Because Everyone Else Will Wait Until Tomorrow…

Well, it’s that time of year again, the time to honor those who survived hours of agonizing labor pains to bring all of us into this wild and wonderful world.

I both love and dread this time of year with equal vigor.

Allow me to explain, won’t you? (Of course you will, what choice do you have?)

Growing up, I was provided with all the staples of a healthy childhood:

  • Ugly-ass 70′s clothing (I blame the time period, not Mom!)
  • Food.
  • Adequate housing. (More than adequate in fact, I had a kick-ass room under the stairs with superhero wallpaper and a stack of comics. I even had a radio! That was a big deal back then, kids.)
  • Star Wars action figures and Mego dolls (If only I’d held onto both.)
  • Plenty of sugary cereal to enjoy during hours of Saturday morning cartoons.
  • The freedom to eat my dinner in the basement while watching Doctor Who. (Sure, now everyone has a TV in the kitchen, but I was a trendsetter for introducing television into the dinner paradigm!)
  • Love.

That last part made all the difference in the world.

Take a good look at the evils that have been unleashed upon our world of late; the common thread running through the minds of the perpetrators is obvious: there is a disconnect between reality and the maelstrom raging in their minds.

Love keeps us rooted.

Love keeps our focused on the here and now and it gives us a reason to anticipate and strive for a better tomorrow.

Without love in our hearts we’re vulnerable to despair, which leads to frustration from which self-destructive rage is born. And far too many of us have chosen to vent our rage upon innocents. And in the aftermath, does the world speak of love and understanding, even for those responsible? No, instead we give speeches filled with empty rhetoric in which we vow to avenge the victims.

Hate is easy. Cowards hate, for love requires courage to put one’s needs and wants aside for the good of another.

Love is spending half a day in labor and feeling your heart burst when presented with a screaming, shaking infant covered in bodily fluid.

Love is getting up at three a.m., changing vomit-stained sheets and holding a cold cloth to your child’s head while telling them “Everything is going to be all right.”, even when you know it won’t be.

Love is raising a child on your own. (No offense to us dads, but let’s face it, in the eyes of parenting history, we’re not exactly known and hailed for our dependability.)

Love is becoming your child’s best friend, an accomplishment most parents lay claim to when nothing could be further from the truth.

Love is simply being there.

As I write this, a hooker is literally waddling her way through the lobby. Her wavy, bright blonde hair is a bird’s nest. Her jean jumper is wrinkled and stained. Her cowboy boots have carried her to dark places and are definitely showing their age. Her mascara has run down her left eye. She is every prostitute you’ve ever seen on film.

Except she’s far too real. Seriously, this girl is rough.

Admittedly, I am ignorant in regards to her upbringing and so I refuse to pass judgement upon her, but I can’t help but feel grateful for having lived through a childhood that didn’t lead me to a hotel room in the middle of the night to have ugly sex (there’s no way this girl had the sort of coitus that poets write about, trust me), with a stranger for money.

As for the dread I expressed at the onset of this post, it springs from the frustration I feel when searching for words worthy of honoring someone who has literally given me everything.

I grew up with love as my armor and it kept me protected and from the perils of this world. It kept me strong, even on those days when I wanted nothing more than to lie down and die.

I am now forty-three years old and the tale has come full circle; now it’s my turn to be the provider, the defender, the best friend.

Will I fail? Hell yes! That’s what being a parent is all about, screwing your kids up royally. But doing it with love, of course. In the end though, I think I’ll be all right.

And I know who to thank for that.

I love you, Mom.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Because Everyone Else Will Wait Until Tomorrow…

  1. SocietyRed says:

    Well that’s just beautiful Hook, what a great way to start the day!
    Thank you!
    Red

  2. mairedubhtx says:

    You’re a good son, Robert. Your mom must be so proud of you. Tomorrow I’ll be missing my own mom.

  3. I think I love you! I definitely love this post as it confirms your mom did a wonderful job in showing you what being a mom is all about. Well said!

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    Your mom must be a pretty amazing woman to have raised a person like you. This was beautiful, partner.

  5. Carrie Rubin says:

    Lovely tribute to your mother. A sentimental Hook today. I like it. :)

  6. Brother Jon says:

    What a great tribute! I think you’ve just seriously raised the bar.

  7. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Lovely tribute, Robert. My mother was my best friend and an amazing woman and I miss her every day. Those of us who have or had Mom’s like this are lucky indeed!
    Cathy

  8. Great post Hook! It sounds like you have a pretty good example to follow for raising your own kids. It’s wonderful that you are able to realize everything you did get from your Mom and to pass it on. Your Mom must be very proud.

  9. Cameron says:

    I love this. That is all.

  10. Gratitude is what most moms need and expect, that was beautifully expressed. Gracias, Hook!

  11. Dude, what happened to you! You found a new voice, lately, and it’s a beautiful one, I must say.

    Seriously, I’m digging the new hook!

    Love is everything.

  12. What you have written here, Hook, has painted a mental picture in the minds of all who have read it. Instead of Ma Hook, the readers are playing a mental movie of times long forgotten with their own Moms, a movie starring the Star of Stars. In it are scenes of warm, comforting maternal caresses when it seems like the world is against you. Boo boos kissed with the healing power that only Moms possess. Gently wiping away tears when Life has dealt us a blow from which we think we’ll never recover, but we do – because Mom somehow made everything better.
    Yep, that’s my Mom. And yours.
    Happy Mothers Day!

  13. I love this post. So touching.

  14. Diane C says:

    Thanks for posting this Robert. It really got me thinking about Mother’s Day and lead me to write my own post. Little different than yours but yours was definitely the catalyst for mine – so thank you again. :)

  15. We’re hoping to bring my mom down to the Butterfly Conservatory some time in the next couple of months. I’ll have to find out where you are so I can say hi in person.

    • The Hook says:

      Tell Mom to wear something bright as the butterflies have been known to land on people.
      And remember, its hot in there, so dress accordingly!

  16. Jo Bryant says:

    Oh my what a mush fest…loved all of it Hook. You did your Mum proud.

  17. Great post……yeah, as long as there’s love, you can’t go wrong (usually :))

  18. You made me cry, Hook! That was so lovely! Your mother must be so proud <3

  19. That’s lovely! Our UK Mothers Day is in March, but happy Mother’s Day to yours and the other mothers in countries where it’s today! You and I are basically the same age then, I’m going to turn 43 this year.

  20. I too am glad you did not grow up to be a hooker but that you grew up to be the Hook. You are a wonderful writer and storyteller…thanks for this!!

  21. Lady Lovely says:

    My favorite post of yours. The Hook writing about Love. What a wonderful tribute.

  22. G says:

    Gorgeous, tear-provoking!

  23. moi says:

    well said, was this post based on the daily prompt? If so I had been pondering how to reply to it, but couldn’t find the words, I think you found the words.

  24. Thank you for this really lovely and touching post, and for bringing TV and dinner together. They world owes you lot :)

    Great post, poetic and powerful!

    Rohan.

  25. Kanerva says:

    Great post, thanks for sharing ;)

Leave a Reply

