This is Only A Test…

This is a snapshot of my life as it stands today.

In one sentence intervals.

I hope that’s all right.

The winter has burned off – finally; let the anything-but-lazy days of summer begin.

Corporate drones, gathered for a golf tournament/bender have filled the hotel’s nooks and crannies… and bars, of course.

The raw, undiluted power of cheap cologne has burned my nasal passages beyond recognition.

On any other day, my mind would be racing with possibilities; posts would flow like Canadian maple syrup.

But this is no ordinary day.

And I’m not me any longer.

In my place, a shell, a clone, a doppelganger,  is wearing my uniform and living my lives, both as The Hook and Robert.

He means well, but his creative engine isn’t fully charged, his delivery is slow and he lacks the words to full assuage his wife’s fears.

But he’s still swinging, and in a world such as ours, where you have to battle for every inch, that says a lot.

He assisted a guest today, a techno-mage of the highest order, who traveled with the tools of his trade; fifty plastic shells capable of transferring one’s consciousness across the world wide web in an instant.

“I want to give you something… for the effort.” he declared as he reached into the pocket of his faded jeans.

A condom fell upon the dirty concrete of the valet deck with all the weight of a moon.

My doppelganger’s response was given quickly and without hesitation.

“I don’t know what you had in mind, sir,” he retorted, “But I prefer cash. In fact, I insist upon it.”

Maybe this guy’s not so far removed from the real deal after all.

I think I’ll let him take the reins for a while longer.

I have other tasks that require my attention.

My daughter and I have a date to see the first and greatest hero of them all grace the silver screen once more.

The advance reviews haven’t been kind, but I can’t wait to see Man of Steel – especially with my child.

When I was a mere boy, still soaked behind the ears, my grandmother plopped me on a bus and took me to the Pen Centre Cinemas in St. Catharines to see Superman The Movie.

A visitor from another world herself, I can only imagine what she made of Clark Kent’s odyssey from farm boy to big city reporter to hero.

But she sat there nonetheless, watching as her grandson remained transfixed from the first frame to the last.

It has always been and will remain one of my most treasured childhood memories.

And tonight the circle will continue.

Be well, friends.

The silver screen, my duaghter and the Last Son of Krypton beckon.

 

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to This is Only A Test…

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    You and VampireLover are in my prayers. Have a super time with Sarah at Man of Steel. I know you will.

  2. Fiona says:

    You are in my prayers too, and your writing is so poignant tonight. Thank you for sharing. I hope and pray things get better for you and your loved ones.

  3. A sentence from you is worth a 1200 word post ~ enjoy your memories and make some new ones.

  4. 1jaded1 says:

    Hugs to you and your family. Thoughts for the best are with you.

  5. I can feel the heaviness in your words…….am wishing you and your whole family all the best.

  6. Cathy Ulrich says:

    I hope you and your daughter enjoy the movie, Robert. It will be nice to suspend disbelief for awhile and fly with the big guy (Clark, that is).

  7. Littlesundog says:

    Sometimes there just aren’t words to express our thoughts… and one-sentence intervals are how we plod along at times. Let the well-wishes and thoughts of friends here, be the source of thermals and air currents that help you rise above the earth. “Glide and Soar”… for a little while with your daughter tonight.

  8. djmatticus says:

    I am so ridiculously excited about this movie… but, I probably won’t get to see it for a few weeks. The little prince, and the lack of a babysitter at the moment, mean the queen and I won’t be able to get away for that long. I’m trying really hard not to expect too much of it… I know I’ve built it up in my mind and I don’t want to be disappointed. Fingers are crossed that it is at least better than “Returns.” I hope you have a great time at the cinema with your daughter!

  9. I have been thinking about you and your lovely family a lot this week. You know I pray for only the best for you.
    Judging on the condom comment I would say you are still kicking in there somewhere. Maybe on auto pilot.
    I saw the first “Superman Movie” at the Seneca Theatre downtown Niagara Falls. Of course I fell in love with him immediately and became a huge fan of Super Hero movies. It’s wonderful that you are sharing this tradition with your little one. Just remember you will always be her Super Hero.

  10. Todd Burns says:

    This whole thing where you are instantly engaging and the sheer quality of your words make me question my absurd child-like blog is hurting my feelings.

    Enjoy the movie!!

  11. jmlindy422 says:

    I get more jazzed about the Justice League. Something about Batman and Superman playing off each other really floats my boat, but my boy is insisting the Man of Steel be attended. Have a great time and I’ll be thinking of the whole family.

  12. lidipiri says:

    The best ways to assuage a loved one’s fear is merely being there… a moment when words are rarely necessary.
    Have a great time at Man of Steel. I hear it’s great!

  13. All of you are in my thoughts and prayers. Stay strong and let us know if you need us. We all have capes too!

  14. Jennifer says:

    I’m not very good with words at these times, but know that i am thinking everything that has already been mentioned. Just being there is half the battle done.
    And I am hanging out to see Man of Steel. Enjoy.

  15. Diane C says:

    I agree with Jennifer. So many things have already been said and I ditto all of them. Got you and yours in my prayers.

  16. Let me know what you think of it.

  17. Dreams fill in when scripts are lacking. See the magic. Enjoy the smiles.

  18. wisejourney says:

    he lacks the words to full assuage his wife’s fears………we wordsmiths seek them here and seek them there- but I assure you they are heard without us speaking by those we love:?just our presence, our eyes and our hands….say it all.

    Have a terrific time at the movies and who cares what the critics say.

  19. MissFourEyes says:

    Hope you and your daughter had fun.
    Take care, Hook. Big hugs

  20. Pixie Girl says:

    Beautifully written, Robert. I hope your evening with your daughter turns out great. And it’s useful to let our lives be run by those doppelgangers sometimes…

  21. How is Vampire Lover? Been thinking of her. And you. Hoping everything gets better soon – and enjoy Soupman! As my kids used to call him.

  22. giselzitrone says:

    Ein lieber Gruß lieber Hook Kindheitserinnerungen sind immer schön,ich wünsche dir einen schönen Sommer und geniessen sie hin.Lieber Gruß Gislinde

  23. TBM says:

    I hope you and your daughter enjoyed the movie. Hugs for all of you.

Leave a Reply

