Rohan’s WordPress Tour – Last Stop: The Hook’s Cyber-Pad!

He’s been from one end of the blogosphere to the other in support of his latest book and now it is time to take a breath. But before he exhales, Rohan Healy has one last thing to say, one last story to tell.

Take it away, mate.

Until my late teens I was a bit of a prankster. One of my favourites was calling random numbers, proclaiming myself as a radio host and telling the poor sap on the other end of the line that they’d just won a cash prize or holiday. I would put on the classic Australian radio jerk voice and say something like this:

“Hi this is Jack Davies from 186.5 FM and you’ve just won a million dollars and a trip to Hawaii!! Congratulations, you are today today’s BIG WINNER!!!!!”

To which they would usually reply with something like this:

“OH MY GOOOOOOD! I CAN’T BELIEVE IT! GOOOOOOO OFF!!!!”

And then I’d hang up. And laugh. A lot.

It’s cruel I know, but I when I was 12 years old that’s just how I was. Over time my phone pranks evolved. My brother and my cousin would hold their hands over their mouths to muffle the giggles as I would dial another random number.

“Hello ma’am this is Jack Davies from 186.5 FM and you’ve been chosen as our BIG WINNER today!”

“Ooh my goodness! I-I’m at work, let me just put you on speaker phone so everyone in the office can hear!”

“Go right ahead. Now when you’re ready all you have to do is cluck like a chicken for 10 seconds and you’ll win yourself a thousand dollars! You ready? Okay, three, two, one, GO!”

“Quack, quack, quack, quack, quack, quack…”

The poor woman starts quacking like a duck, as my brother, my cousin and myself roll around the floor trying to contain our laughter. She was supposed to cluck like a chicken, but there she goes quacking like her life depended on it in front of her entire office. If hell exists I’ve already booked my place.

But this was not my greatest prank, oh no. Before I gave up pranking completely at 16 (yes, it was actually a conscious decision) I would pull a prank so devious I can barely believe I came up with it!

I was sitting in class, I was 15 years old. It was the last period and everyone was watching the clock. The work was done and we were just killing time when suddenly I hatched a plan. I motioned to my two friends to lean in close.

“Hey guys, I just thought of the funniest thing. Let’s tell D (not real name) that my dad needs a bone marrow transplant and that because the operation is so complex I have to go and live in China for two years with my whole family. Let’s say I’m moving in two months.”

We chuckled to ourselves. After class my two friends approached D with the news, asking him to keep it quiet. The next day I talked to him myself in order to break the news. For weeks we kept up the charade. I told him where we’d be living in China, and his visits to my place became very interesting indeed. D was being extra polite and considerate to my oblivious parents. I told him not to bring it up with my folks; too sensitive a matter. It was when he began organising the farewell party that I had to put an end to it.

After school one day my two co-conspirators and I confronted D. I told him everything, it was all a lie. No bone marrow transplant, no China, no illness, no risk to my dad’s life, no leaving, nothing. He stared at me blankly like a dog who doesn’t understand a word you are saying. And then he got angry, and then confused. He just couldn’t believe that we’d made it all up! And then he laughed. We all laughed. In the following days he commended us on the complexity of the prank, and our dedication to the act.

We remained good friends until I left Australia when I was 18.

I don’t know what attracted me to pranking in my younger days; having fun at someone else’s expense. Looking back now it all seems so cruel. I would not like to be pranked myself, and so these days I don’t prank others at all.

But hey, a funny story is a funny story. Have you ever been pranked? Or hatched a master prank yourself?

Thanks for reading, all the best!

Rohan.

I have to say, it has been an honor having a blogger of Rohan’s caliber enhance my site’s cool factor (assuming it has a cool factor, that is.) 

SEX, Not as a Separate Subject sml

BUY THIS BOOK – NOW!!!

Roahn’s latest tome is an exploration of a subject that every one of us has been preoccupied with since birth – which makes sense, since it led to our creation in the first place – and that is used to sell everything from beer to paper towels.

Our views and approach to S-E-X define us as human beings and I for one am glad to see someone as ridiculously cool as Rohan give this subject the treatment it deserves.

Way to go, buddy!

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Rohan’s WordPress Tour – Last Stop: The Hook’s Cyber-Pad!

  1. Is there a paperback version of the book?

    Great post, Rohan! I have bookmarked and “Followed” your blog.

    The Hook…you keep bringing the best Guest Bloggers, Bro. Or as we say in Texas, “You are totin’ the mail, Hoss.”

  2. susielindau says:

    I hated that back in school. People used to do that to me all the time and then would call me gullible! It’s probably why I never pranked anyone.
    I did throw some great surprise parties after setting up the unsuspecting friend….

