A Slice of My Life and my Visit to DWH.

THE HOOK: I’m heading out to do a few things after I drop Sarah off for her exams.

VAMPIRELOVER: (The wife, for the uninitiated) And just where do you think you’re going? It’s your day off; you know we have things to do!

THE HOOK: I’m going to hit the library and pick up a few more books for work. The downtime will kill you if don’t have something to read!

VAMPIRELOVER: Never mind the downtime, I’ll kill you if you don’t get right back here! We only have two days a week together, boy! You’re hanging out at the hotel, or “working” as you call it, the rest of the time!

THE HOOK: (My head hung low, a natural state for a husband) Fine.. honey. I’ll be back in a minute.

As I chauffeured my daughter, I decided to use her as a sounding board. For all the good it did me…

THE HOOK: Most husbands get yelled at for going to a bar. Me? I get yelled at for going to a library!

SARAH: Welcome to your world, Dad. At least she still wants to hang out with you. I still don’t know how you got Mom in the first place.

I still don’t know why I don’t go to the bar like everyone else…

Now that I’ve proven that I am indeed a dumb, white husband. Check out my guest post on Benjamin Wallace’s virtual man sanctum. Ben and Steven Luna have created a cool place for both sexes to hang out and bitch about how dumb men can be. They’re bringing the genders together through cool posts.

It’s a beautiful thing.

WHERE TO GO ON THE WEB: 5 PICKS FROM THE HOOK.

  1. Black Box Warnings: This blog is not FDA approved, but it may just change your perspective on some of your favorite bloggers. BBW is a place for bloggers to get serious and share some of the private thoughts/traumas that help shape us as human beings. Check it out and I guarantee you’ll be hooked. Yes, I went there…
  2. The Life of Kylie: I just discovered Kylie’s work, but she’s terrific. And that’s all I have to say about that.
  3. Brainsnorts: Rich is utterly unforgettable.
  4. Robin Coyle: A gifted writer and fan of The Hook. What more could you ask for?
  5. For You, Daddy!: Kate is a beautiful soul and the best damn daughter anyone ever had. Check out her site and let me know if I’m right.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to A Slice of My Life and my Visit to DWH.

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    It’s tough to get called out about going to the library. You need an e-reader. Then you never need go to the library again. The library comes to you. You can borrow from the library with going there. It’s perfect and you never have to return the books. They just disappear. And if you really want a book, you can buy it from Amazon or Barnes and Noble or whomever. If you belong to Amazon Prime like I do, you can borrow books for free for a month from them. E-readers are great. You never have to leave your home. Sweet.

  2. Robin Coyle says:

    Thanks for the shout out, but who said I am a fan? I”m more like your minion. Oh, and your wife told me to tell you there are dishes that need drying.

  3. Kylie says:

    Thanks! I’m going to be writing a post called a Husband’s Guide to Scoring, and I will have to read that article above for research ;)

  4. Le Clown says:

    The Hook,
    These are great bloggers, and thank you for adding Black Box Warnings among these. I do not know For You, Daddy… I’m looking forward to discovering something new… Thanks,
    Eric

  5. Blown says:

    I need to comment on this post later… Remind me

    • Blown says:

      Ok. Now that I have a minute….

      I think you’re giving her too much. We all have a right to time alone however loving we are to our spouses. I know the feeling of not wanting to deceive and being the nice husband our wives expect to have but we sometimes are also TOO nice and that’s not good. You have to say something like sorry but work is work and I need free time to myself to think. If she’s worried that something could be under way she’ll just be more attentive and careful with you. If she can’t get the fact you don’t want to do everything with her all the time then she has a bit selfish.

      It’s in fact easier than you think to just say hey I need a time with myself I’m going to the cafe. And suggest to her to do the same. Eventually it’s just a question of trust ;-)

      • The Hook says:

        Truthfully, she just wants to make the most of my time off. It hasn’t been easy for her recently; her father has been quite sick and she’s running around trying to take care of fifty things at once. She knows that if I say I’m going to the library or comic store, then that’s where I’m going.
        Besides, as she’d say, who’d have me anyway?

