The Hook Pays a Visit to a Crazy Working Mom – And You Should Too!

Whoever first said politics makes strange bedfellows clearly wasn’t a blogger…

Jessica Stilwell and I have forged an unlikely friendship from a few well-meaning but negative nonetheless, comments on my part.

I will be guest-posting on Jessica’s blog on Tuesday, but you can check out her introduction to my piece on her blog today. I urge you to do so. Strongly.

Her piece contains everything that makes blogging so intriguing – and fun, such as:

  • Honesty.
  • Raw emotion.
  • A behind-the-scenes look at the road to fame.
  • The origins of an unlikely blogging duo.

Here is a snippet:

Jazz Hands

 Life sometimes presents unexpected situations we can use to teach our kids hands-on lessons. There are also lessons in these situations for us as adults. Sometimes I wonder whom the lesson sticks more for, or if those situations are put in our lives to make us practice what we preach.

I like being right…so lets go with that.

 For those of you that have followed this blog throughout the media shit storm created by ‘The Strike’, you will know there were some less than pleasant responses. I offered one personal response to it and have since then kept my promise and kept my mouth and fingers shut.

 Most of the negativity was on the multitude of articles available on line, not here on my blog. With the exception of one person who just seemed to always be here to make an adverse comment. This one person tested everything in me to keep quiet, to keep my resolve and to rise above. Many bottles of wine were required.

 No matter what I posted, this person was there with his relentless opinions of my parenting, even after I had publicly declared my zero tolerance for negativity on this blog.

But yet, he still came.

Every. Single. Post.

Appears I had myself a stalker.

 I actually began waiting for him. He intrigued me; yet to be honest, he pissed me off beyond belief. I cannot tell you how many times I sat down and crafted a venomous email to tell him exactly where to go and how to get there.

Only to delete it and keep my promise to remain quiet.

 You all may be applauding me for taking the high road. Don’t. The truth is, I wanted to find him and punch him in the throat.

Continue reading here…

Jessica knows how to pack quite a blogging punch, right? You owe it to yourself to continue reading and see for yourself how a great relationship was forged.

That’s all for now, folks. Be well.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The Hook Pays a Visit to a Crazy Working Mom – And You Should Too!

  1. Diane C says:

    Looking forward to your post!

  2. I read Jessica’s post. You two had quite the start getting to know each other. I’m definitely looking forward to your post there.

  3. Blown says:

    Funny I can’t picture you as a negative thinker… You may have some negative criticism about the people you “meet” everyday at work, but who would condemn your painting of a sad reality anyway? Now I have never read a criticism of you on any blog… Did I miss something?

    You got me curious. Going to Jessica’s blog to read more about the unexpected duo :-)

  4. breezyk says:

    I checked it out! Cool that you transitioned your disagreement into an internet friendship.. although I do admit I’d like to read some of your so-called mean comments… :)

  5. TBM says:

    Wow…not the normal start to a blogging friendship. You sure this isn’t a trick to force that doctor exam on you—that sounds ouchy. Good luck tomorrow and don’t show your backside.

  6. mairedubhtx says:

    Jessica’s a great writer. Congratulation on your guest gig!

  7. You don’t have a favourite between your babies, but I do. Only because I got to know the other one first.

    I did my thang on your other blog.

    See you tomorrow over at Jessica’s!

    Kate

  8. Thanks for introducing us to Jessica! Fab post, and any friend of yours… :)

  9. Madhu says:

    Wow! You must have been real BAD :-D

  10. Jo Bryant says:

    You’re friends now – wow – interesting turn of events Hook.

  11. 1jaded1 says:

    Can’t wait to read! L.

  12. raisingdaisy says:

    Just goes to show – anything at all can happen on the blogosphere! ;)

  13. I followed the links and it’s an interesting story. I hadn’t heard of it.

  14. MissFourEyes says:

    I can’t imagine you getting on anyone nerves. Such an odd (but somehow sweet) start to a blog friendship
    Looking forward to your post :)

  15. robincoyle says:

    You know, Hook . . . stalking isn’t nice.

  16. Pingback: Crazy Working Mom: The One Guest-Starring The Hook… | You've Been Hooked!

  17. Pingback: The Hook Checks in… at Crazy Working Mom’s Blog! | The Book of Terrible

  18. Pingback: Early Wednesday Random Blog Crap « Normal Deviations

  19. workspousestory says:

    That is awesome. Such a relationship should be treasured!

  20. renxkyoko says:

    She sounds great… fighting girl ! Unfortunately, i always have a hard time logging on non- WordPress site.

Leave a Reply