    • The Hook says:

      I bet you did, Susie.
      Good to hear from you again. You’re a shining star, Ms. Lindau.

    • That sucks :( Naivety can get us in trouble, but genuine trust is such a rare and beautiful thing it’s a real pity that it is seen as something undesirable and so often taken advantage of!

      I went to the extreme other end of the spectrum once I was in my 20′s, trust and truth are hugely important to me now. No one likes to be tricked like that!

      The surprise parties do sound nice though hehe :)

      Rohan.

  3. Nidhi says:

    I did a big prank in 10th grade. I took all the photos of the scientists on our floor and piled them up in front of our Principals cabin. I hope none of my teachers read this.

  4. HoaiPhai says:

    I once pranked a guy parents and got him grounded for the summer. Seemed kind of severe considering the guy didn’t do anything.

  5. Katie says:

    When I worked in retail, the prank calls between departments were neverending. I actually enjoy the prank call, because I can take it and really run with it.

    • The Hook says:

      I bet you can, Katie!

    • Haha, yeah. My pranking days made me quite a prank call connoisseur, I hate it when I get a really lame random prank call like “Hi…um…shit…penis…HAHAHAHA…..” *beeeeeep*

      These kids need to work on their skills!

      I bet you could make a pretty good post out of your inter-departmental mischief!

      Rohan.

  6. Nora L Pratt says:

    This reminds me of my best friends father – his favorite holiday is April Fools Day. Where he makes up elaborate plans to fool his unsuspecting (yes, every year he gets her!) sister. Hilarious!

  7. Reblogged this on rohan7things and commented:
    What better way to end the blog tour than with a guest post at You’ve Been Hooked! The Hook is a blogger I’ve long respected so head over and check out my post as well as his. You’re guaranteed a giggle and more with The Hook!

    Rohan.

    • The Hook says:

      It has been an honor hosting your presence, mate.
      Keep up the good work. Your blog tour was nothing short of inspiring and bloody brilliant!

  8. stephrogers says:

    What attracted you to pranking? Rohan you’re an Aussie, it’s practically a national sport, it’s virtually compulsory, you’re either the prank-er or the prank-ee. I guess I always pulled the short straw….

  9. Pingback: Rohan’s Got a New Apartment! And a Girlfriend…? | rohan7things

  10. munchow says:

    I don’t know what to think about Rohan. If he had puled one of those stunts in my school time, I think I would have killed him (well, probably not literally). Today I am much more relaxed and would probably just laughed along. As Rohan says, a good story is a good story. By the way a great way to support your fellow blogger, Hook! You rock.

    • The Hook says:

      I do what I can. Thanks!

    • Oh I’d be that same. I could give it but I really couldn’t take it back then. I used to see red when people (friend or foe) would try anything with me. I even hit a kid (older than me at least) for repeatedly making fun of my hair. I’ve mellowed out a lot since those teen years but I know where you’re coming from.

      I wouldn’t pull anything like that these days. Guess it just shows how people change as they grow.

      Rohan.

  11. Told a mate once that the Olympic Heptathlon champion had a glass eye and that explained why she wasn’t very good at the high jump. For some reason he believes me to this day even though she is a TV celebrity now.

    • Haha. Aww that reminds me of another prank I forgot to mention in this post! I told a could of gossip girls that eating too much salt gives you foot cancer. By the end of the day people were telling me about it lol!

      Scary how easily people will take on untrue information!

      Rohan.

  12. Hook this is so generous & sweet of you to support a fellow blogger
    You are a Gem ♥
    love n hugs :)

  13. Being showcased by Hook’s cyber-pad may end up being more than the last stop. (Nice share, Hook)
    Australia does lots of pranks – Planking started there, right? And that coning fad that melted down….Something about the sun, sailing, and sharks lead to pranks? (it’s the beer involved?…why else swim with sharks?)

  14. MissFourEyes says:

    I planned a whole bunch of pranks in high school. The execution part on the other hand…I was too chicken (quack quack).

  15. Kozo Hattori says:

    Haha, Rohan. It is amazing what people will do for money. Your phone pranks remind me of film that featured the Waterboy’s song, Fisherman’s Blues (don’t remember the title of the film). But a guy video recorded the lottery numbers show, then told some guy to buy the numbers, then brought him back to his house to see if he won. He put in the video tape, so the poor sap thought he won the lottery.
    {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  16. Hook, Hook, Hook….of COURSE you would find someone else as interesting as yourself for me to follow! I love Rohan’s Blog and I am downloading a digital copy of S-E-X at this very moment! Anything to make me laugh……Love your prank stories Rohan!

Leave a Reply

