The Hook Is Back! (But Today, He Belongs To The Indie Chicks.)

Just when you thought it was safe to scroll the web for news of Bieber’s latest girlie scream for attention or an update on the crime against humanity known as “Batfleck”, I have returned to virtually walk among you, my friends.

Sort of.

(Monday’s post was an aberration of sorts; a flash of inspiration that could not be ignored. I fully intend to continue my hiatus, but I have some business to attend to first.)

As promised, I have a post that is currently polluting The Indie Chicks kick-ass site, which I hope will provide you with a moment’s respite from your spouse’s latest attempt to get you to visit a winery or your kids’ newest method of torturing the cat – or each other. Life is short, friends, and so we need to balance our obligations as members of a so-called civilized society with our inherent need to cut loose and laugh until we injure ourselves.

And so I hope my words cause you to experience a degree of pain, friends – but in a good way, of course.

CLICK HERE OR ON THE IMAGE BELOW – PLEASE!

theindiechicks, a father's story raising the next generation indie chick, the hook

And now, I bid you fare thee well, my friends. Enjoy New Comic Book Day.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Hook Is Back! (But Today, He Belongs To The Indie Chicks.)

  1. Cathy Ulrich says:

    I loved it, Robert! Wonderfully written. Your daughter sounds so cool!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Love this so much. My dad died when I was a little girl (6), and I always take great pleasure in reading real stories about daddy/daughter relationships like yours. Makes my mind wander and wonder about who my father was and our relationship that could have been.

    Your daughter sounds like a real amazing girl who is growing into a remarkable woman. You’re all lucky to have each other!

  3. likeitiz says:

    Ok, deal with whatever it is you have to deal with. But come back. Soon.

  4. What a beautiful relationship….thanks for sharing it with us. She’s a lucky girl to have a dad like you!! ;)

  5. michd74 says:

    My kids read Archie comics. I was a huge fan growing up. I ran away when I was ten and all I took was a blanket and a sack full of Archies. I went to my treehouse and read till hunger pangs overcame me and I walked twenty feet to my house where nobody was freaking out that I was gone. Lol

  6. Never truer words said, Hook.
    Headed over that way, thanks for the heads-up
    Hope you are getting to play outside and enjoy it all

    • Hook that was soooo cool/impressive
      “The little girl took her time and processed her options.”
      Now that line says so much.
      Sounds like our daughter. We weren’t your ordinary suburban parents wither (only there for the green space and schools…gotta have swim teams and such).
      It’s critical to raise strong resilient kids who have been given broad exposure what the world offers, appreciate it all and who have the courage to stand and say, “This is me. This is what I like. This is what I can and will do.” It’s sometimes hard on them during the process, but they turn into the most remarkable people. Hug that kid – and wife – and give yourself a pat on the back.
      (and some day you will create the most remarkable novel…when there’s time in the future and kid is off being wonderful)

  7. Honie Briggs says:

    Exceptional, Robert! As an aside, Burger King was the first date for me and my Loyal Follower. We were young and chronically broke, but our love was a flame broiled whopper. (jr. w/cheese)

  8. The Guat says:

    Dude very awesome to be a “comic book geek” nice … I love Box C and grew up in it, although it might have been easier there was no Internet and ho-like Kardashians on warping minds. BOX C I love it and I hope your daughter enjoys it! Good job dad! :)

  9. It’s strange; Mr. Hook always makes me laugh–somehow.

  10. Great post! Your daughter is a very lucky lady to have two parents that love her unconditionally and allow her to make these kind of choices for herself.

  11. With parents like you, she will “fill in the blanks” the very best way! :-)
    Beautifully written, well, as always, Robert!

  12. Jennifer says:

    Words escape me. Beautifully (and humorously) written, as always.

  13. bardictale says:

    This was a wonderful post, Hook. May she, you and the wife enjoy many more years to come^^

    (Don’t know why you thought we’d scroll the web for those…words escape me.You know who I mean.)

  14. Audrina says:

    Lovely story. I have always been a fan and avid reader of Archie Comics infact I collect them. Your wife has nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

