The Hook is an Indie Chick For A Day – Again!

Yesterday was a day forged in the fires of… well, you know.

But this is a new day.

And on this glorious day I have a post on The Indie Chicks site entitled 

THE HOOK’S GUIDE TO BEING A MEDICAL WING-MAN

CLICK HERE FOR SOME BAD MEDICINE – HOOK STYLE!

 

Regular readers of this blog will have no trouble determining just where this post originated. What’s the old adage? “Write what you know.” And that’s just what I’ve done.

  • Click.
  • Read.
  • Comment if you’re inclined.
  • Earn my eternal gratitude.

Enjoy your New Comic Book Day, folks.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The Hook is an Indie Chick For A Day – Again!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love you, can we get married?! I was sitting here nodding my head and chuckling. You have it all wrapped up, Mrs Hook is THE luckiest wife to have you. :-)

  2. Every woman wants to find a husband like you!!

  3. Pyx says:

    Well done Sir Hook and I would like to ad the same goes for us ladies: I am currently working on loosening my thick skin with my husband and his medical mystery – your list was bang on.

  4. Littlesundog says:

    You are bad ass, Mr. Hook! That article was well written and applies to both men and women. You have become a modern day philosopher in the study of relationships! Bravo to you!

  5. Katie says:

    Chicks dig The Hook–I’m proud to be one of them!

  6. MissFourEyes says:

    You ARE The Amazing Hook. Better than any superhero, I say.

  7. Hook, Superman has some competition now! How cool would a Hook superhero movie be? I’d watch it!!!!

  8. Great piece Hook. Left my lame-ass comment on the Indie Chicks site.

  9. Great post, Hook! I commented rather lengthily on Indie Chicks so I will cut you some slack here. ;-)

  10. MissTiffany says:

    Wonderful post! I hope one day I will find a husband as understanding as you. My own personal superhero.

  11. You learn fast – and an old soul, no doubt. (Anyone who hides/soothes the needles is a winner)…all that rubbing shoulders with heroes at Comic Con attendance did pay off. Well, done – and the post was great, too.(something of writer are you? No joke. Wit. Brilliance and so much greatness ahead. Write.)

  12. That was very inspired, Hook. I cried…
    You are a good man and I hope there are a ton of other men out there listening to your words and taking them to heart in order to become good men, too.
    (and I am ALL in for “HOOK: The Movie”! LOL!)

  13. Great post – those are all very good suggestions! I’m glad things are going better and hopefully life is returning to normal. Or as normal as it can be :) lol

    • The Hook says:

      As normal as it can be is right. Our reality has shifted but we’re dealing with it. The wife is a trooper through and through. She’s my hero.

  14. Be there – too true!

  15. audrina1759 says:

    You gave valuable advice in your post. I Hope people really read and understood it. The point I liked the most was the one about “listening”. I pray your wife gets better ( or overcomes her medical issues). Thanks for sharing.

  16. Hi Hook,

    Rock on ol’ pal! You are doing just great by asking folks to write what they know.

    Shakti

  17. Dear Mister Incredible Hook. You are funny, sensitive and caring. I know you’ve said that you’re far from perfect, but you just made everybody wish they have a father and a partner like you.
    I hope Mrs. Hook is okay.

  18. I’m not on any of the options offered at The Indie Chicks to leave a comment. Don’t have the patience to go through a Disqus registration, so I’ll paste my comment here.

    Let your eternal gratitude begin ka-ching-ing my way. ;-)

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    >Just remember to step outside your comfort zone and be whatever the woman in your life needs you to be. The love you save could be your own.
    - The ending captures the essence of your rare, required, realistic recount.

    Kate

  19. munchow says:

    Seems you have gotten all the chicks raving about this post – and you. Even with a marriage proposal included. Where will all this lead to? You and me, can we just be friends? The question aside, your post on Indie Chick was both very touching and full of wisdom. I wish all the best for you and your wife!

  20. Cayman Thorn says:

    Yanno, I’m as big a fan of the Indie chick as there is. But seriously man, don’t go changing to try to please me. Okay, that’s creepy. Billy Joel is channeling me. And he’s not using a remote control device.

  21. Very cool!! Congrats! I was going to leave a reply on the site but couldn’t see where to there!!!

  22. Pingback: A Dinner Date with the Indie Chicks | Chowderhead

Leave a Reply

