A Visit To The Indie Chicks (Yay!) and a Surprise From The Bell Desk.

The hour is far from early, but my head is lost in a fog from which there appears to be no escape. 

However, my offering today has already been prepared and is live over at The Indie Chicks. By the way, if you haven’t checked out The Chicks, do so – NOW! They embody literary perfection in virtual form, folks. it’s that simple.

This piece comes from the heart – as opposed to most of my work which is inspired by the antics of the traveling public – and it embodies my feelings on fatherhood.

My greatest honor is being Sarah’s dad and while I screw up on a daily basis, I mean well and that tends to get me out of a fair number of scrapes. Never underestimate the value of an understanding family, my friends.

But I digress. I do that.

Read this and let me know if I’ve hit the mark will you, please?

5 Wishes For My Daughter

wishes for my daughter

In Other News From My Corner of The World:  I may be the blogging bellman, but I’m far from alone in terms of talent in the bell department…

Read this tale by my colleague Louis Godfree and be enlightened. I dare you. My colleague, Louis has depths unimagined by this guy, I can tell you that with absolute certainty. He can sing, draw, write, cook, heck, he’s most likely superhuman for all I know!

The Lone Samurai

by Louis Godfree

This week has been an embarrassment of riches, hasn’t it? I’m going to wrap it up, now guys; the ginger Louis gave me to suck on for my headache is potent stuff. I think I’m seeing multiple versions of the same guest…

Be well, and be back tomorrow for news of another guest post I’ve whipped up for an old friend.

See you in the lobby….

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Visit To The Indie Chicks (Yay!) and a Surprise From The Bell Desk.

  1. That was a beautiful tribute to Sarah. Number 5 being blank was very touching and very indicative of your belief in her. Lovely.

  2. Ned's Blog says:

    I absolutely loved your piece on the 5 wishes for your daughter. As a father with two daughters (18 and 12), I can attest to those same wishes, and the combination of disappointment and dismay I felt watching Miley completely lose any sense of self dignity. It embodied everything I hope NOT to happen to my own daughters, who — above all else — I try to foster a sense of self worth strong enough to avoid that kind of degradation, whether it be literal or figurative. I’m not a prude in any sense, but trying that hard to stand out and be recognized is a sign of an unhappy and confused soul — two of the things on my wish list for my daughters to not experience. Well done, Dad.

    • The Hook says:

      Thank you – Dad.
      Seriously, thank you for your input and praise. You have a real talent for the writing biz, my friend, and I wish you well with the book. I have a feeling you’re going to succeed, where I failed miserably.

  3. Those are wonderful wishes, Robert. Yep, you’ve definitely hit the mark!
    Sarah is a very fortunate daughter, just as you are a very fortunate dad! :-)

  4. The Cutter says:

    As a fellow father, that list seemed to hit the mark pretty well.

  5. Winding road says:

    those are beautiful wishes. I love your final wish, shows true respect and love for your daughter. You are a good dad, she’s lucky to have you!

  6. jlheuer says:

    You’ve done it this time. Brought tears to my eyes. I hope she sees how much you love and cherish her, if not now, then sometime in the future.

  7. My biggest wish for my daughters is that they love themselves!

  8. Lovely article! I commented over there.

  9. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir ein schönes besinnliches Weihnachtsfest und alles liebe.Grüße von mir.Gislinde

  10. Littlesundog says:

    I love this side of you, Mr. Hook… all of nature is singing the praises of your message!

  11. CharleneMcD says:

    Great post, and easily transformed into Wishes for my Sons. You daughter is a lucky girl, to have you for her father.

  12. curvyroads says:

    What a wonderful post! I love that you wish the best for her, and also understand that she is strong and will make her own way, when the time comes. She sure has a bitchin support system in her Dad!

Leave a Reply

