding their blanky, reaching their tiny little arms out to give and receive the purest love and snuggles. There’s nothing like it.

      Thank you for taking part in my time in the 5×5 sun.

      Have a great day,
      Lindsey

  17. Brother Jon says:

    Yeah, cake is awesome. I like what Jim Gafigan says about it. It brings people together at work. “Bill’s leaving.” “Ah, never liked him.” “There’s cake.” “We better say goodbye.”

  18. Jo Bryant says:

    Did someone say ‘cake?’…another great post about another interesting person Hook

  19. Yes, I said ‘cake’ and thank you for your sweet words.

    Have a great night!
    Lindsey

  20. Thank you, Hook for having me over today. I had fun playing! Despite my love of cake, I don’t think I’ve ever talked about it so much in my life.

    BTW, that job interview went exceedingly well. At the end, my interviewer said, “I wish I didn’t have an interview right after you, as I don’t see a point in seeing her now that I’ve met you.” Though she will let me know for sure tomorrow, she already asked if I could start this week and asked me to do dome things for her tomorrow. It’s not definite yet. I’ll find out tomorrow. However, I did go to whole foods to get some pre celebration carrot cake and since they didn’t have any, I bought some pre celebration chocolate eruption cake.

    Here’s to new beginnings!
    Lindsey

  21. Finally got the link to work. Congrats on the interview from a fellow cake lover! God, do I love cake! And I had never read this blog before, so this is really cool. You rock, my friend!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  22. Lindsey, and obviously as you know The Hook, is a delight to read! Whether her posts are funny, profound, frustrating, or sad…I can’t seem to find ANY emotional or sensible reason to not feast on her every word. She is a genuinely real woman and I recommend her ANYTIME!

  23. Jacqueline says:

    Love this, Lindsey! I’m so honored to be considered one of your role models–WOW! Thank you! Keep going, girl. You’re making it happen, and I’ll continue cheering you every step of the way! :)

  24. jlheuer says:

    Interesting questions and great answers. I love the 5 X 5’s!

  25. The Guat says:

    Hook! What a great profile! I love Lindsey. I found her blog a while ago and then she took a hiatus just as I started reading it. Thanks for the heads up that she’s back and has been back. Got to check her out again :) Great 5X5 cake lovers unite. “I hold you,” Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. That totally would melt my heart and make me smile too. Nice :)

    • Thank you!! Your comment makes me smile!

      Cake is amazing and I swear, ‘I hold you’ is the most amazingly grounding, yet heart warming phrase ever. Everyone should hear it from a toddler at least once in their life. :)

  26. Now I need to go to the break room to see if anyone here is having a birthday. Thanks a LOT, Lindsey!

  27. curvyroads says:

    Wow, another GREAT 5×5 from the Hook…I just had to read all the linked posts.

    Lindsey, your writing is so brave and honest. I admire your courage in sharing your journey. You have a new follower for sure!

    Cheers,
    Lynne

    • Thank you so much for your words.

      You know, I cringed a little when I saw the posts Hook had chosen to feature as they are my least favorite posts. I often struggle with the idea of deleting those because I think they are incredibly sloppy and not worth reading. So the fact that Hook, you and others find some value in them truly means a lot to me. Thank you!

      I hope you have a great day!
      Lindsey

  28. Pingback: I’ve Been HOOKED! ¶ BASED ON A TRUE STORY

Leave a Reply