      • Blown says:

        Don’t undervalue yourself Robert ;-)

  6. rich says:

    Well, ain’t I in some fancy company. I should take a screenshot of this because it is not likely to happen again. Thanks very much.

  7. twindaddy says:

    As always, the person with female wedding tackle wins. Sigh…

  8. Did you not, like, sneak any books from the library on your way back? Pretend you got them last week? Not that I would suggest that anyone ever does such a thing…

  9. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir mein freund ein schönes weekend Gruß. Gislinde

  10. The Hook says:

    Alles Gute für dich, mein Freund.

  11. I will always side with VampireLover:) After all, I respect any woman who can tame you!
    Did you get the dishes done?
    J

  12. rebecca2000 says:

    LOL You are lucky she wants to spend time with you. It is when she doesn’t fuss that you’re going to the library that you need to worry.

  13. After 17 years of marriage I’d be flattered Hook! (Hope my memory serves me right with the 17 years!)
    She loves you yeh yeh yeh and other such Beatly lyrics…

    • The Hook says:

      I am flattered, believe me! The wife is very private and guarded with her emotions and I am truly a lucky man to have been allowed into her world.

  14. Caroline says:

    haha I love your daughter’s comment, too funny. It’s so much fun to joke around with the family…well, and to joke around in general. That’s fun too. I’ll definitely check out the blogs you listed!

  15. susielindau says:

    VampireLover loves you and can’t bear to be without you! Or she had a Honey-do list all ready to go!

  16. Sarah sounds pretty darned funny.

  17. The bar sucks when you are our age :) You aren’t missing anything.

  18. I already follow three out of the 5 blogs you listed, so I guess that means I have good taste! Not to mention that I follow yours too…

  19. >5. For You, Daddy!: Kate is a beautiful soul and the best damn daughter anyone ever had.
    – Meep!

    That was my initial reaction that lasted a good few hours. I then heard Mum’s oft repeated words in my head, “You are such a big girl now; you have travelled so much; met so many people and you STILL don’t know what to say?”

    The answer to that question, as always, is “Yes”. That’s because I still haven’t learnt to handle compliments well. Oh, I love compliments! And not to boast, they’re in steady supply, too. But I think I was shortchanged in the ‘shine in the spotlight’ area. Big Bro and Big Sis do that so well. But me? I’m, ahem, special. Ha ha!

    This uncharacteristically underwhelming response is classic shy me. Yup, still squirming.

    I may not be gracious, but I am grateful. So, thank you for the honour, Hook.

    Oh, and a heads up to you, too. Ain’t revenge grand? *rubbing my hands in glee*

    >Check out her site
    – Thanks for the, um, arm twisting. My Stats column twisted and spiralled upwards yesterday.

    >and let me know if I’m right.
    – Oh, Hook. You ARE right.

    Shy – yes. Narcissist – NO! ;-)

    Kate

  20. HA!!! HOW DARE YOU GO TO THE LIBRARY! LOL!!! I would have wanted my husband to come right back to me. He’s my best friend and I like to have his attention. Your daughter’s right, you’re lucky! Maybe you can get the idea in her head before she comes up with a plan for the day OR ask her for help or to go with you!

    • The Hook says:

      Hey, I know just how lucky I am, Jasmine! VampireLover is my best friend too! I just thought this little tale would accompany my guest post on DWH nicely, but instead i seem to have ignited a firestorm of opinions!
      But then again, a healthy debate is great for a blog…

  21. Combat Babe says:

    Whoever chose the name Sarah for your daughter and spelled it correctly is not only a genius, but a genius with magnificent taste.

  22. Jo Bryant says:

    After reading number three in the other post…you should think yourself lucky she still wants you around !!1

  23. Pingback: Something Different, And The Hook is an Indie Dick? | You've Been Hooked!

Leave a Reply

