Crazy Working Mom: The One Guest-Starring The Hook…

Sorry about the title, blame the morning show DJ that mentioned Friends as I drove my daughter into school today…

First, a brief Jessica Stilwell primer:

Moving on…

Here, now, is a taste of my offering to the blogging goddess known as Jessica Stilwell…

When Jessica first offered me the opportunity to guest post on her slice of cyber real estate, I was surprised – you can certainly understand why – but Jessica has proven herself to be extremely gracious and forgiving towards someone who tends to act before he thinks. My initial comments on this blog were born of a sense of concern for Jessica’s children and to my eternal regret, feelings of great envy. I have been fighting for years to achieve that which Jessica has carved out for herself in a matter of weeks. But that was then, we’ve come a long way, haven’t we, Jessica?
 
I was also deeply honored by Jessica’s offer. My new friend is one of the finest specimens of a new breed of mother that has evolved to survive in a rapidly-changing world of parenthood. Don’t get me wrong, kids have always kept parents hopping, but in a world of reality shows, the internet (all and all of its influences and temptations) and ever-escalating acts of violence against the innocent, a parent has to bring their “A game” with them when they step into the arena or they’ll be knocked out before they begin.

Jessica used her innate brilliance, all the skills of her profession, not to mention a few glasses of red wine, to devise an innovative strategy when dealing with a challenge that would probably have broken most moms. The average parent would have taken two approaches to Jessica’s particular situation: A) Scream until your voice gives out or your kids finally relent and clean up their mess or B) Clean up the mess yourself and lose valuable ground in the process. The second option is is truly disastrous; your children will eat you alive if they don’t respect you.

Jessica realized that sometimes, the best offense isn’t to adapt a good defense at all, but rather to walk off the playing field all-together.

While I think her approach was brilliant, I know it wouldn’t work for a father. If I went on strike, my household would probably run more efficiently than ever. Women are hardwired for parenthood, they have a God-given set of skills that allow them to always be quick on their feet and above all, to be sensitive to their family’s needs.

I one bought my wife a toilet seat and a set of cupboard knobs for Mother’s Day.

In my defense, the seat looked like an oyster shell and the knobs had flowers on them. Women love men who strive to improve the room they spend a great deal of their time in, right?

Don’t answer that.

As for my approach to fatherhood, well it tends to follow suit. Here then, is my public apology to my fourteen-year-old daughter for the occasional parenting faux pas I’ve been responsible for.

CONTINUE READING HERE…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Crazy Working Mom: The One Guest-Starring The Hook…

  1. dogear6 says:

    That was great! How brave of Jessica to let you loose.

    Nancy

  2. El Guapo says:

    Great post over there, Hook!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I’ll leave the parenting skill answer alone, but if I got a new loo seat and knobs for mothers day I would be over the moon. Yes. I much prefer constructive gifts than girls soaps and perfume. Quirky but totally cool.
    I have also noticed some men, my brother being one of them, who are well hard wired to be a parent, and in some cases better than the mother…
    You are still doing a fine job. Now I’m off to read the rest of this little tale.

  4. Jennifer says:

    And back here as I can’t seem to comment on the other blog… Not sure where to start. Brilliant. Beautiful. And Honest. Speechless with love, and a level of understanding, (must be my inbuilt mother skills) And very happy I only have boys. Sorry, but true. Eye rolls aside, I’m sure Sarah thinks the world of you, why else would she join you for comic con – unless you have some other mad parenting skills we don’t know about.
    Being ‘daddy’s little girl’ ie the youngest, hubby got the whole shotgun talk on our first date he was sown the gun behind the office door with a “I hope I don’t have to use this” They are now best friends…

  5. I agree! Mostly, women knew more everything about parenthood than men.

  6. TBM says:

    Enjoyed the letter and I only half-rolled my eyes–so does that count?

  7. robincoyle says:

    Great post, Hook. I chuckled my way through the whole thing. I also rolled my eyes 4 or 5 times. Sorry. It is a girl thing.

  8. raisingdaisy says:

    Well done, Hook! It takes a big man to admit his mistakes! :)

  9. Jo Bryant says:

    Great post Hook. I do have to say that you should remember this. Yes she’s got fame and now probably fortune but…she did a funny quirky thing that resulted in a few blog posts that caught people’s attention for 15 minutes. She hasn’t done anything [IMHO] that is actually noteworthy…not yet at least. I know Mums who have gone on strike…they just never blogged about it because…well I am sure they’re regretting that move. I think I even did it a time or two over the years. I do think it is nice that you two have buried the hatchet though…as long as it wasn’t in someone’s head…hehehehehe

  10. Pingback: My Love/Hate Relationship With Mondays… | You've Been Hooked!

  11. That was a wonderful post on Jessica’s blog, Hook. Your daughter may do some eye-rolling today, but she will cherish that letter one day. You’re a good man.

  12. MissFourEyes says:

    That was a great post! Very sweet

  13. And, has Sarah’s face recovered; or is she still walking about with it covered…? :)

Leave a Reply

